We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“#1 for a Reason!”
Review of Pescara

Pescara
Reserve with OpenTable
Pescara is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 308 Restaurants in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $36
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 2nd St SW and Broadway
Transit: We are located 2 blocks away from the Rochester City Bus Depot.
Description: Pescara invites those with an appetite for fresh, forward food to share small plates, savor fine wine and enjoy selections from sea and land. Located in the newly renovated DoubleTree Hotel in downtown Rochester, it"s the perfect place to gather for business lunches, pre-theater appetizers or romantic dinners.
Reviewed April 17, 2017 via mobile

When on an overnight stay for Mayo Clinic visit a couple of years ago, we had a wonderful dinner here. Now on another overnight visit, we went back. It was just as good or maybe even better than we remembered. We arrived early (before dining room opened) , sat at the bar and enjoyed wine and an appetizer. Then we moved to a table for the main meal. The cioppino and fresh (very) Alaskan halibut were exceptional. Prices are higher than most other restaurants here, but the quality of the food and the outstanding service (from Trenton) justify the prices.

1  Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heath M, Manager at Pescara, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2017

Thank you James for your wonderful review, we are happy to have served you twice during your visits to Rochester. The halibut is one of our favorites as well! Hope to see you again soon. Please say hi if you get a chance to visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (757)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 118 of 758 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2017

When they told me the "fresh" fish was just flown in a day or 2 before, that is already going on 3 days old and is certainly not "fresh" for a place that charges like it was caught that morning. The food was good, but not great, and the lack of creativity of the menu a little disappointing. That would have been OK with better quality fish. And what is it with charging multiple times what a wine is worth? Trying to impress someone that it must be good if it cost so much???

Thank Customer53140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heath M, Manager at Pescara, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2017

Hi Customer53140,
Nobody told you the fish was "flown in a day or 2 before". We, the entire staff at Pescara, are well aware of the quality of product we sell and the fact that it is flown in daily and delivered to our back door. Our prices are according to the value of our product, which is of the highest quality in the Midwest. And out of curiosity, why is the title of your review "Like Terza (it's sister)"?, yet there is no mention of Terza in your review? It seems you have a vendetta rather than an opinion to offer? I'm not concerned with your comment on lack of creativity either, it is clear you have an ulterior motive in writing your restaurant reviews. Good day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2017

Wonderful service and excellant food. Went back 2 days in a row. I would recomend this resturant to everybody.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank X3057OVthomasv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heath M, Manager at Pescara, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2017

Thanks Thomas, we love the feedback! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2017 via mobile

Food excellent and service, so so. An upscale spot on Broadway. Lobster bisque and mussels very good. French fries and bread good too. Fine wine list. Nice ambiance. Near the Clinic.

Thank blacklake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heath M, Manager at Pescara, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2017

Thank you blacklake for your review, we're happy you enjoyed your lunch at Pescara. If you could go into a little more detail regarding your service experience we would appreciate it greatly. Just as we strive to provide the best meal in town, we also aim for the best service. Please let us know if you have any additional information regarding your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2017

I've had biscuits and gravy for breakfast my whole life, but the sausage gravy at this restaurant was the best I've ever had. The egg dishes were great as well. Along with the buffet comes pancakes, waffles, or french toast. Coffee/tea is included. Pretty good meal and a pretty good price.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heath M, Manager at Pescara, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2017

Hi Greg,
We love our breakfast too at Pescara and we're so happy you enjoyed it as well. The biscuits a gravy are one of our secret specialties! If you have a chance to visit again soon please say hello, we would love to meet you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pescara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing