We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT FOR MAYO PATIENTS!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites Rochester
Ranked #24 of 52 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Spanish Fort, Alabama, United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“NOT FOR MAYO PATIENTS!”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

My husband and I spent 10 days at this location. Requested a quiet location to recover. We encountered HUGE SPIDERS, MAJOR ELECTRICAL ISSUES in the restroom, filth from previous guest that was cleaned up 4 days into our stay after multiple complaints. They laughed about the spiders. Not funny to me, I'm afraid of them! It took them 3 days to address the electrical problems. They put a sports team adjacent to our room! No piece or quietness. Breakfast is poor, undercooked eggs, poor selection.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel if you require peace and quiet! Due to surgery, we stayed on the bottom flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Razu248, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites Rochester, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us your thoughts on our hotel! I am very sorry about the issues you encountered during your stay! I am very sorry about the spiders that you had found in your room! Like most hotels in Rochester we do have an exterminator come in monthly to check all of our nooks a crannies of our hotel and I brought it up to him on their last visit and it has been addressed. I am not sure why it took so long for the electrical issues in your bathroom to be addressed by our maintenance staff but I have spoken to them about it and they have been a lot more attentive sense your stay! I am very sorry about the noisiness of the kids from your stay. We do have each group member sign a Group Conduct Contract stating that there will be no running and no yelling in the halls at any time and that quiet time is enforced at 10 pm every evening and we try our best to keep up with them. I am very sorry again about the issues you encountered and we hope you will try us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    53
    15
    6
    6
See reviews for
96
40
15
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Have stayed here multiple times over the last 3-4 yrs. The last 2 disappointing stays have degraded our rating from a 5-star to a 3-star. The same dirty messes (cracker crumb piles, small pieces of paper litter, lint piles, etc) were in the exact same places in the hallways and elevators when we checked in and when we checked out 48 hours later. The pillow cases and the sheets on one of the queen beds were wrinkled and appeared unchanged from prior visitors use. (We didn't use that bed!) The room AC unit sounded ike a jet engine when the compressor kicked in and did a better job keeping us awake all night than regulating the room temp. The snack shop has been closed. The breakfast has been considerably pared down from the past. The OJ and decaf coffee remained empty the entire 30 min we waited for their refill during the breakfast hours. (The front desk gal was in charge of both the desk and breakfast and could not keep up evidently.) Sadly, this used to be our favorite motel in Rochester. In short, management changes since early 2013 have obviously resulted in cutbacks in both services and cleanliness. We really liked this quiet south part of Rochester, but will give that up for better comfort and care of customers elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Razu248, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites Rochester, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank you so much for taking your time to review our hotel! I am so sorry that your stay was a little disappointing compared to your last stays! I hope to make it up and you will try our hotel in the future! I have spoken with our housekeeping staff and have directed them to vacuum the hallways more often, and the bedding issue has been addressed. I have also spoken to the desk staff on keeping the Market Place fully stocked at all times. As for the breakfast, we are in the process of hiring new staff for that position and the issue will be resolved shortly! Again I am very sorry about your disappointing stay but I truly hope you will give us another shot in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Room was a little on the small side but very clean and comfortable and met our needs beautifully. The king size bed and pillows were excellent. Bathroom was much nicer than most but I would have appreciated a rack by the sink to hang a hand towel and a spot for the hand washing soap.
The heating controls were a little odd and took some effort to figure out.
The hotel is a bit out of town but is an easy drive to shops and restaurants. We loved that the area was quiet with a nice paved walking trail.
The breakfast area was decent but felt cramped if there were more than 3 people trying to get food at a time. Usual selection of cereal, waffles, pastries, sausages, fruit and yogurt. Juice comes from one of those machines that mixes it as it pours...not my favorite. Still, it provided a sufficient grab and go way to start the day.
Staff at the front desk were very friendly and helpful.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank JKfamilywanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Razu248, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites Rochester, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to tell us your thoughts about our hotel! Its wonderful to hear that our staff exceeded your expectations with their professionalism as we is their personalities! I am sorry to hear that our air control system was a little difficult to figure out. I know that it is a new system to the Rochester area and something that is hard to get used to! I hand towel rack in the bath room is a wonderful idea! We will try and work our some sort of an idea to make that happen! Thank you again for taking your time to review our hotel and we hope you stay with us again on your next trip to Rochester Minnesota!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel. The rooms are super spacious. I booked the 2 queen room with a pullout couch, and was pleasantly surprised by the space in room. Significantly larger than your average 2 queen room. The bathroom was excellent, and the whole place was very clean. The pool area was nice--main pool a tad small, but the kids enjoyed it much the same. The hot tub was large, and very hot--which I like. The breakfast was not one of those breakfasts you would remember for weeks, but it was better than many--2 waffle machines, an egg choice and a meat choice. Certainly a 4 star breakfast. We were just passing through Rochester on a mini vacation, but clearly many people staying here were Mayo bound, so that seems like a good option as well. I believe they have a shuttle. Loved the staff as well. Overall, I would certainly recommend this place to my mom...and she has so many hotel requirements it is comical.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BLatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Razu248, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites Rochester, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel! Its great to hear that you had such a wonderful time on your Mini Vacation! Its always nice to hear that our staff, breakfast, and pool area are the favorites during your stay! Thank you again for taking the time to tell us your thoughts! We hope to see you and your family again soon on your next trip to Rochester Minnesota!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
International Falls, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

!st trip to Mayo, and what a blessing this Hotel was! Very clean! The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast bar was great! Bacon, muffins, waffles, fresh fruit, juices... and more! The beds are very comfortable! Tons of pillows! I will staying there again very soon!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Razu248, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites Rochester, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel! Its wonderful to hear that your stay met all of your expectations! We hope to keep exceeding them each time you stay with us again! Our breakfast is something that we strive for to be delicious everyday! With the hot items changing every day we hope that you stay with us more to try each of our menu items through out the week! Thank you again for taking the time to write a review on us and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianola, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Very large clean room. Good location with movie theaters right next door when wanting to find things to do between trips to Mayo Clinic. It is located on the southern end of Rochester, but the location is so quiet and worth the trip. The price is higher than other Rochester Choice Hotels. A managers reception of soup, rolls and warm cookies is offered during the week. The breakfast was clean and well stocked. Above average muffins, cheese eggs and bacon, as well as waffles, cold cereal, yogurt, juices and coffee were offered. Would stay again if we come back to Rochester.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funtrip44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Razu248, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites Rochester, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. Its great to hear that you had such a good time staying at our hotel! The managers reception has become a big favorite with our guests and were glad to hear that it is still being enjoyed by all guests! We hope to see you again soon on your next trip to Rochester Minnesota!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed again this past weekend and the staff are always friendly and helpful. The rooms are quiet and clean and you can always find something healthy to eat at the complimentary breakfast bar. Easy check in and out as well. A good choice for anyone looking for a room on the southern end of Rochester.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Razu248, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites Rochester, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our property! We love to hear that time and time again our staff make your stay enjoyable and I will tell my staff that their hard work is paying off! Again thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we hope to see you the next time you return to Rochester Minnesota!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rochester
6.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites West - Medical Center
0.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester South, MN
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rochester South
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Rochester
Hampton Inn Rochester
#5 of 52 in Rochester
723 reviews
7.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rochester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Rochester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Rochester

Property: Comfort Suites Rochester
Address: 4141 Maine Ave SE, Rochester, MN 55904-6934
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Rochester
#12 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
#16 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Rochester 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Suites® is located on the southeastern area of Rochester Minnesota. Just minutes from Mayo Clinic, St. Marys Hospital and IBM Executive Briefing Center. We offer discounted rates for Mayo Clinic visitors as well as St. Marys Hospital visitors. For information on these discounts as well as others please contact us directly at the phone number listed above. We are very close to a variety of shopping stores, restaurants, and a movie theater. We are also minuets from a number of parks golf courses and ponds. We offer FREE transportation to the Mayo Clinic, and St. Marys Hospital Mondays – Fridays, FREE parking, FREE wireless Internet FREE local calls, FREE weekday local newspaper, and a FREE hot deluxe breakfast, which include waffles, eggs, meat, fresh fruit, cereal and more. We also offer a Your Suite Success™ Grab & Go bag which includes various breakfast items if you are in a hurry and have no time to sit down for breakfast. Take a dip in our sparkling indoor heated pool and indoor hot tub. Enjoy our our exercise room during your comfortable stay with us. We have a business center that is equipped with two computers, copy and fax services. We also have a meeting room that can accommodate meetings or family get togethers. All of our rooms come equipped with microwaves, refrigerators, flat-screen televisions, sofa sleepers, coffee makers, hairdryers, irons, ironing boards, charging station for phones and other devices. We offer snacks, and laundry detergent in our Sundry Shop, coin operated laundry facilities in our beautifully decorated lobby area. The Comfort Suites® is a new development built in 2008. We offer fantastic customer service and wonderful amenities waiting for you to visit us in Rochester Minnesota. Book a reservation today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites Rochester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Rochester Hotel Rochester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing