We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not clean rooms...pool was okay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Rochester
Ranked #31 of 50 Hotels in Rochester
Reviewed June 21, 2013

My husband chose this hotel for the pool for our 2 young daughters and the price. When we checked in for a 3 night stay, I was less than impressed with the room. The floor is stained, burned, and smells. I wore socks or shoes the entire time because it felt like it was greasy. I was cringing every time my 18mo old was playing on it. Then my husband lifted back the comforter and I saw a red stain on it! So gross, not sure wether it was blood or juice...didn't really feel like getting that close. Our sink in the bathroom had a rust stain in it. The remote was suppose to be one of those clean remotes that you can wipe down with antibacterial spray but I noticed dirt and smudge marks right away. My girls liked the kiddie pool although the spraying palm tree didn't work. Not happy with the overall stay and won't be coming back. I would rather spend an extra 30 dollars for a clean room.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashmaher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHIRochester, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites Rochester, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the GuestHouse Inn and Suites of Rochester. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know how we doing. I do apologize for the stay not meeting expectations. We are working hard to address these issues to ensure they do not happen in the future.

Thanks again,

Lynn Budahn
General Manager
GuestHouse Inn and Suites of Rochester

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 206 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here while she underwent testing at Mayo for a week. Very basic hotel but maintained well. Room was clean, bathroom clean and room had iron, iron board, coffee maker, hair dryer, fridge, and microwave. I had reserved a kitchenette but booked through a third party online service. When we arrived we received a basic 2 queen room. I went back to the front desk and was told I needed to discuss with who I booked with. When I questioned if any kitchenettes were available, I was told no so I didn't pursue anything further. The shuttle service was very convenient. I had to drive one day and the downtown area is confusing to out of towners. The parking fee across from Mayo was minimal. The shuttle ran really late 2 out of the 5 days but one day they sent an extra bus just for our hotel as the normal one was filled to capacity. All the shuttle drivers were great! We didn't use the pool as my daughter said it smelled VERY strongly of chlorine. The hotel employs challenged adults for their cleaning service and they were awesome! Only negatives would be the pillows are flat and the box springs need replacing, or hide them with a bed skirt. Free Wi-Fi, but limited channels and no way to rent a movie. Everything you need located within 15 minute drive. We need to return next month and I'll probably book here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisalisa02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHIRochester, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites Rochester, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a TripAdvisor review! See you on your next visit.

Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Pools have recently been re-done and are very nice. We had our dog along and there is a large grassy behind the hotel that is perfect for pets. Staff was friendly and the room was clean. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHIRochester, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites Rochester, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the GuestHouse Inn and Suites of Rochester. We are happy you got to enjoy our newly remodeled pool area!!

See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed at GuestHouse International for one overnight. Although the building and décor was a bit outdated, the staff was wonderful. Even though there was a 4-hour power outage on the day of check-in, the associate was polite and accommodated us to the best of her ability. The breakfast was good with waffles, hard-boiled eggs, toast, fruit, yogurt, and cereal. There was a shuttle to the Mayo Clinic, which was a necessity. It seems the entire city is compassionate and understanding of patients and their families. I appreciated our stay!

Room Tip: We had two rooms, each with two queens. The rooms had a refrigerator, microwave, television, and fre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHIRochester, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites Rochester, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor, we appreciate it! Looking forward to your next stay with us!

Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stayed here for a wk, friendly and helpful staff. We had the room with the kitchenette and it was great. The beds were comfy and the room was clean. The kids loved the pool. Our room was cleaned only once for being there a week but they did replace the towels everyday. Will definetly stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmyV891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHIRochester, Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites Rochester, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the GuestHouse Inn and Suites of Rochester. I am happy to hear our kitchenette suite was accommodating for you! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a TripAdvisor Review!

See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We traveled to Rochester to attend appointments at the Mayo Clinic. The room was clean and the staff were friendly and accommodating. We chose the Guesthouse due to the location which is close to the off ramps that will take you to the major shopping spots as well as restaurants in no time at all. It was a short ride to the Mayo Clinic and the hotel was quiet. While there we were caught in the snow storm and the Maintenance people were out clearing the drive and scooping the walks early in the morning to provide safety for the clients staying at the hotel. They were staff challenged due to the storm but they continued to give courteous service and provided us with what we needed with a smile. The only reason I gave a 4 was the pool temperatures were cool. We had a three year old and she became chilled using the pool after a short period of time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katieb60885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHIRochester, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites Rochester, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with at the GuestHouse Inn and Suites and thank you for taking the time to write a TripAdvisor Review. We really appreciate it!

Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights, very friendly & helpful staff. Shuttle to the Mayo was always on time. Clean comfy rooms. Pool & hot tub were very nice & relaxing. Will definetly be staying here again, whether for medical or non medical trips!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shayna78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHIRochester, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites Rochester, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review on TripAdvisor! Hope to see you in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rochester hotels
2.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rochester
2.9 mi away
Super 8 Rochester Mayo Clinic Area
4.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rochester South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rochester West-Medical Center
1.2 mi away
Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#26 of 50 in Rochester
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GuestHouse Inn & Suites Rochester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GuestHouse Inn & Suites Rochester

Address: 435 16th Ave NW, Rochester, MN 55901-1808 (Formerly Travelodge Rochester)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 50 Hotels in Rochester
Price Range: $82 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — GuestHouse Inn & Suites Rochester 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The GuestHouse International Inn & Suites Rochester provides travelers with a clean and comfortable place to relax no matter the reason for travel. Take advantage of our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, free wireless Internet access, and free shuttle service to and from the Mayo Clinic facilities. Enjoying our large newly renovated indoor pool and relaxing in the whirlpool while you kids play under the waterfall is unbeatable at this Rochester, MN inn. Guests appreciate that we are minutes from Downtown Rochester, home of the Mayo Clinic. Special Mayo Clinic rates are available that include complimentary van service Monday through Friday. Connected to our Rochester, MN hotel near Mayo Clinic is Famous Dave's Bar-B-Que which provides dine in, or call for guest room service. Enjoy large guest rooms with microwave, mini refrigerator and high speed wireless Internet access. Kids and adults alike will love our great pool, whirlpool, and game area. Our Rochester, Minnesota inn is conveniently located close to all area businesses, entertainment and dining districts. The award winning GuestHouse Inn & Suites hotel in Rochester is happy to be at your service and was honored with Boomerang Hotels Excellence in Guest Service award for 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your GuestHouse Inn & Suites Rochester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse International Inn & Suites Rochester Hotel Rochester
Guesthouse International Inn And Suites Rochester
Hotel International Rochester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing