We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brentwood Inn and Suites
Ranked #26 of 52 Hotels in Rochester
Normal, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not bad”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

My first trip to Mayo involved staying here while I had cancer surgery and then the return trip for follow-up with the surgeon and other doctors. The staff was very helpful in acclimating ourselves to Rochester and the Mayo Clinic. The first trip went fine with the room needed for my handicapped mother who was accompanying me. The second trip was more of a hassle with elevator only working in the parking garage. I was running around the best I could get around with my mothers walker, In order to heat up Chinese leftovers, I had to go down the parking garage elevator, through the parking garage and finally into the lobby to heat the food up and back again to the room.. It was bizarre to go through the garage and outside with our food. While not the end of the world, it did make us decide to try another hotel. All of that said, I would stay at the Brentwood again and have recommended it to other friends and family who travel to Mayo, but I wish their hotel was easier for the handicapped. Maybe their remodeling is done by now as this was 2011.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cap217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    51
    17
    2
    2
See reviews for
49
29
15
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stillwater, MN
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

The staff at Brentwood continues to do a Top Notch job and the remodeling of the lobby and breakfast eating area was very well done. They moved from "somewhat standard old design" to "wow". The colors, fabrics, furniture, flooring and reorganizing the walls and entry ways was very well done. They are now updating the hallways. We are repeat visitors due to Staff, parking, convenience, rooms etc. We will stay at the Brentwood next time as well.

Room Tip: We liked room 222 because of its location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StillwaterTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

The hotel was clean but the breakfast looked so low rent that we didn't even eat there. Hotel was adequately clean but had no character. If you have trouble walking, it is at the farthest end of the subway from the main Mayo buildings.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MilwaukeeMarauder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osage, Minnesota, United States
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Ok place to stay for convienience to hospital. The breakfast is lacking and the staff just wear a ratty 'Brentwood' t-shirt. The rooms aren't as clean as we expected either. Especially being a transplant patient we expected immaculant rooms and were dissapointed. And get ready to see guests come for breakfast in pjs.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amelia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nebraska
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Have been staying here while family member ungoing chemo at Mayo. They are great! Excellant breakfast which is put out early and is kept well stocked. Room service is great and they go out of their way to accomodate your schedule. Clean rooms and everything is in working condition. Highly recommend. I had a room with two double beds and small fridge - brought my own microwave.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sinie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alabama
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2011

Very nice property for the budget minded traveler. Courteous staff, clean rooms and connected to the Mayo Clinic.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jack P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2011

The Brentwood now has redesigned the breakfast room and the checkout counter. My room is spotless as usual. The redesign has made it much more attractive to me than before and i loved it before. Same great service at checkin also.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Illinois71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.8 mi away
Brentwood on 2nd
Brentwood on 2nd
#44 of 52 in Rochester
64 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kahler Inn and Suites
Kahler Inn and Suites
#17 of 52 in Rochester
735 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Rochester Mayo Clinic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kahler Grand Hotel
Kahler Grand Hotel
#38 of 52 in Rochester
1,213 reviews
0.5 mi away
Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brentwood Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brentwood Inn and Suites

Property: Brentwood Inn and Suites
Address: 123 4th Ave NW, Rochester, MN 55901-2838
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 52 Hotels in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Brentwood Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Brentwood Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing