We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Customer Service. . .Again!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Princeton, Minnesota
Level Contributor
116 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Incredible Customer Service. . .Again!!!!!”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is the third time we've stayed at this location in the last two years, and each time it gets better and better. Our check in was quick, easy, and convenient! The staff at this hotel was wonderful as well! Matthew was at the front desk both nights of our stay, and always offered a friendly smile and asked if there was anything he could assist us with. Such a nice experience!

Upon our arrival we received our room key and headed in to unpack and unload for the night. We were in town for a homeschool convention so it was just my husband and I. Normally we travel with our three kids but not this time! We booked a Standard King Size Room. (Room 126) and once we were in it seemed REALLY small. After a long day of walking around I so badly wanted to just soak in a nice warm bubble bath, but there was no bathtub. Standing shower only. We showered, went to sleep, and woke bright and early the next day to head back to the convention.

That night when we got back to the room. . .at 10:00pm. . . I again just wanted to relax in a bubble bath. I thought I'd try my luck and see if there was a way we could upgrade our room. Once again, Matthew was at the front desk, and more helpful than ever. I'm sure he thought we were nuts asking for a room change at 10:00pm, but he went ahead and switched us to a King Studio Suite. (Room 136). It was MUCH roomier, and had plenty of bathroom space and a nice bathtub!!!! Finally!!!!!

All in all a great stay, slept well, beds were cozy, rooms were clean, and breakfast was tasty! Thanks for a great experience! Sure we'll be back again and again!

Room Tip: If you want a bathtub, be sure to verify what rooms have them verses stand up showers!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyJoPeterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas T, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Amy,

We're happy to hear that, despite some setbacks, you had a good experience with us! We're glad you finally got that bubble bath after all! Next time you're in town please be sure to let us know exactly what you need to feel relaxed and we'll make every effort to make you feel at home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    611
    137
    40
    14
    8
See reviews for
342
178
67
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The hotel was clean, comfortable and met all of my needs. I was surprised that my room did not include a fridge and microwave (I just assumed all hotel rooms offer these amenities now). The staff did supply me with a fridge and microwave immediately. I actually used the business center and found that to be incredible. Hospitality was thoughtful and housekeeping was superb. The staff made it an exceptional stay and I will stay there anytime I am back in Rochester.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas T, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review! We certainly look forward to seeing you the next time you visit Rochester!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Minnesota
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

The hotel staff at Hampton North Rochester is awesome. They bend over backwards to accommodate you while you visit Mayo. Get on the shuttle and they take you where you need to go. When you're done, call them and they'll pick you up. You won't need to drive around looking for a place to park and walk a long distance. There isn't an additional charge but please tip the driver. My husband and I don't see many do this and feel badly for the driver(s).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank MinnesotaTraveler49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas T, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
We welcome your kind words and are very pleased that you enjoyed our shuttle service so much! Our drivers are some of the most wonderful people you can find, and we hope they helped brighten your day! We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Passaic, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I'll start off by saying that the hotel is in North Rochester and not in downtown. Which is exactly what we we're looking for. We had a bad experience with Aspen Suites in downtown and preferred a more suburban location even if meant driving the 5 miles to Mayo (10 minute drive). They also have a free shuttle service that runs efficiently and frequently to Mayo. Hotel staff were EXTREMELY friendly and helpful, both the evening shift and morning shifts. They offered to place a microwave/fridge at no charge into my room. Rooms were in tip top shape and continental breakfast was plentiful and with variety. 24 hour free coffee (3 types) in lobby a big plus! They even provided a single serve coffee maker in the room with coffee pods! A real pleasure to stay here and highly recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benpassaic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas T, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Ben,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review! We strive to make every guest feel just the way you did, and it's heartening to know we're doing well! Please don't hesitate to give us a call next time you're planning on coming into town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
209 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We decided to try this place for a recent trip to Mayo Clinic due to the good Tripadvisor reviews, and are really glad we did! Staying here and using the free shuttle service to Mayo is so much easier than parking by Mayo or even at the hotels right by Mayo. That is what we used to do, but it gets really hectic trying to park around Mayo (and even the hotels right by it will have their lots fill sometimes).

Staying at the place on the north side of town relieved one stress from visiting Mayo by not having to worry about transportation. All you have to do is sign in at the front desk for what time shuttle you need, and that show up at that time the next day (they run every half hour, but you need to reserve your spot on the shuttle to make sure there is room). Then to return, you just go back to where they drop you off at Gonda building and tell the desk people your hotel and they take care of the rest. We only waited 5 minutes for our return shuttle since it was already on the way!

As for the hotel itself: outstanding! Very nice, large and clean rooms. Great breakfast area, fresh fruit available for free all day (along with cookies and coffee & tea). Large parking lot with free parking, and close by to some good restaurants. This place also seems quite new. They also have a business center and the pool area looked nice.

This was an easy 5 stars due to convenience to Mayo, and also a great hotel as well. We also got a Mayo Clinic rate which was great. Thanks for reading.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyVacationsMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas T, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you so much, from the bottom of our hearts, for the wonderful review! It means a great deal to us that you found our hotel so accommodating and we couldn't be happier for your recommendation! We certainly look forward to seeing you again the next time you're in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munster, Indiana
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Great staff , they were all very friendly and helpful, special mention to Matthew. Would definitely come back. Very efficient shuttle service to the Mayo clinic. This would be a great place for those Seeking care at the Mayo Clinic. Nice and clean fitness room. Breakfast is good. The whole atmosphere is very relaxing The room was clean. I got a studio with two queen beds and it was very spacious. With their mayo clinic discount rate - the room was very affordable.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsn888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ltzenker, Guest Service Representative at Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Our sincerest thanks for taking the time to post to trip adviser! Our staff always puts in the extra work to make sure The Hampton Inn and Suites is the cleanest, friendliest, most comfortable place to stay in Rochester! Thanks again for everything, we loved having you here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Customized exclusive shuttle service, overall amenities & staff hospitality make this an excellent Mayo patient choice. Very accommodating and friendly staff strives to please. They put forth extra effort to enhance your stay. Excellent shuttle service on request is dedicated to this hotel only, with no need for stops to other hotels en route to Mayo or other local destinations. This convenience outweighs its distance from downtown and makes getting around a smooth, non-issue. Highly recommend and will return with my family on my soon approaching clinic & hospital visit.

Room Tip: Request a suite upgrade if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatP57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas T, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Pat,

We know that going to Mayo Clinic can be a stressful, chaotic time, and we pride ourselves on not adding any more stress to your trip. In fact, clinic patients are our number one priority, as we like to see ourselves as an extension of Mayo, here to help you in any way we can and to try and put your mind at ease. We can't wait to see you again!

The Hampton Inn & Suites Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rochester hotels
4.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Rochester
Hampton Inn Rochester
#5 of 52 in Rochester
702 reviews
4.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Rochester - Saint Mary's & Mayo Clinic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rochester
4.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area
1.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rochester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North
Address: 2870 59th St NW, Rochester, MN 55901-3758
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rochester
#2 Business Hotel in Rochester
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Rochester with our free shuttle, Monday- Friday from 6 AM to 9 PM, to and from Mayo Clinic, St. Mary’s, Rochester Downtown/Civic Center and IBM as well. Perennially listed near the top of the “Best Places to Live” polls, the team at our Hampton Inn & Suites contends that among Rochester, Minnesota hotels, the Hampton Inn Rochester North is also quite a nice place to visit! Our hotel is conveniently located near the world-renowned Mayo Clinic, the largest IBM facility and over 300 hundred restaurants. Our “Minnesota Nice” team provides true hospitality with cosmopolitan services. We love having you here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North Hotel Rochester
Hampton Inn And Suites Rochester - North

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing