We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Love this hotel for location and convenience.....and the...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Red Wing

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Super 8 Red Wing
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Red Wing
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
See reviews for
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
102 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Read some of the other reviews and it appears that some updating has been done. Looks like new coat of paint has been applied but beds haven't been upgraded for quite some time. Ask for a room that isn't on the back (street side) of the hotel as the trains run all night and the traffic is pretty noisy. This hotel appears to be added on to several times and it's quite large and spread out. Room size is ok, TV's are older and not greatest of reception. Bathrooms are very small and inconvenient as you have to get way over by the shower to shut the door. Breakfast is toaster waffles, juice, cereal and toast. There's several good restaurants in town though, so I'd suggest trying them out instead.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a room not at the back side of the street side addition. The trains and traff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
    • 4 of 5 stars
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
    • 3 of 5 stars
    • 3 of 5 stars
Thank TravelDebIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nshah1, Owner at Super 8 Red Wing, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. It sounds like you enjoyed most of your stay with us here in Red Wing. Our beds are actually less than 2 years old, they are Simmons Beauty Rest mattresses and most guests enjoy them. We are sorry that you did not. We have been updating now for the past year including bedding, curtains, paint, and carpet. We will be upgrading our TVs next year. Along with what you mentioned we also include cinnamon rolls, yogurt, and fresh fruit with our Superstart breakfast from 6-9 every morning. We hope you will stay with us again in the future and give us another opportunity to impress you. More renovations will be continuing throughout the year and we look forward to seeing you again and showing you the best we have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I made a online reservation for 3-23-13, knowing from the website that I had until 6:00 p.m. that day to cancel. When I called the motel to cancel at 11:00 a.m. Sarah at the desk told me there was a 24 hour cancellation policy and I was too late, my card would be charged. I informed her that the Super 8 website and my confirmation email both stated I had until 6:00 that night to cancel. She became very short with me, and stated they have always had a 24 hour cancellation policy, and that I would be charged. I thanked her, double checked my confirmation email, and then called back to re-state my case that I had until 6:00 to cancel. She re-stated the 24 hour cancel policy, and I again stated that was not what was on the website or my email, and how was I to know that they had a 24 hour cancellation policy if the booking material says 6:00 same day. She gave me an 800 number to call, and rudely stated something to the effect of "you can call them and try". I called the 800 number, cancelled the reservation, with a very nice woman who was actually helpful, and she gave me my cancellation number. I called Sara in Red Wing back to inform her I was able to cancel, so they apparently do not have a 24 hour cancellation policy, as I was able to cancel. Sara, who is either having a bad day, or is just a bad person, stated she shows the reservation as still active, not cancelled. I stated I have a cancellation number, she said she was talking to the "DRM hotline" on the other line, and that she would get to the bottom of this, like I'm supposed to know or care what the DRM hotine is. Now I know that things can get mixed up between online systems and what is live at the motel location, but Sara's attitude and rudeness turned what should have been a slight mix-up that was easily resolved into a near argument and the loss of any future business. Hope things get better for you Sara.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
Thank doggums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nshah1, Manager at Super 8 Red Wing, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
There is certainly no bait and switch cancellation policy at the Super 8 Motel in Red Wing, MN. Our policy has always been a 24 hour prior to 6pm cancellation. Apparently when we had a software upgrade our cancellation policy reverted to a default setting on our website. This issue has been resolved and now indicates the correct 24 hour by 6pm cancellation. Also when anyone at the front desk reviews this gentleman’s reservation it indicates on our computer a 24 hour prior to 6 pm policy. Whenever a staff member tells someone something they don’t want to hear then that staff member is said to be rude. It is not being rude when staff states the policy they have known for 10 plus years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Red Wing
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rivertown Inn & Suites
1.3 mi away
St. James Hotel
St. James Hotel
#2 of 9 in Red Wing
4.0 of 5 stars 258 reviews
2.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Nichols Inn Red Wing
Nichols Inn Red Wing
#5 of 9 in Red Wing
4.0 of 5 stars 82 reviews
0.5 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Red Wing
15.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Lake City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Red Wing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Red Wing

Property: Super 8 Red Wing
Address: 232 Withers Harbor Dr, Red Wing, MN 55066
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Red Wing
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Red Wing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Red Wing 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Wing Super 8 is located within the historical Pottery Place area. Shopping and restaurants all within walking distance! Short drive to the casino! 60 Rooms + Meetings Rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Super 8 Red Wing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Red Wing
Red Wing Super 8
Red Wing Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing