We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I am now a Walleyed Pike fan”
Review of Chester's

Chester's
Ranked #3 of 301 Restaurants in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“I am now a Walleyed Pike fan”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Great service. The parmaesan crusted wall-eyed pike was especially good and we will be back for more the next time we are anywhere near here.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marc A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    741
    423
    112
    26
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mantorville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Chicken Lettuce Wraps = Yum!”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Chester's has become my favorite local restaurant. The Chicken Lettuce Wraps (off the starter portion of the menu) are consistently fabulous! This restaurant is perfect for brunch, lunch, happy hour or date night. Due to the boisterous ambiance, I would select another option if you are looking for a quiet place to do a business luncheon.

Chester's does comfort food exceptionally! Do not under estimate the quality of their fresh fish options either or the great desserts. My husband's go to favorite is the the Banana Cream "Pie!"

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank angier_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oronoco, Minnesota
Level Contributor
341 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Tasty dinner, great service”
Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

Met friends for dinner. I agree with previous review about it being noisy. There is seating outside the restaurant in the mall that would be much quieter.

I wanted shrimp for my entree and there was none on the menu so I ordered the buffalo shrimp (without the bleu cheese). It was excellent.

My entree was the raspberry chicken salad. It was also excellent with a lot of apricots and walnuts. It was very filling & tasty.

The server was excellent without hovering

Helpful?
Thank richie1732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
328 reviews
236 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Decent lunch”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We were told we had to eat at Chester's, so we did. It is very convenient to the Mayo complex. Lunch was good but certainly not great. I ordered a turkey and avocado sandwich on multi grain bread. The turkey was thickly sliced processed meat; not actual turkey breast. Really??? The service, however, was very good; and they have both indoor and outside seating.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank KSSeaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mankato, Minnesota
Level Contributor
73 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great food, noisy restaurant”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We ordered dinner for take-out, and I'm glad we did. We had the filet mignon with mashed potatoes and rice, and everything was absolutely delicious. However, when I called to place the order, the person I was talking to could hardly hear me, so I had to repeat my order loud and clear. No wonder! When I went there to pick up my dinner, the restaurant was playing music very loud. That, plus a noisy and dim-lit atmosphere, makes the restaurant a bad place to eat in with family, friends, or colleagues if you eat inside the restaurant: you would have a hard time conversing inside. However, if you eat at their patio, it might be all right. Finally, the food is very expensive.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Enrique T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chester's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing