We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An Oasis”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Visiting The Mayo is daunting at best, exhausting daily. Coming back to Hampton Inn with the friendly staff, clean and comfortable room plus amenities became an oasis in a sea of upheaval caused by a health event. The shuttle service is fantastic. The breakfast to go a thoughtful touch. In the dining room are games for kids, books and magazines just in case you forgot something.
The people of Rochester are welcoming. The Hampton Inn a slice of normal.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DivingDiva214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    616
    137
    41
    15
    9
See reviews for
345
179
67
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

I have stayed here several times. This nicely updated Hampton is very well located to major roads leading to shopping and restaurants if you have a car. Then shuttle service to the Mayo Clinic allows visitors to leave the car, and take advantage of the ease of walking around the clinic buildings and downtown Rochester. The helpful, friendly staff and comfortable, well-appointed rooms make every stay enjoyable. I have stayed at many different Hampton Inns, and this is one of the nicest ones, at a very good price.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Passage1333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We have been her for 3 weeks as a Mayo Clinic Paitient. The staff has been so accomodating, the breakfast fabulous and the service equal to that of a 5 star class hotel. Their shuttle service is the best, they run on time and are so helpful. The front desk personnel is so helpful and kind and very knowledgeable about all things Rochester and Mayo related. Unfortnately, due to a medical condition we will be making many trips here in the future. My name will stay on the reservation books for this hotel. The Hampton Inn NORTH. Another great thing is that here you are across from Walmart, near eating establishments and don't feel like your in the constant Mayo mind set. You can fool your senses and take a little mini vacation in their cool indoor pool as well.

Room Tip: The Suites are nicely furnished and are great for longer stays! All rooms have been quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank victoria b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

During a recent trip to Rochester for a family-members' surgery at Mayo, we chose the Hampton Inn and Suites Rochester North based on Trip Advisor reviews. We are so thankful that we chose this property. It was very clean, friendly accommodating staff, good hot breakfast (great coffee), large room, and located in a nice newer part of town with restaurants and shopping close by. Quiet sound-proofed rooms, well stocked with linens, and nice comfy bed. Cold AC. Hotel is literally 10 minutes or less from Mayo. Simple getting to and from the clinic. Parking lot well lighted. Highly recommend this property for your stay. Also ate at popular Canadian Honker restaurant which was really good.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Junebugg80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Wonderful staff, very accommodating to our large group. Loved that you have Eco-friendly signs up in the elevators and use compostable plates/silverware for the awesome breakfast. Only thing missing was the ability to recycle in the rooms and common areas. Very clean facility also!

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank K E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas T, Guest Service Representative at Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear K E,

Thanks for your tips! We are currently looking into a recycling program for our hotel, and take environmental conservation very seriously. We appreciate your feedback!

Sincerely,

The Hampton Inn & Suites Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Several members of our extended family stayed here for a wedding. Because of the # of rooms booked, we all got a good discount. The rooms were big enough we didn't feel cramped; they were very clean and well-stocked with linens, coffee/tea, toiletries, etc. The rooms were also very quiet and well sound-proofed. The staff was very friendly and helpful (shout out to Andy and Addison especially), particularly when we asked for dinner recommendations. There was a shuttle available, which really helped to ferry a lot of us to the reception. Breakfast offerings were varied (the scrambled eggs weren't good, but everything else was.) and the breakfast area was kept well-stocked up until closing at 10. The pool and hot tub were both very nice - the hot tub was at just the right temperature. The lobby had a number of options for sitting around so our family could hang out for hours catching up, playing games, drinking coffee (really good Robusta). I have 2 suggestions for improvement: first, although there were lots of eco-friendly features & reminders, there could be separate waste bins for cans/plastic/paper. Second, they should turn the mattresses more often. My husband noticed that the foot was a little higher than the head. If we come back to Rochester, we'll come back to the Hampton. Also, I'm putting Hamptons on my list for future vacations.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LHelker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas T, Guest Service Representative at Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear Wedding Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and for your planned continued patronage! We always appreciate feedback, and more options for recycling is something we're currently looking in to. Adison, myself, and the rest of the team here at Hampton Inn & Suites always strive to make the guest comfortable and their stay enjoyable. And we'll work on making those eggs until we get it right ;)

Sincerely,

The Hampton Inn & Suites Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAPID CITY
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

We always try and stay at a Hampton Inn because we know we are going to get a clean, comfortable room. This Hampton Inn was no exception. Stayed 6 nights,

Hot breakfast was average with a varied menu. Always well stocked.

Only two issues:
1. Drinking in the common area - looked, sounded and smelled like a bar when you walked in in the evenings.
2. Something hasty on the railing in one of the elevators which never got cleaned up.

Staff bent over backwards to accomodate you. Courtesy van took you wherever you wanted to go and drivers were very pleasant.

Will stay here again when in Rochester.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MustEatOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas T, Guest Service Representative at Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Dear MustEatOut,

We appreciate that you expect a lot out of Hampton Inn & Suites, and we always strive to deliver on those expectations. We're glad that you had a mostly good stay and that despite a few issues have chosen to use us again in the future. We often play host to large sports teams or members of other events around the Rochester area, and we are always proud to do so. Oftentimes these groups like to unwind after a hard day, a good game, or just because it's vacation time, and we offer our lobby for these groups, as well as individual guests such as yourself, to gather and enjoy themselves. During these times, we try to find a good balance that lets both these groups enjoy themselves, while not disturbing other guests. We apologize that balance was not satisfactory for you, but we're always working to do better. As for the cleanliness of the hotel, we take great pride in keeping the hotel spotless, and again, I apologize if an area was overlooked. Our staff has been trained to take care of the details, and we'll work harder to make sure this isn't an issue in the future. Thanks again for the kind words about our staff, and we can't wait to see you back here again!

Sincerely,

The Hampton Inn & Suites Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rochester hotels
4.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Rochester
Hampton Inn Rochester
#5 of 52 in Rochester
707 reviews
4.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Rochester - Saint Mary's & Mayo Clinic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rochester
7.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester South, MN
4.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North
Address: 2870 59th St NW, Rochester, MN 55901-3758
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rochester
#2 Business Hotel in Rochester
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Rochester with our free shuttle, Monday- Friday from 6 AM to 9 PM, to and from Mayo Clinic, St. Mary’s, Rochester Downtown/Civic Center and IBM as well. Perennially listed near the top of the “Best Places to Live” polls, the team at our Hampton Inn & Suites contends that among Rochester, Minnesota hotels, the Hampton Inn Rochester North is also quite a nice place to visit! Our hotel is conveniently located near the world-renowned Mayo Clinic, the largest IBM facility and over 300 hundred restaurants. Our “Minnesota Nice” team provides true hospitality with cosmopolitan services. We love having you here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Rochester - North
Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North Hotel Rochester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing