We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“EXCELLENT place to stay!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2870 59th Street NW, Rochester, MN 55901   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
STOP CLICKING AROUND
Ranked #4 of 56 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“EXCELLENT place to stay!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed here in Mid-January during a trip to Mayo. From the check-in to the moment we left and everything in between was nothing short of excellent.

We checked in and discovered that rooms did not have fridge and microwave. Having a 16 hour drive, we had brought drinks and snacks with us. I inquired about getting fridge and microwave and by the time we got our luggage to the room, the front desk clerk was bringing
them to us.

Since the temps were in single digits, we took advantage of the free shuttle service to Mayo. Very efficient and drivers were great. They had the van warmed and sitting at the front door. In 10 minutes we were at the front doors of Mayo. We also had to go to St Mary's Hospital, which is about a mile from Mayo and hotel was very accomodating to that.

Front desk clerks were exceptional. Very friendly and helpful. We got several ideas for places to eat.

One thing not advertised, that you would not see everywhere was the " snow assistance". During our stay there, it snowed twice. Both days, there was an employee who went from car to car and swept the snow off them.

Rooms were clean. Hotel was quiet. The ONLY half-way negative thing I can say is that the breakfast was just ok, but I think Hamptons overall have made cutbacks in this area.

If I ever have to go back to Mayo, this is the ONLY place I will stay and can safely say that its the BEST hotel you could possibly stay at.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick J, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thanks for staying with us! We enjoyed having you as guests of our hotel. Our shuttle is a key part of our hotel, we run it from 6am to 9pm.Most of our runs are to the Mayo Clinic during the day, but we can bring you to the local shopping centers and also to many of the great restaurants we have in Rochester. Refrigerators and microwaves are in all of our suites, but we do have some extras available for our standard rooms. Just ask when you check in. Our teammates are pretty used to the weather conditions in MN., so we try and help out our guests with getting the cars cleaned off after snow storms. Hampton is always looking at ways to change and improve our breakfast offerings. Thanks for the kinds words and choosing our hotel for your stay in Rochester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    489
    118
    33
    12
    4
See reviews for
288
135
54
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Paducah, Kentucky
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We were greeted warmly upon arrival and treated that way throughout our stay! We so appreciated our driver,Rick from the hotel shuttle, who drove us to hospital, restaurants, etc with a friendly and caring manner and wonderful recommendations! The staff were accommodating , friendly and knowledgable. Rooms (queen suite) was spacious and comfortable! Thank you for the warmth and hospitality while in a new place under not the best of circumstances!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank b f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick J, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
It was nice to get to know both you and your Sister. You missed out on some VERY cold weather after you left last week. Thanks for the kind words! We try and make things as pleasant as possible for all of our guests. Hope you a nice trip back home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonie, Wisconsin
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This hotel had outstanding customer service that started when I called in for a reservation. They offer an excellent hot breakfast included in the price of the room. It was clean, friendly and well priced. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: They went out of their way to ensure our group had rooms close by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kimnim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick J, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thanks for the nice remarks! We try our best to keep groups somewhat together. We definitely enjoy having teams stay with us..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ham Lake, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Hands down the best hotel we have ever stayed at! Staff was wonderful! We were in town for the
Frostbite Volleyball tournament, and the staff set up Wii just dance for the girls to have a little dance tournament complete with a disco ball and prizes! Also, they gave a free nights stay to the parent that won the dance off! They girls had a great time! The rooms smelled fresh and were very clean. Definitely would stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick J, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thanks for the nice review, we loved having you stay with us!! Hope the tournament went well. We enjoy having teams stay with us, the dance parties are a nice way to give both the kids and parents time to socialize a bit. How did you do in the parent dance contest? We have a couple DJ's that know how to have fun. Hope to see you next year!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I was headed down to Mayo clinic and didn't want to drive home the same day so I decided to stay over at the Hampton Inn North. The friendliest staff ever! They offer a shuttle bus down to the Gonda building at Mayo. The ride took maybe 15 minutes and it saved me from dealing with the parking garage, especially in sub-zero temperatures!

My room was SO clean! And I love that they wash the duvet covers after every guest! I was on the second floor, just down from the pool and was pleasantly surprised at how quiet the floor was, except for an excited kid or two thumping down the hallway having a great time and the poor parents are hushing the kids.

The breakfast was one of the best I've had at a hotel, the omelet didn't taste like powdered eggs. They tasted real! Even though I've stayed at this hotel before and reviewed, it was nice to see there is consistency in all aspects of the hotel.

Room Tip: Second floor is best if you are planning on using the pool. It's just around the corner from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank champster117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick J, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thanks for staying with us again! We have a nice mix of teammates, that love to please our guests. We have a variety of hot breakfast items served daily – including oatmeal and fresh baked waffles. We also have Hampton’s on the run breakfast bags, every Monday through Friday for our guests. Thanks you for choosing our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basswood Grove, MN
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

When the elevator doors close you see a poster of a teenager on a bed texting OMG TBISC, meaning This Bed is So Clean. It made my teenage daughter laugh and to her pleasure her bed was SO clean! Clean rooms, clean sheets, and best of all a clean duvet or comforter cover....which puts to rest my usual horrors of pulling up a bedspread snored upon by dozens of previous visitors.

The staff was extremely friendly and made us laugh. The breakfast buffet had cheesy omelets for low-carb lovers, as well as the usual cereal and waffles. The pool was nice and overall, the place lived up to it's TripAdvisor ratings.

It's on the north edge of town, making it convenient for drivers coming in from the Twin CIties, but it was several miles from downtown.

Stay again? Yup. Nice place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElevatorBaybies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick J, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thanks for the kind comments, we loved having you stay with us!! The Cloud Nine bed does away with the old-fashioned bedspread, featuring instead a crisp, white duvet cover, enveloping a lofty white comforter. The white sheets are 200-thread count with a fitted
bottom sheet. Thanks again!! Come on back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Another great weekend in Rochester MN at the Hampton Inn & Suites. My family and I have stayed at this location numerous times and the overall service is excellent. The staff is always great to us and they seem to enjoy working at the Hampton Inn. We will definitely be back if the opportunity arises.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2ndMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick J, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thanks for the nice comments! Hope to see you back soon, maybe Nationals??? We hope so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rochester hotels
8.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rochester
4.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Rochester - Saint Mary's & Mayo Clinic Area
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Rochester
Hampton Inn Rochester
#6 of 56 in Rochester
4.5 of 5 stars 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys
1.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rochester
4.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North
Address: 2870 59th Street NW, Rochester, MN 55901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rochester
#2 Business Hotel in Rochester
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Rochester with our free shuttle, Monday- Friday from 6 AM to 9 PM, to and from Mayo Clinic, St. Mary’s, Rochester Downtown/Civic Center and IBM as well. Perennially listed near the top of the “Best Places to Live” polls, the team at our Hampton Inn & Suites contends that among Rochester, Minnesota hotels, the Hampton Inn Rochester North is also quite a nice place to visit! Our hotel is conveniently located near the world-renowned Mayo Clinic, the largest IBM facility and over 300 hundred restaurants. Our “Minnesota Nice” team provides true hospitality with cosmopolitan services. We love having you here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Rochester - North
Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North Hotel Rochester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing