We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Give Them a 10! Great hotel downtown Rochester”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown
Ranked #9 of 52 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Excelsior, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I Give Them a 10! Great hotel downtown Rochester”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

This is really a great hotel close to everything downtown. I started doing business down here in Rochester a few months ago. I used to stay across the street at the Holiday Inn which was good for awhile but lately has changed for the worse. I decided to give the Hilton a try since it was right across the street. I was pleasantly surprised! There was this vibe there where it was really evident that everybody loved what they were doing. Hats off to the management. I checked in late at night as I usually do and expected the usual night staff that I typically run into at other hotels. Nope, I got to meet Jeff who was far from typical. He made me feel like I was the the most important guest in the hotel. This was very refreshing. It was a great stay from the welcome to the goodbye. Rochester is a great town and I would recommend the Hilton Garden Inn to anyone. This was my first experience with a Hilton property and if they are all like this one I may have a new favorite hotel!

Room Tip: Try the made your way omelet for breakfast and be sure to visit Kelly in the Bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Extremeoutdoorsman63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebKnox, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Extremeoutdoors: Thank you very much for your post. We are very glad to hear that you tried our Hilton Garden Inn and enjoyed it. You will be happy to know that the Hilton Garden Inn's new General Manger was the previous General Manager of the Holiday Inn. We are very happy to have him lead our team and from your post, you noticed. We will pass along your post to the rest of the staff. Thank you again for giving us a try and we would love to have you stay with us again if you should return to Rochester. Please let us know if you need anything at deb.knox@hilton.com
Deb Knox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    198
    85
    28
    18
See reviews for
180
126
81
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wahpeton
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We recently had a lengthy stay in Rochester for intense medical treatment of our family member. As stressful and worrisome as that was, we were very fortunate to have stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn. We had a 2 room suite from Sept. 3rd through November 16th. I can honestly say that not once were we in any way disappointed in our choice of lodging. When you stay at a hotel that long, you really get to know the hotel. We had continuous excellent service from the front desk staff (Dave, Courtney, Bonnie, etc.) to the courtesy car drivers who always greeted us, opened the doors, were very polite on the numerous trips to and from the Mayo Clinic and Methodist Hospital as well as any other places we needed to go (Micheal, Jason, Robb, Addison, etc). The staff who cleaned our room (Mary, etc.) were very thorough, polite, and respectful of our specific needs. The beds were very comfortable. They allowed us to keep foods in the freezer which is important when all your family member can eat is popsicles or ice cream at times. The hotel was quiet, even when the rooms were all booked, our 7th floor room never once was bothered by noises. When the parking lot is full, they were very courteous and parked our car as well as retrieving it without ever making us feel like we were bothering them. They even had remodeling going on in the lobby while we were there and yet the lobby never felt "under construction", was always clean, warm, and welcoming. The breakfast was wonderful, quick, and nutritious for the mornings. Our numerous cards, packages, etc. that were sent from family and friends were all delivered to us promptly. When we return for check ups, we will definitely be calling our friends at the Hilton Garden Inn in Rochester.

Room Tip: We stayed in a 2 room suite which has 2 bathrooms. This was so nice as we had multiple family member...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebKnox, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you very much for your post about our hotel. I am glad that we were able to give you a little bit of home while you stayed with us for such an extended period of time. Being away from your home that long, especially during medical treatments can be a very stressful and tiresome time. I am glad to hear that we could help. We look forward to seeing your family again the next time you need to return to Rochester.
Deb Knox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

I needed to come to Rochester to spend time at the world famous Mayo Clinic. Taking a gamble, I chose the Hilton Garden Inn. From the moment I walked in when Mike and Jason made me feel so welcome to the excellent breakfast and Sherry's friendly smile, I knew it was the best decision. The rooms are super clean. The front desk staff is more than helpful, always smiling and offering to assist in anyway and not looking for a handout.. The morning breakfast is hot and fresh and always tastes so good. I'd strongly suggest this hotel for any trip to Rochester. Mike, Jason, Sherry, Bonnie will make you feel like the most important VIP day and night.
Keith R
Chicago, IL
11/21/12

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keithrube1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebKnox, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear KeithR: Thank you very much for your post about our hotel. I am very glad to hear that you chose to stay with us and that we will be your choice in Rochester again in the future. If there is anything that you would need prior to your next stay with us, please just let us know at deb.knox@hilton.com. Thank you again!
Deb Knox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garner, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel several times when traveling with my sister, a Mayo patient. From check in until check out, we have always had a very good stay. The rooms are always clean with very comfortable beds, and quiet so that we can rest comfortably. We look forward to the fresh baked cookies every night as our evening snack. The location is great for those visiting Mayo Clinic, and you have Skyway access for those that don't want to go outside during inclement weather. The front desk personnel have been awesome in helping to meet all of our travel needs.
Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Carolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebKnox, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear 1Carolina: Thank you very much for your kind words about the hotel. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will stay with us again, should you need to return to Rochester. If there is anything we can help with prior to your next stay, please email me at deb.knox@hilton.com
Deb Knox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Our family stayed at Hilton Rochester for about 10 weeks during treatment of a family member at Mayo Clinic. We cannot rave enough about the staff, service, comfortable beds etc. The location is perfect for walking to clinics, pharmacies, restaurants and walks along the river paths. The breakfast buffet offered fresh and healthy choices, along with made to order omelets. I was really impressed with how they kept the food warm/cold as "germs" were a huge concern for our situation. The drivers of the courtesy car were respectful and informative on our daily trips to the various parts of Mayo. The front desk was helpful and willing to accommodate our special situations with a smile. Housekeeping was wonderful. While "living" there, they were very respectful of our personal items and our medical needs. I recommend this hotel without hesitation!

Room Tip: We had a room on the West side on a higher floor. It was quiet and had nice evening sunlight and gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebKnox, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Bel W: Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments about our hotel. I am glad to hear that we were able to help you and your family during your extended time with us. I hope we made it feel a little like home. If there is anything that we can assist with, if your travels bring you back to Rochester, please just let us know at deb.knox@hilton.com. Thank you again for staying with us.
Deb Knox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This was my second visit to Rochester for appointments at the Mayo Clinic. I chose to stay at the Hilton Garden Inn because my last stay was so warm and welcoming. What really blew me away was the fact that it had been over a month since my last stay and I was greeted by name upon arrival by Jason. I am not really sure what his exact title is because he seems to do a little of everything from providing a comfortable ride to my appointments in the town car to giving great advise for my evening entertainment. Another employee that stood out was Deb who made my breakfast in the morning. She made me feel right at home. I can be picky when it comes to food as my wife would surely support but Deb was very accommodating to my requests and all with a smile.
You can't walk past a single employee without being greeted. It's really cool. The hotel is very nice, clean and close to everything downtown. Overall a great place to stay in Rochester. Rochester is like a small version of Minneapolis with it's skyway system and great shops and restaurants. There is a great little comedy club just around the corner from the hotel. My favorite restaurant was located just one block away inside the Doubletree Hotel called Pescara. Holy Uff Da it is so good. It is a little more expensive than other restaurants in town but well worth it. Overall great experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrRico69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebKnox, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind words about our Hilton Garden Inn. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and even got to enjoy our sister hotel, the DoubleTree, by trying their restaurant Pescara. If you travels bring you back to Rochester again, I hope that you choose to stay with us. We appreciate it!
Deb Knox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Pleasant family like environment. Close to good restaurants. Connectivity to the skyway. The rooms are clean and comfortable although the decor, like the rest of Rochester, is a bit dated. Otherwise Im struggling to meet the 200 charachter minimum

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cimbaliw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebKnox, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you very much for your post about our Hilton Garden Inn. I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. If your travels bring you back to Rochester, we hope that you stay with us again. Thank you.
Deb Knox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area
0.3 mi away
Kahler Inn and Suites
Kahler Inn and Suites
#19 of 52 in Rochester
734 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rochester Marriott Mayo Clinic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kahler Grand Hotel
Kahler Grand Hotel
#38 of 52 in Rochester
1,212 reviews
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Rochester - Saint Mary's & Mayo Clinic Area
1.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown
Address: 225 S Broadway, Rochester, MN 55904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Rochester
#14 Family Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax with a variety of convenient amenities at the Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown hotel, newly renovated May 2017. Attached to Rochester’s pedestrian Skyway System, our hotel is directly connected to the Mayo Clinic, University of Minnesota Rochester, Shops at University Square mall, Mayo Civic Center, the Government Center and many restaurants and theaters. We are in an active and vibrant downtown neighborhood with adjacent access to nightlife, shopping, dining and entertainment. Take our complimentary town car service to downtown attractions, businesses and hospitals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown Hotel Rochester
Hilton Rochester
Rochester Hilton Garden Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing