We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and service.”
Review of Hunan Garden

Hunan Garden
Ranked #84 of 303 Restaurants in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
Description: Has won best Chinese resturant in Rochester for many years, small and family run. Phone number 507-285-1438
Restaurant details
Description: Has won best Chinese resturant in Rochester for many years, small and family run. Phone number 507-285-1438
Rochester, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food and service.”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Consistently good Oriental food in a pleasant atmosphere. Service is prompt. Carry-out service is great. Specials at noon and dinner are always a bargain!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Arden S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    28
    7
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Depends on what you order”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I've been craving Chinese food, good Chinese food ever since I moved to Rochester. I have to say that I haven't found anything that makes me not miss the great places in DC/VA, but that being said, Hunan Garden is one of the best around here. Their Happy Family and Triple Delight dishes are quite good, as is the Cashew Shrimp. My family loves their Lo Mein, Moo Shoo Pork, and soups (specifically egg drop and sweet and sour).

Their eggrolls are kind of blah, as are their fried wontons, but when I/we crave Chinese and need a fix, this is the place we call. For Rochester, the place gets an Average plus rating, not great, but certainly edible and with lots of variety to choose from!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great food and ambience”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We used TripAdvisor to find a decent restaurant in Rochester as we drove through one evening, after flying into Minneapolis. We were in the mood for Chinese food, so we went to Hunan Garden. The food was great! Not too expensive, and nicely prepared and presented. The ambience and decor were great also - a super meal on short notice!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank timetogo132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best Chinese in Rochester”
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

This is where I always go for Chinese. The crab Rangoons are good, and the princess chicken is fantastic!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mattia77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Michael, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Oriental food at it's finest!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Too many choices to try, but my, my, my, that would be fun! It's all good and a pleasant atmosphere to boot!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Frank T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunan Garden also viewed

 
Rochester, MN
 

Been to Hunan Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing