We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impressive Hotel for the Price - Nice Breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
71 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Impressive Hotel for the Price - Nice Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

I stayed here for a conference that was located near Mayo Clinic, which is about a 10 minute car ride away. Please note that the hotel shuttle to Mayo does not run on weekends. Check-in was fast and efficient, and the room was clean and modern. The hotel provides a complimentary breakfast, which was better than expected, including hot eggs, sausage, bacon, fruit, yogurt, hot oatmeal, and assorted bagels/muffins/bread. Check-out was quick and accurate, and I would stay here again for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RazorTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    585
    133
    38
    13
    7
See reviews for
330
167
64
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Elmhurst, Illinois
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

You will not be disappointed staying at the Hampton Inn - North. The hotel is newer, and the room and entire Inn are exceptionally clean. It's reassuring that the bedspreads are changed for new guests. Rooms are sizable. A full breakfast is served, and a "box breakfast" is available if you are running late - or have to take the early shuttles to Mayo Clinic. (It has its own shuttle van - non-stop to Mayo & the hospitals.) The staff is very very friendly. I've been to Rochester 5 times in the past year - and have been traveling there for over 40 years - had stayed at several downtown and near downtown properties. This is the best, most comfortable and RELAXING!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ronlewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

I can't say enough about how wonderful our stay was at this hotel. Not only was the hotel immaculately clean, every single person on the staff was friendly and helpful. I stayed at the hotel for a week, while my daughter was being seen at the Mayo Clinic. The free shuttle to the Mayo was always available and Josh and Jason, our shuttle drivers, were very kind and accomodating. Similarly, Matt and the others at the front desk were always present with a smile and willing to help. My family travels 2-4 times per year, mostly for leisure, and I wish our stay at every hotel was even half as nice as was our stay at the Hampton Inn - Rochester North.

Room Tip: The suite with a king bed was very spacious. The the bed was plush and the pull out sleeper sofa wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mmfrasermpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oronoco, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Stayed at the Hampton Inn and Suites North. Service was fantastic, the rooms were nice and clean and the bed. Used the pool and hot tub with nice fluffy towels. The breakfast was really good and the front desk always had a smile on their faces and helped out in any way possible.

Room Tip: They're all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomahawk, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

I have stayed 17 days so far at this hotel. It is newer and just off Highway 52 north about 5 miles from Mayo. There is a Hampton bus for Mayo and back on week days. On week-ends there is free street parking in downtown Rochester.

I thought the hotel was empty this morning, but the breakfast area was packed when I went down. This should attest to the quietness of this hotel. Laura, the lady who usually takes care of the food, is most happy if you let her know ahead of time if something is running low, and she will come back later to thank you for helping.

Inda (Linda without the L) is Outstanding! People love to talk with her, and I asked her how she got her work done when so many people talk with her, and she replied that she keeps a list and makes sure her work is done before she goes home. India not only does her job, bur helps other areas when she sees a need. I saw her empty waste cans, and replace coffee. Once the milk was out in the milk container, and Inda took the old stainless steel milk container back to the kitchen, and I could see through the glass in window in the kitchen door, Inda washed her hands, took a clean container and poured the milk in and put a new label on the container before bringing the milk out. How many hotels would provide a clean milk container on each refill?

This hotel has fresh lemon water, coffee and tea at all times. There are fresh cookies in the evening. Daniel was worried that there was not enough cookies one night, so Rhonda ran out to get more. The Hampton in south Rochester has a light soup on week- day evenings and is an older hotel, but also clean. I have seen some of the same employees at both hotels, Matthew in Management and Daniel. The management style has resulted in happy employees which is, I think, why they have happy customers.

The business off has two computers and a printer. The workout room is more upscale than most Hamptons and has the exercise ball that I like. The laundry is next to the workout room, so I workout while waiting on the laundry.

Room Tip: Pool is on second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sheila J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike S, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear Sheila,

Thank you so much for your kind review. We have loved having you stay with us over the past few weeks and are sad to see you go. I personally want to thank you for the kind words about Inda. She is a FANTASTIC team member and we love having her on our team! We look forward to seeing you again in the future and will make sure your room is all ready for your return!

Your friends at Hampton,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Stayed one night on our way to the Mall of America. Excellent Service at the front desk. Very clean room. Mattresses not the best but tolerable for one night. Pool was nice. Larger than average hot tub. Nice fitness equipment and workout room.
We met family members of ours who had been staying here all week while at the Mayo Clinic. They stated they had wonderful service, and the shuttles back and forth everyday to Mayo's was a god send. The complementary breakfast was good. This Hampton was easy to get to. Easy access to interstate. McDonald's was right down the street.
Would recommend to anyone to stay here, and I would stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want to be close to the pool ask for the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrina1415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike S, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear Katrina1415,

Thank you for your kind words in your review of our hotel. We pride ourselves on delivering world class service for our guests. It was an honor serving you and your family and it makes us happy to hear we can take away the stress of transportation for our clinic guests. We look forward to serving you on your next visit to Rochester!

Your friends at Hampton,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

This is a great hotel that is easy to find, near shopping and great local restaurants (Newt's/Broadway Pizza) that you should try while in town. The staff is always friendly, the rooms are good size and updated with nice TVs. The pool was a big hit with the kids and the whirlpool is very large.

Hot breakfast in the mornings was also a big hit with the entire family. The price is right too!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ATimeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike S, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear AtimeTraveler,

On behalf of our staff here at the Hampton we want to thank you for staying with us! It is great to hear your family enjoyed our facility. We look forward to giving you world class service on your next visit to Rochester!

Your friends at Hampton,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rochester hotels
4.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys
4.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Rochester - Saint Mary's & Mayo Clinic Area
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Rochester
Hampton Inn Rochester
#6 of 52 in Rochester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rochester
1.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rochester
4.8 mi away
Kahler Grand Hotel
Kahler Grand Hotel
#36 of 52 in Rochester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North
Address: 2870 59th Street NW, Rochester, MN 55901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rochester
#2 Business Hotel in Rochester
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Rochester with our free shuttle, Monday- Friday from 6 AM to 9 PM, to and from Mayo Clinic, St. Mary’s, Rochester Downtown/Civic Center and IBM as well. Perennially listed near the top of the “Best Places to Live” polls, the team at our Hampton Inn & Suites contends that among Rochester, Minnesota hotels, the Hampton Inn Rochester North is also quite a nice place to visit! Our hotel is conveniently located near the world-renowned Mayo Clinic, the largest IBM facility and over 300 hundred restaurants. Our “Minnesota Nice” team provides true hospitality with cosmopolitan services. We love having you here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Rochester - North
Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North Hotel Rochester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing