We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome staff, clean hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Awesome staff, clean hotel”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We drove to Rochester for an appointment at Mayo from outside of Chicago. The staff was wonderfully sensitive to our situation. They were caring and friendly. When it turned out the appointment went well, we were able to check out no problem even though we had the room reserved from Monday through Friday. The fresh baked cookies and coffee/tea in the lobby were welcoming and homey. The breakfast bar was complete and tasty with healthy options. The room was clean and the bed very comfortable. I can't say enough about the quality of people they have on staff. They were so helpful and friendly. We highly recommend this Hampton.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Cynthia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhonda C, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for the nice review. We understand being here for Mayo you never know how long your stay may be. We hope to see you again if you come to Rochester again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    616
    137
    41
    15
    9
See reviews for
345
179
67
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington Heights, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 11, 2014

The hotel was extremely quiet even though it is right off the freeway. Hotel staff was very friendly. Very clean room with plenty of towels. My kids loved the breakfast. There was an excellent selection of hot and cold foods. I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhonda C, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Angela,

Thank you for the nice review, we appreciate it. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
466 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our one night stay here. The hotel is modern and seems to be fairly new. The two gentlemen working at check-in were very friendly and helpful. Our room is large and clean. Like most Hampton Inn's, they serve a free breakfast in the lobby from 6-10AM. It is in a great location and they have a large parking lot.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank dbae27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhonda C, Assistant Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We hope to see you again the next time you are in Rochester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, IL
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 9 nights while visiting Mayo Clinic. How many Hotels offer 1. Free Parking? 2. Free Breakfast(Belgian Waffles, 3 Different Varieties of Cereal, Oatmeal, Bagels, Breads, Yoplait Yogurt, Fruit Cups, Bananas, Apples, Hatd Boiled Eggs, 4 Different Varieties of Juices, Toast, An Egg Dish, Sausage/Bacon, and much more) 3. Free Reliable Wi-FI? 4. No Resort Fee? 5. Free Shuttle Service to Mayo Clinic & other places? 6. Free Bottled Water?(This May have been a HHonors perk), 7. Bedding including Duvet Cover is washed prior to your stay? 8. Business Center with 2 Computers/Printer? 9. Free Cookies, Grab & Go Snack Bags, 24 Hour Coffee & Tea Service in the Front Desk Area! A nice addition might be some Flavored Fruit(Oranges, Lemon, Lime, Peach etc) or Vegetabke (Cucumber & Mint) Ice Water as well......

We have been staying at Hampton Inns fior several years but this was our 1st stay at this location with 2 more stays booked as I need to return to Mayo Clinic Two or possible 3 more times. The employees are friendly especially Jessica at the Front Desk & Matthew the Shuttle Driver(who will be moving soon).....

We did have some loud kids in the room next to us. If they didn't stop banging their door I was going to call downstairs to the front desk but eventually they stopped. This Hotel is a busy place!

Overall we had a GREAT Stay in our Studio Suite Room. On the days I was wiped out from testing@Mayo we just told Housekeeping to skip our room for that day. I never felt afraid at this location although someone did break in to all of the soda pop machines, on every floor, and steal money from each one while we were there. I can't imagine who or why someone would do this? I think it would probably be a wise idea to install some type of security system in this area. Which brings me to another point. NO safes in the rooms. Not just at this location but at every Hampton Inn we have every stayed at. I don't understand WHY there is not a safe in guest rooms? Especially, with all of the electronics many people bring on trips today. Even a small safe in the closet would be better than not having one at all. Other Hilton Properties have Safes.

Just 3 minor "complaints" .....an inexpensive up to date 3 hole Paper Punch would be an excellent addition to the Business Center. The antiquated version, at the Front Desk, did not punch holes, in the right places, in some of my records for Mayo Clinic. This made it hard for me to put them in my very full binder. They just didn't fit properly. Also, the towels we had were really scratchy. It's uncomfortable to take a shower in hard water, when you are used to soft water at home, but then have to dry off with a worn scratchy towel......Time for some NEW fluffy towels! Lastly our bar soap disappeared everyday? And it wasn't replaced with a new bar so we had to find Housekeeping & get some Fresh Bars. The shape of the soap is an excellent concept! Much easier to hold onto to. We don't replace our soap everyday at home. Mostly, we use Liquid Soap so I finally went to the store & bought some. This might be worth asking guests if they want their soap replaced each day? And cost cutting as well for the Hotel!

The PERKS at this Rochester Location, combined with the Great Mayo Clinic Room Rate This Hotel Offers, far outweigh any minor complaints I have. I am looking forward to our next visit in just a few short weeks!

Kelly

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank InternetDiva69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhonda C, AGM at Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for the review. We always appreciate the feed back. We will go over the housekeeping issue with the team. We have safety deposit boxes behind the desk for our guests, we will meet with the staff to make sure that they are letting our guests know.
And I am pretty sure we can get a 3 hole punch in the business center, it makes sense to have one with all the guests we have that are here for the clinic and all the papers the receive from the clinic.
Thank you for staying with us and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We were up here again visiting our granddaughter and had booked 5 nights. The first two nights were great, quiet and the hotel ran as usual. Friday/Saturday nights were a little different. Little league baseball tourney in Rochester and the hotel was filled to the brim with boys and some parents. The boys ran up and down the halls on all floors(4). They didn't yell or scream, just run up the stairs down the hallways to the other stairs run down or up and repeated until 11pm. My husband went down to the desk, he wasn't alone. The Assistant Manager was on duty (manager was busy). My husband talked to him about the noise. The manager said that every hotel in Rochester is filled with the boys for the tourney and they (the hotel) didn't have enough security to make sure that that didn't happen. He, the AM also told my husband that they are guests too! What? My husband told him to have the manager call our room. The manager did and said that he'll take care of the running up and down the halls because my husband wasn't the only one who said something. The manager also give us that nights stay for free! Now that's how you deal with a situation that was very unpleasant. This hotel along with dozens of others is also great for Mayo Clinic visits. So, there wasn't just boys, regular guests but many Mayo Clinic patients who need peace and quiet, which on normal nights at this hotel is perfect.
We will continue to use this hotel when we visit Rochester as it's, for us, in a great location, very clean and they do have a large breakfast and normally very quiet nights.
Carole

Room Tip: It you want more space, the king/queen suites are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhonda C, AGM at Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are very sorry for the unfortunate experience you had while staying with us, and I sincerely apologize for the noisy disturbances you encountered during your visit.
Your feedback is important to us and we’re sorry that you were unhappy with the way this issue was handled. Please know that your comments are being addressed with our team and additional steps will be taken to ensure we're doing all we can to serve our guests. We value your business and do hope you'll consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We had a GREAT stay at this hotel. The room was clean, big, comfortable. We all slept great. The breakfast was wonderful. The hotel staff was great. Our older kids enjoyed the pool. The suite was just right with older kids. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Cathi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhonda C, AGM at Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for the review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and that everyone had a great night sleep. We hope to see you again/
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WILLIAMSBURG
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

If a quality fitness center is important to you, then this is not your hotel. The cardio equipment is obsolete and not calibrated (my pulse rating bounced between 190 and 130 within several seconds). What was worse was the condition of the equipment—parts were dangling by wires, other parts were missing, and some parts were held together with packing tape (I have posted photos). On the plus side, the staff was very pleasant and accommodating, the breakfast was superb, and the room was clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: The pool is on the 2nd floor. If you get a room near the pool, be prepared for constant foot traffi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FJA1726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhonda C, AGM at Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are very sorry for the unfortunate experience you had while staying with us, and I sincerely apologize for the condition of our Fitness center during your visit.
Your feedback is important to us. . Please know that your comments are being addressed with our team and additional steps will be taken to ensure we're doing all we can to serve our guests. We value your business and do hope you'll consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rochester hotels
4.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Rochester
Hampton Inn Rochester
#6 of 52 in Rochester
708 reviews
4.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Rochester - Saint Mary's & Mayo Clinic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rochester
4.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area
7.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester South, MN
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North
Address: 2870 59th St NW, Rochester, MN 55901-3758
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rochester
#2 Business Hotel in Rochester
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Rochester with our free shuttle, Monday- Friday from 6 AM to 9 PM, to and from Mayo Clinic, St. Mary’s, Rochester Downtown/Civic Center and IBM as well. Perennially listed near the top of the “Best Places to Live” polls, the team at our Hampton Inn & Suites contends that among Rochester, Minnesota hotels, the Hampton Inn Rochester North is also quite a nice place to visit! Our hotel is conveniently located near the world-renowned Mayo Clinic, the largest IBM facility and over 300 hundred restaurants. Our “Minnesota Nice” team provides true hospitality with cosmopolitan services. We love having you here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Rochester - North
Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North Hotel Rochester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing