We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location for wedding guests”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
194 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Nice location for wedding guests”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We used this as one location for wedding guests. When we reserved the block of rooms (four to five months ahead of time), we weren't able to get any two-bed rooms because another group had already blocked all of them. This resulted in some guests needing to stay at another hotel which was less convenient. When we made our reservation, there were initially some problems getting the correct room rate, but that was resolved with a call back. We held the groom's dinner in the hotel party room. The staff was very helpful with providing a place to chill wine, hot water for tea, etc.
The rooms were nice and well appointed. The property was clean. The complimentary breakfast was an average hot breakfast. There was a nice amount of tables and seating in the breakfast area (seating area available all day). The hotel was full on Friday and Saturday nights, some people had to park in turnaround areas and a nearby apartment parking lot because there weren't enough parking spaces. The front desk person helped us find things to do on Sunday. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick J, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thanks for the nice review! Our Assisant General Manager said that you guys were the most organized wedding group she has ever worked with. Your set-up team did a great job on decorating for the grooms dinner it looked amazing!Thanks for the understanding regarding the rooms and parking, we needed a bigger hotel and parking lot for the weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    610
    137
    40
    14
    8
See reviews for
342
177
67
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

My children were quite happy with the very comfortable sofa bed. I was beyond happy that the housekeeping staff had already made up the sofa bed that included a mattress pad as well. This is the first Rochester hotel in this price range that had the sofa bed made up. King bed was extremely comfortable. Plenty of lighting in the room with a nice bar area right inside the door. Bathroom very clean with plenty of towels. Stayed 2 nights for a Mayo Clinic visit and was quite satisfied with Hampton's Mayo Clinic patient rate. The staff was extremely friendly & efficient. Coffee in the lobby throughout the day. Maintenance man even stopped shoveling to brush off our car when we were leaving for morning appointments. The pool was nicely warmed and my daughter was finally able to swim for more than just a few minutes. We were disappointed to find that the hotel's channels did not include Nick Jr or Disney channel...those of you with small children will understand. I think we've found our new place to stay in Rochester.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cefmbcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick J, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thanks for the kind review! We appreciate you choosing our hotel on your recent Mayo Visit. Sorry about the TV channels for the kids, we are looking at making some changes to our TV line-up and I will suggest your choices. Glad you got a chance to use the pool! Our GM and Maint. Mgr lead the charge on snow removal, which includes cleaning off our guests cars. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The facility is current as are all of the amenities. It was clean, and the staff was friendly. The only downside was the window unit style HVAC. It was noisier than traditional HAVC, and I had to turn the fan on constant run as the on/off cycling disrupted my sleep, others in my group had the same issue.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick J, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thanks for the nice review! Sorry for the heater situation, the weather conditions have made the heaters work extra hard, especially the last few weeks. Our Maint. Mgr. is working on a few possible solutions to help resolve issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is a newer property with nice rooms and very clean. Located north of Rochester right off freeway. Nearby places to eat. Property has ample parking. I will use this property again when in Rochester.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EscapingSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick J, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thanks for the kind review! We very much appreciate you staying with us on your recent trip to Rochester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenview, Illinois, USA
Level Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

If you need a great Hotel in Rochester use the Hampton Inn & Suites - North. While at Mayo Clinic we stayed there 4 days in one week and then came back for 2 days the following week. The day after arriving there was 8.5"-10" of snow in Rochester. The staff worked throughout the day keeping the parking lot cleared. Surprise, surprise, they even cleaned off all the snow from Guests cars. Yes, you heard me right, I said "they even cleaned off all the snow from Guests cars! What more could you ask for? How about some of the friendliest front desk staff and shuttle drivers to deliver you to Mayo appointments! GO HAMPTON!

We'll be back!

Room Tip: Suites have plenty of room.......upgrade if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnC7531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick J, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Wow what a great review!! We bring in " All hands on deck" for our snow removal. Actually our GM along with our Maintenance Mgr lead the charge, with other departments pitching in. These guys work hard, but also find time to have some fun along the way. It is fun being a part of a great team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This place was great. We were in town for a basketball tournament. Staff extremely friendly, worked hard to please, room was comfortable, breakfast good. The lobby/gathering space was great for several of our teams to get together to have a drink, chat and watch basketball on the nice TV. I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loririchh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick J, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thanks for the nice review! We very much appreciate you staying with us. We have a great team of employees assembled that continually look to entertain our tournament guests. Hopefully you did good in the tournament. You guys make it fun for us too!!! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights for a recent Mayo visit and I was very happy with the room (especially the extra space the studio suite provides - very nice for an extended stay) and found it to be a great value compared to the other two hotels we stayed at during previous visits (which were also nice but more expensive). This is a little outside downtown but was only a 10 minute drive to Mayo clinics (there is also a free shuttle but we chose to drive).

Although the parking lot was fairly full we never heard any noise from other rooms but we were staying there Sunday through Thursday nights so I'm not sure what the weekends were like. Checked out the hot tub and only saw one other family there. The breakfast was very good and they rotate the hot selections each day between 3 or 4 different items. The bed was comfortable and was able to get a lot of work done at the desk. Staff was very nice and helpful.

The only complaint I would have is that they don't have a safe in the room.

Room Tip: We asked for and received a room on the opposite side (away from) the highway but I'm not sure w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JBDSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick J, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thanks for the nice review! We appreciate you staying with us. We do try and rotate our breakfast items so that we can give you a variety when staying several days in a row. Our maintenance manager takes great pride in our pool area, our spa is one of the largest in Rochester. Sorry about not having safes in the room, but we do have secured 2-key safety deposit boxes in our back office. Again, thanks for staying with us!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rochester hotels
4.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys
4.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Rochester - Saint Mary's & Mayo Clinic Area
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Rochester
Hampton Inn Rochester
#6 of 52 in Rochester
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rochester
8.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rochester
4.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North
Address: 2870 59th St NW, Rochester, MN 55901-3758
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rochester
#2 Business Hotel in Rochester
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Rochester with our free shuttle, Monday- Friday from 6 AM to 9 PM, to and from Mayo Clinic, St. Mary’s, Rochester Downtown/Civic Center and IBM as well. Perennially listed near the top of the “Best Places to Live” polls, the team at our Hampton Inn & Suites contends that among Rochester, Minnesota hotels, the Hampton Inn Rochester North is also quite a nice place to visit! Our hotel is conveniently located near the world-renowned Mayo Clinic, the largest IBM facility and over 300 hundred restaurants. Our “Minnesota Nice” team provides true hospitality with cosmopolitan services. We love having you here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North Hotel Rochester
Hampton Inn And Suites Rochester - North

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing