We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Meal!”
Review of Chester's

Chester's
Ranked #3 of 303 Restaurants in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
RAPID CITY
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal!”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

A friend and I had just completed and battery of tests at Mayo Clinic and we were in the mood for some good food! We were not disappointed. The service was quick and the waiters were attentive. Highly recommend Chester's!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BEVERLY D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    765
    432
    113
    29
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northville, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“good cake, good drinks”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Four friends and I went for a late night snack and some drinks. The service was quit and the chocolate cake was to die for. It came with ice cream and chocolate syrup you could pour on top at your leisure. It's a good thing the five of us split it though! It was that big!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice experience”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My wife and I joined another couple for an evening meal here and we all agreed the food and service were great. The waiter was very friendly and offered his menu recommendations, which is something we don't experience that often these days. We were in and out of there in about an hour - not bad for a busy Saturday evening!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Predictably good, but always busy”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We visited Chester's recently and were delighted with the food. However, it seems like orders have been taking longer to get to us after ordering. We ate here twice in the last month, and while it's always super busy, that didn't seem to slow down orders in the past like it is now. For business lunches, this isn't good if one only has an hour. Hopefully the kitchen team can learn to speed things up, while not sacrificing on the quality and taste that Chester's is known for.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank epi007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Delicious - fun and lively”
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Food the great. Order the corn bread, it's almost a dessert. The portions can be split for two people. The are huge. This is not an amazing place, or exciting place. It's a good place in a city without a lot of good places. The service is far above expectations- very good people, serving good, very good food. Have dinner here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trythis-maybe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chester's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing