We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for the price, Mayo discount is appreciated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Rochester
Ranked #30 of 50 Hotels in Rochester
Reviewed September 19, 2013

My husband and I drive up to MN to go to Mayo in June and chose this hotel because it offered a patient discount and had everything we wanted. We weren't really disappointed because everything WAS clean and tidy, the staff very nice, breakfast good, the shuttle was on time, Famous Dave's made eating out very easy being attached to the hotel, and we didn't have any problems. However, the hotel rooms do need new carpet very badly and new pillows! The pillows were so flat and I called the desk to ask for more - 4 nights in a row - and they were always out of pillows. What hotel runs out of pillows? So we did not sleep well at all. That's my only complaint. Hopefully we won't ever have to come back to Mayo but if we do, we will stay somewhere else. This is a pleasant hotel otherwise.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank VacationsForMe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHIRochester, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites Rochester, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the GuestHouse Inn and Suites of Rochester. We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review. We will work on our pillows to ensure it isn't a problem for future stays.

Thanks again,


Lynn Budahn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 216 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2013

My son had appointments at Mayo clinic. Guest House International was spectacular!! Easy to make a reservation; continental breakfast was great, and set up very well...not crowded/congested to access food, large seating area. The front desk staff was very nice and helpful with our questions. The free shuttle to the clinic was great...excellent drivers... we didn't have to worry about where to park at the cliic....it was great door to door service!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHIRochester, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites Rochester, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the excellent review on TripAdvisor! Hope to see you in the near future.


Lynn Budahn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We thought for the price we really had a great stay. I will let everyone know that not all rooms have recliners in them like the web site leads you to believe. But I will say that we were able to move to another room that had one. The breakfast was really good. More to choose from that most hotels. I thought the bed was very comfortable. Would recommend this hotel as a great value. Was it a five star hotel, no, but it also was not the price of a five star hotel.

Room Tip: If you need a recliner ask for an odd numbered room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHIRochester, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites Rochester, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you taking the time to leave use a review on TripAdvisor! I am glad we were able to accommodate you during your stay in Rochester. Hope to see you back soon!

Thanks again,

Lynn Budahn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Overall this is a decent hotel with friendly and attentive staff. The property could use some updating though. The room was large and clean but was looking a bit worn. There was a mini fridge and microwave which was nice. There was no fan in the bathroom which was odd. Unfortuantely the a/c unit is an older style that you hear kick on and off all night long - therefore not a good night sleep for me. The beds are firm - so if that is what you like, you will like the beds here.

Breakfast was the basic continental offering and was good. We enjoyed the hot tub one evening and the pool area seemed nice and clean.

Overall I was happy with the stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IowaBeachdreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHIRochester, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites Rochester, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at the GuestHouse Inn and Suites of Rochester. We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review on TripAdvisor!

Hope to see you again in the future!

Lynn Budahn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

The accomodations were very suitable. Clean rooms, pool. Staff was very helpful, all except for one young man named Justin. He sure was able to ruin my first impression of the establishment with his "no customer service" attitude. But once we made contact with the front desk again, thank goodness for Amber. Her customer service was excellent. We would most definately stay here again, maybe not if Justin is at the helm!

Room Tip: Rooms with the kitchenettes in them are wonderful. Lots of room in them also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHIRochester, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites Rochester, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. We appreciate you writing us a TripAdvisor Review!

See you next time!

Lynn Budahn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here after leaving another hotel. If you are going to Mayo your choice should be either the Kahler which is attached to Mayo, or drive the five minutes to the "suburbs" haha. Clean and basic. Good tv. Beds ok. Housekeeping good. Famous Dave's restaurant. We did find the a/c adequate after the first six hot hours. The bathrooms don't have fans which made showers a problem. Humidity in room was unbearable afterwards. Quick drive to everything. Remember, Rochester is one big ripoff because every week a thousand new victims come to town. Most places--restaurants, stores, are horribly overpriced. This was good for the money.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hallwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHIRochester, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites Rochester, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review on TripAdvisor, we appreciate it! Hope to be able to accommodate you on your next stay in Rochester.

Thanks again,


Lynn Budahn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I recently stayed here for 2 nights. I had a mini mommy vacation by myself. I thoroughly enjoyed the pool area. It was clean, large and it looked like the kids that were there were having a ball with the kiddie pool. The hot tub was spacious and comfortable. My room was on the third floor and it was plenty big for just me. It had a king sized bed, TV, refrigerator and a pull-out sofa. The bed was comfy and it was neat and clean. The best parts, though, were the price and location! Right off Hwy 52 and only a few minutes to downtown Rochester, not to mention there is a Famous Daves right next door and a Perkins across the street. Seriously, you don't need to stay anywhere else!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pattipoo_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHIRochester, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites Rochester, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review on TripAdvisor! We are glad you enjoyed your mini vacation. Hope to see you again in the future!

Lynn Budahn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rochester hotels
2.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rochester
4 mi away
Extended Stay America - Rochester - South
2.9 mi away
Super 8 Rochester Mayo Clinic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#24 of 50 in Rochester
74 reviews
2.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Rochester
Wyndham Garden Rochester
#43 of 50 in Rochester
359 reviews
4.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Rochester
Comfort Suites Rochester
#20 of 50 in Rochester
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GuestHouse Inn & Suites Rochester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GuestHouse Inn & Suites Rochester

Address: 435 16th Ave NW, Rochester, MN 55901-1808 (Formerly Travelodge Rochester)
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 50 Hotels in Rochester
Price Range: $81 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — GuestHouse Inn & Suites Rochester 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The GuestHouse International Inn & Suites Rochester provides travelers with a clean and comfortable place to relax no matter the reason for travel. Take advantage of our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, free wireless Internet access, and free shuttle service to and from the Mayo Clinic facilities. Enjoying our large newly renovated indoor pool and relaxing in the whirlpool while you kids play under the waterfall is unbeatable at this Rochester, MN inn. Guests appreciate that we are minutes from Downtown Rochester, home of the Mayo Clinic. Special Mayo Clinic rates are available that include complimentary van service Monday through Friday. Connected to our Rochester, MN hotel near Mayo Clinic is Famous Dave's Bar-B-Que which provides dine in, or call for guest room service. Enjoy large guest rooms with microwave, mini refrigerator and high speed wireless Internet access. Kids and adults alike will love our great pool, whirlpool, and game area. Our Rochester, Minnesota inn is conveniently located close to all area businesses, entertainment and dining districts. The award winning GuestHouse Inn & Suites hotel in Rochester is happy to be at your service and was honored with Boomerang Hotels Excellence in Guest Service award for 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your GuestHouse Inn & Suites Rochester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse International Inn And Suites Rochester
Guesthouse International Inn & Suites Rochester Hotel Rochester
Hotel International Rochester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing