We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Choice for a concert at the Civic Center” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown
Ranked #46 of 56 Hotels in Rochester
Lakeville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
515 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Great Choice for a concert at the Civic Center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We came down from the twin cities to attend a concert at the Civic center..after reading reviews I was expecting an old rundown hotel but I was surprised by the very nice and large room...the only thing that indicated this was an older hotel was the small size of the bath...everything was new looking.. Granite counters ..flat screen TV, Microwave, Fridge & bedding a very nice room.
We got a package of parking ( the public lot they share with city charges $12 per day, room and breakfast ( $20 per room)...so that was good and the civic center is a 2 block walk in the skyway..very conveient...the breakfast was good and the $20 covered all but Tip
I'd stay here again if going to the civic center.

Room Tip: the higher you are the less street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MinnScooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    55
    48
    25
    23
See reviews for
53
33
17
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This Holiday Inn is in the cluster of hotels and motels that are close to and serve the Mayo Clinic. It is very close to the main cluster of Mayo buildings and many if not most of the people who stay here probably have something to do with Mayo--a patient, visiting a family member, attending a meeting, a sales call etc.

The pros for this property is that it is a full service hotel and very convenient to Mayo. It is appropriately priced for the level of service and the quality of the hotel.

The cons: it is old and in the past it has not been as well managed as it could have been. Right now it is in transition. It will be interesting to see what it is like when both the business processes and the environment are upgraded--and when I stayed here at the end of August there was a rennovation under way, although it seems like this won't impact the rooms, just the common spaces.

I have stayed here at least a half dozen times and tried 4 or 5 other properties in the area. This Holiday Inn is a bit tired but it has the best balance of convenience and price in the immediate area. No doubt I will stay here again.

Room Tip: There are a lot of restaurants or all kinds in walking distance that give you options that are cheap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Murray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Dear MadDog459,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. I am delighted you liked the convenient location of our property and the level of service and quality we offer. I apologize for the inconvenience you had with the renovations. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. I sincerely hope that the next time you are in Rochester you will give our hotel another try.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We just spent 4 nights at the Holiday Inn, while visiting the Mayo Clinic. The hotel was...a bit above average. But when you consider pricing, it seems like a nice choice.

Cons: The building is fairly old. The bathrooms are pretty small and the walls are pretty thin. On the first morning of our stay, my wife and I were both woken up by our neighbor's wake up call. But that was our only issue. There was also only 1 vending / ice machine area. So expect to take an elevator ride to get ice.

Pros: They've done a good job keeping the old building feeling relatively updated. The staff was helpful & kind. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. We were pleasantly surprised to find that the hotel was connected to a lot of downtown (and Mayo Clinic) via skywalks and the 'subway' (underground walkway; no train involved).

If you are looking for a budget-conscious stay in downtown Rochester, this is definitely a quality option.

Room Tip: the further from the elevator, the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

we were treated to the most accommodating, generous, and thoughtful assistance when our youth group came for a nearby conference. Cherrie took such great care of our group. secured a gathering space for us, and baked us the most delicious/great priced pizzas. one was a to die for gluten free! showered us with kindness and a cheerful, exuberant manner.
Thank you cherrie and all from the front desk to everyone along the way! you treated us royally! God bless!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teresa k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

The check-in desk is located in a spacious lobby. Front desk people friendly and accommodating. As I had reserved a room on Hotwire, there were a couple of problems: we needed two beds vs the one we were assigned to and a free breakfast was mentioned in the Hotwire ad. When I mentioned these and that I was a Priority Rewards member, the front desk attendant immediately upgraded the room to a two bed, river view room (thank you, very nice!) and handed me two coupons for free cooked breakfasts from the restaurant. Evidently attempts had been made to correct the breakfast mention but to no avail yet. The only down side to this hotel is that you have to put out $12 to park in a city lot behind the hotel. I guess it is a location thing, but be aware of this when you book. Room was sparkly clean, beds very comfy, bathroom nice with everything we needed. A good stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room. You may hear ambulances in the night - understandably due to the Mayo Clinic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank helenskiMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Stayed here last week, and the sheets and pillows are just worn out! Rooms have been updated and are pretty clean and decent, but thin sheets, with stains, are not something I can tolerate. Close downtown location, but will stay elsewhere next trip! Cannot relax in rooms like that. Check-in took forever, one clerk on the phone and trying to do 2 duties.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lana444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear lana444,

We appreciate your feedback regarding our property. We’re happy to see that our location was ideal for your activities. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. It sounds like we fell below your expectations. I'm sorry your stay was negatively affected by the condition of the sheets and pillows. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

I do hope you decide to give us another chance for a future stay.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grand Forks, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Last weekend I was at your hotel for a wedding party, and met the most kind, helpful, genuine, lady manager Cherrie. She escorted me out of the hotel to even walk across the street to show me exactly where I was going, and even helped me on an emergency mission to find a nail clipper! You can tell she really likes her job. Anyone to work with her is lucky. From the impression I got, i think it could be easy to picture her as the "mama bear" around there. Everything else went well overall too

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Rochester Downtown
Days Inn Rochester Downtown
#48 of 56 in Rochester
3.0 of 5 stars 587 reviews
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Rochester Mayo Clinic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
0.3 mi away
Kahler Inn and Suites
Kahler Inn and Suites
#20 of 56 in Rochester
4.0 of 5 stars 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown
Address: 220 South Broadway Ave., Rochester, MN 55904 (Formerly Rochester City Centre Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 56 Hotels in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A convenient address among Rochester, Minnesota hotels. Experience the community named the 'Best Small City in America' by Money Magazine, where cosmopolitan atmosphere meets Midwestern hospitality. Located in the heart of this bustling locale, the Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown offers a memorable destination for your next vacation or business trip. Look to our downtown Mayo Clinic area hotel for direct climate-controlled subway/skyway access to the city's attractions, including the world-famous Mayo Clinic, St. Mary's Hospital and Methodist Hospital. Explore the Shops at University Square just one block by the pedestrian skyway. Enjoy classic family fun at Silver Lake Park or Graham Arena-both just one mile away. You'll find our deluxe Rochester, Minnesota hotel provides spacious accommodations and convenient services in a comfortable setting. Well-appointed spacious rooms are just the beginning at our downtown Holiday Inn hotel. Be sure to enjoy our Thyme Restaurant and Lounge featuring creative entrees, cocktails and featuring live music every Friday night. Parking is available in city owned parking ramp adjacent to hotel at $13.50 Plus tax per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rochester
Holiday Inn Mayo Clinic
Rochester Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing