We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Comfortable, Delicious Breakfast, Historic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Round Barn Farm Bed, Breakfast, and Bread

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Red Wing
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Round Barn Farm Bed, Breakfast, and Bread
Ranked #1 of 6 Red Wing B&B and Inns
Cottage Grove
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Comfortable, Delicious Breakfast, Historic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed in the Willow Suite which is one of the larger rooms. Fireplace, swing, feather bed, Jacuzzi tub in the bathroom, and comfortable bed. We loved the room and felt transported back in time. The house is gorgeous. The owners do an exceptional job at making you feel at home, explaining the history of the home, property and barn, and serving a delicious breakfast. We baked bread in the outdoor over and it was a fun experience. The barn tour was so interesting because they know so much about the history. Also, the barn would be a great place to have a party. It is a must see. We plan to buy gift certificates for our in-laws to have a weekend getaway.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    7
    0
    2
    3
See reviews for
6
61
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Very well presented historic charm, free from the usual drawbacks of an old inn. We loved how the owners reviewed, and have preserved history... We've stayed at many B&B's and have never had such an enthusiastic, welcoming, and interesting experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Had a wonderful time and would highly recommend. The 3 course breakfast was a real treat. Lots of attention to details in the house and rooms. The bed was also awesomely comfy. Elaine and Robin were great hosts. The bread baking in the outdoor oven was a fun learning experience and the tour of the round barn was interesting.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MNgal44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

This is a wonderful place! Not your typical old run down B&B, this place is immaculate, top notch, first class and the best we have stayed at by far. We left feeling like it was definitely worth the price and that it was an "experience" not just a night away. The beds are AMAZING, the host and hostess are friendly, accomodating and truly care about thier guests experience while still allowing you privacy. The little touches really made it worthwhile, the breakfast "appetizers", the selection of specialty beverages in the fridge and the beautiful gardens with little hidden benches, fountains and bird feeders, not to mention home made cookies that melted in your mouth.

One of the best parts was chatting with other guests over coffee on the screen porch while our bread baked just steps away in the outdoor oven. The smell was heavenly and made the whole experience one we will not soon forget.

My only regret is that we only stayed one night and not two! It would have been nice to have a little more time to climb the bluff, explore the area, relax in our luxurious room and enjoy the company of the hosts.

As to the reviewers that gave this place a bad rating, I would say that you obviously haven't stayed at many B&B's. Of course you hear the other guests walking around, it's a B&B not a hotel and of course the hosts talk to you....you are staying in thier home!!! Of course breakfast is a long affair, that is the point of the bed and BREAKFAST!!! Maybe those people should have chosen the Super 8 instead of this charming little slice of heaven.

We will definietly be back and will bring our friends too. Thanks Elaine and Robin for loving what you do and sharing your home with us.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great with awesome views. You would be happy in any of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank showbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SE WI
Level Contributor
95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

Thank goodness for the central air of the Round Barn during that beastly hotter than Hades week last week! They accomodated our last minute reservation when another B & B where we had reservations ended up NOT having central air-OY! Round Barn's rooms are exquisite-we stayed in the Willow Room. The breakfast was four deeelicious courses-YIKES! Home baked bread, great stories, nice company, a bed we will end up buying on our own which we just melted into. Thanks Round barn-we WILL return!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zahava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulda
Level Contributor
164 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

The facility is beautiful, the setting is peaceful and how wonderful not to have phones or TV!! Our room had a fun 2 person tub in it that we enjoyed very much. The breakfasts were magnificent! About the only thing I would add to other glowing reviews here is the owners are a wonderful Christian couple that take exceptional care of their guests. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brighton, Minnesota
Level Contributor
89 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

This was our second stay at the Round Barn Farm. It was even better than our first stay. We stayed in the Willow Suite. It is pure relaxation as you lounge on the double chaise, or swing in the willow swing beside the fire place. The Linens are crisp and so white. The house keeping crew does an excellant job. The breakfasts are incredible and the bread baking fun. Strole through the garden, sit in the gazebo or enjoy a tour of the round barn. The hosts friendly and fun. The train tracks and trains add to the tranqulity. A must do trip.

Room Tip: Largest suites are at the top of the house on the 3rd floor. All rooms are wondeful and airconditio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jayne-Annie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Red Wing hotels
4.0 mi away
St. James Hotel
St. James Hotel
#1 of 9 in Red Wing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
7.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing
5.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rivertown Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Nichols Inn Red Wing
Nichols Inn Red Wing
#5 of 9 in Red Wing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
5.2 mi away
Super 8 Red Wing
Super 8 Red Wing
#6 of 9 in Red Wing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
4.8 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Red Wing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Round Barn Farm Bed, Breakfast, and Bread? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Round Barn Farm Bed, Breakfast, and Bread

Property: Round Barn Farm Bed, Breakfast, and Bread
Address: 28650 Wildwood Lane, Red Wing, MN 55066
Location: United States > Minnesota > Red Wing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Red Wing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing