We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and relaxing”

Alexander Ramsey Park
Attraction details
Waterville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice and relaxing”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Joined friends and camped for a couple nights. Nice quiet campgrounds. Nice and small. Had public bathrooms, showers. Electic and water hookup. Has a small zoo for kids of all sizes. Nice waterfall, which we had to drive to as bridge was being repaired. Would go back.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank B J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    11
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Breathtaking!”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Once a State park, was given back to the city of Redwood Falls, making it the largest municipal park in the nation. Reminiscent of the well-known Gooseberry Falls, in Northern MN on the shores of Lake Superior, Alexander Ramsey Park has gorgeous falls emanating from bustling rivers. Miles of trails for hiking, biking, walking, often looking down over beautiful canyons, or into great stands of massive trees. The park offers camping, picnic tables, and even a zoo of farm animals!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank T C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fitchburg, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
572 reviews
289 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“This is why I live in Minnesota.”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

There are so many great attractions int he land of 10,000 lakes and many, like Alexander Ramsey Park, don't get the airtime when compared to the big tourist attractions in Minnesota. I was in town for business in December and thought, since I had an hour or so of daylight left, that I would head down to the park. I am very glad that I did. There was no one around as it was late on a winter day, but there was plenty of things to see. The animals in the small zoo were out an about, the flora dormant for winter made for some great photos, and the falls were stunning and peaceful. A great use of the natural space affording to us Minnesotans. I will be bringing my wife once the spring melt occurs.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JesseWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“pretty, but not the impressive”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

title says it all. It would only take a few hours to see it all and the bridge was under construction. The only nice thing was it had decent trails mapped out.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank shadowfox83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Minnesota
Level Contributor
185 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Wonderful park”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This is a wonderful park with trails all over the place to hike on. We have hiked to the waterfalls many time and for those that can't hike well, you can actually drive up to the falls and get pretty close to them, so it is just a short walk to see them then. Be careful in the spring when the water is higher on the river, the current can be quite strong and little children should not be allowed to try and cross some of the places on the Redwood river going through the park at this time of the year. Parents should keep an eye on them in the spring. Great picnic grounds, we used to have large family reunions there and there was something to do for everyone. Very enjoyable park.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alexander Ramsey Park also viewed

 

Been to Alexander Ramsey Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing