We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel - Downtown Close to Mayo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown
Ranked #9 of 52 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Hotel - Downtown Close to Mayo”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

It has been my experience that some hotels - even chains - will let some locations get pretty shabby because they know they have a guaranteed group of guests. I'm speaking of hotels near convention centers, tourist attractions, etc. This hotel is near the Mayo Clinic. However, they were wonderful and exactly the quality you'd expect from a Hilton Garden Inn - no deterioration because they felt they could let things go. They also provided transportation any time I needed it and, since I was travelling alone and had some medical procedures performed, they offer a service where they will call your room every so often to make sure you're OK. That goes above and beyond in my book. I also wanted a room that didn't allow pets at any time in any room and there was no smoking allowed in the hotel. This place filled the bill. I also needed a place that had room service. It's limited to evenings but the food is ordered from local restaurants and is hot when you get it and it tastes good. There's a microwave and fridge in each room if you need those also. They do serve breakfast on the premises for a fee. Highly recommended. I'm planning to stay there in February when I return again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebKnox, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Nancy L: Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments. We are glad to hear that you will be returning to us again in February. I wanted to let you know that we are also making even more improvements to the hotel with entire guestroom refreshes throughout 2014! We look forward to seeing you again!
Deb Knox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    191
    84
    29
    17
See reviews for
169
120
79
253
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Hotel is connected to the skywalk and close to Mayo. Hotel information makes it sound like you have to pay $13 a day to park but there is free parking on the west side of the building, although spaces are limited. I was surprised by how much street noise there was even on the sixth floor. If I stayed again, I would request a room on the west side of the building. A good selection of restuarants near the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank j0nes81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebKnox, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Jones 81: Thank you for staying with us and for your post. Please do make a request about staying on the west side of your stay the next time you have a reservation. We will do our best to accommodate this request. I wanted to clarify the parking. We do have a $13/night charge for the flat lot on the west side of the hotel. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you again!
Deb Knox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason City
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 11, 2014

The hotel is very clean with up to date finishes. It is located downtown in the skywalk system which makes it easily accessible. Front desk and bar personnel were very friendly and efficient, making check in and out easy. The wifi was easily accessible and had good, fast connection. We did not eat at this hotel restuarant, but heard from others in our group that did and said the food and service were excellent. We sat down in the bar area in the evening and the bar was fully stocked and server was very friendly and efficient. We would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the downtown area. The skywalk system is an excellent way to stay in out of the bitter cold of the evening we stayed was -20 windchill.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank April O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebKnox, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear April 0: Thank you very much for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn for your time in Rochester. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the skyway system in the cold weather! We hope to see you again soon!
Deb Knox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Get the breakfast package, really, was worth it! Great value overall and location second to none, you'll save about $145/night over other comparable hotels in the area. The rooms were very clean and quiet, bed comfortable, and had a fridge which was welcome.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Chebyrashka74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebKnox, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Chebyrashka74: Thank you very much for booking our Bed and Breakfast package and for posting your comments about your stay. We are very glad to hear that you found it a great value and that you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Deb Knox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed here two nights to go to appointments at Mayo. Front desk staff very pleasant and helpful at check-in. Parking is $13 per night either in lot behind hotel or in parking garage or valet. Hotel is connected to Mayo and University Shops by skyway. We had a room on the corner of 6th floor. It was quiet (hotel noise and traffic noise were very minimal). Some other reviewers mentioned that traffic noise was a problem but we did not find that to be an issue. Maybe it depends where your room is located. There was normal noise for a downtown location, but nothing excessive. No free breakfast and room service is provided by a couple of nearby restaurants. Plenty of restaurants within walking distance either on the street or by skyway/subway level. There was a Keurig coffee maker in the room so you could bring your own k-cups if you wanted to. Regular and decaf coffee and earl grey tea k-cups were provided. The hotel was not brand new, but we found the room to be clean and well maintained as were the common areas of the building.

Room Tip: Perhaps a room that is not on Broadway would be more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeavingVegasBehind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebKnox, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear LeavingVegasBehind: Thank you very much for staying with us and posting your comments about your stay. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We are currently upgrading our guestrooms with a refresh through 2014. We are looking forward to hearing your thoughts on our new guestrooms in the future.
Deb Knox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killeen, United States
Level Contributor
91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We selected the Hilton Garden Inn for our visit to Rochester Mayo Clinic based on its proximity to The Mayo Clinic and the exceptional service we have received when staying at the Tinley Park Illinois Hilton Garden Inn. While at the Clinic my Sweetheart was diagnosed with cancer and we spent Christmas here. I was amazed at the compassion and caring shown to us by each staff member we had contact with. There is no way I could adequately express how deeply I/we appreciate how these people helped us through a difficult period. We are going back next week for surgery and would not think of anywhere but here to continue our journey.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Manfred A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebKnox, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Manfred A: Thank you very much for choosing us as your lodging choice in Rochester. I am very glad to hear that our staff helped make your holiday and time away from home, I pleasant one. We are looking forward to your return!
Deb Knox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella Vista, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Very friendly, clean, and absolutely wonderful! We were treated like the most important customer they ever had, yet we were there just one of many. Professional, courteous, personal, and very friendly. The location to Mayo Clinic and personal transportation provided makes the Hilton Garden the perfect choice.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebKnox, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear John E: Thank you so much for taking the time to post your wonderful comments about our hotel. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that we will be your lodging choice again should you return to Rochester.
Deb Knox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area
0.3 mi away
Kahler Inn and Suites
Kahler Inn and Suites
#18 of 52 in Rochester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kahler Grand Hotel
Kahler Grand Hotel
#38 of 52 in Rochester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rochester Marriott Mayo Clinic Area
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Rochester - Saint Mary's & Mayo Clinic Area
1.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown
Address: 225 S Broadway, Rochester, MN 55904-6504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Rochester
#14 Family Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown Hotel Rochester
Hilton Rochester
Rochester Hilton Garden Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing