We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Fishing stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Red Wing

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Super 8 Red Wing
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Red Wing
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    74
    67
    29
    31
See reviews for
65
84
16
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We had a pretty good experience at the Super 8 in Red Wing. We went during a slow time and they gave us a nicer room than we paid for. The staff was very nice and helpful. Our room and the rest of the building was very clean. We did not smell any smoke in the hotel. The breakfast was decent. They did have some fruit and yogurt along with cereal, sweet rolls, etc. Our room did have a funny smell that was unaccounted for. Also, we did not put the Do Not Disturb sign on our door and house keeping walked right into the room without knocking in the morning. There is a train track near, but it did not disturb us since we live near one.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeckyS60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nshah1, Owner at Super 8 Red Wing, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Red Wing Super 8. We are glad that you enjoyed our staff and the breakfast. We apologize for any odor that may have been in the room. In the future we encourage you to report any issues while you are in the room so that we can remedy the situation before it is too late. Our housekeepers never enter a room without knocking unless they are under the impression that the guest has left the room. We can guarantee it would not happen again and there must have been a misunderstanding. Please consider staying with us again in the future we look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
102 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Read some of the other reviews and it appears that some updating has been done. Looks like new coat of paint has been applied but beds haven't been upgraded for quite some time. Ask for a room that isn't on the back (street side) of the hotel as the trains run all night and the traffic is pretty noisy. This hotel appears to be added on to several times and it's quite large and spread out. Room size is ok, TV's are older and not greatest of reception. Bathrooms are very small and inconvenient as you have to get way over by the shower to shut the door. Breakfast is toaster waffles, juice, cereal and toast. There's several good restaurants in town though, so I'd suggest trying them out instead.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a room not at the back side of the street side addition. The trains and traff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelDebIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nshah1, Owner at Super 8 Red Wing, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. It sounds like you enjoyed most of your stay with us here in Red Wing. Our beds are actually less than 2 years old, they are Simmons Beauty Rest mattresses and most guests enjoy them. We are sorry that you did not. We have been updating now for the past year including bedding, curtains, paint, and carpet. We will be upgrading our TVs next year. Along with what you mentioned we also include cinnamon rolls, yogurt, and fresh fruit with our Superstart breakfast from 6-9 every morning. We hope you will stay with us again in the future and give us another opportunity to impress you. More renovations will be continuing throughout the year and we look forward to seeing you again and showing you the best we have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Red Wing
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rivertown Inn & Suites
1.3 mi away
St. James Hotel
St. James Hotel
#2 of 9 in Red Wing
4.0 of 5 stars 260 reviews
2.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Nichols Inn Red Wing
Nichols Inn Red Wing
#5 of 9 in Red Wing
4.0 of 5 stars 82 reviews
0.5 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Red Wing
15.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Lake City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Red Wing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Red Wing

Property: Super 8 Red Wing
Address: 232 Withers Harbor Dr, Red Wing, MN 55066
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Red Wing
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Red Wing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Red Wing 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Wing Super 8 is located within the historical Pottery Place area. Shopping and restaurants all within walking distance! Short drive to the casino! 60 Rooms + Meetings Rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Super 8 Red Wing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Red Wing
Red Wing Super 8
Red Wing Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing