We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (571)
Filter reviews
571 results
Traveler rating
344
136
49
27
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
344
136
49
27
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jimmy's pub the river beautiful hotel train depot fifth floor aveda products modern conveniences turn down service walking tour antique furniture old world charm beautiful room barn bluff the entire hotel get away downtown red wing downtown area
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 571 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This place is beautiful and excellent food! We had great service by the staff, very helpful and friendly. They always greeted us every time we walked in the doors. Our room was awesome and comfy bed! I would definitely recommend this place, it makes you feel special. Love the history and the décor, fancy!
The restaurants have amazing food as well!

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Explore39034629096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celina G, Marketing Coordinator at St. James Hotel, Est. 1875, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for the kind words and compliments traveler! We appreciate it. Cheers, Celina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2019

There is so much we could say that was good about our stay at the St. James. The staff was amazing, and we loved the food from both of the restaurants we tried. We liked being right downtown where we walked to stores and to the river. It's a beautiful hotel. Unfortunately, an incredibly noisy, clanking air conditioner in our room kept both of us up most of the night. We probably should have gotten dressed and asked for a different room because I hope that isn't typical for their a\c!

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celina G, Marketing Coordinator at St. James Hotel, Est. 1875, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Kathy - we appreciate you sharing your experience. I'm so sorry to hear that the air conditioner in your room was loud and you were unable to rest. It's not typical of our units to make so much noise. Thank you for alerting us about this. Your comments were forwarded to the appropriate department so we can look into the issue and fix it. Guest comfort is very important to us. Warm regards, Celina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2019

They really know how to do it the St. James. The staff is laser-focused on customer service and the facility is top-notch. I tried hard to find something to complain about and failed completely. From the time we checked in until we checked out, we never left the building but had drinks, dinner and breakfast without every thinking it might be better to go somewhere else.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Resort50629291863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celina G, Marketing Coordinator at St. James Hotel, Est. 1875, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi friend - thank you for your warm comments! I'm glad you enjoyed your time at the St. James. Safe travels. Best, Celina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2019

Very nice hotel with good amenities for a historic hotel. Only complaint is the room (which was very large) did not have a desk. For a business traveler, it's mandatory these days to have a desk with adequate plug-ins for your computer, phone etc.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sharkz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celina G, Marketing Coordinator at St. James Hotel, Est. 1875, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2019

Hi traveler - thank you for sharing your feedback. We do our best to incorporate modern amenities in our historic space. I'm sorry to hear that your accommodations did not have everything that you needed during your time at the St. James. Your comments were shared with the appropriate department to see what we can do with the space in the future. Safe travels! Best, Celina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2019

We received gift cards for this hotel for Christmas, and had a wonderful time using them. The Victorian package was a great value--it includes drinks in the Pub, and a fantastic dinner in The Port restaurant, with breakfast in the Veranda! The food was excellent, and way more than we expected--they give you too much, if anything. Would definitely recommend a gift like this for any one you have trouble buying something special for!

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank judy2465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celina G, Marketing Coordinator at St. James Hotel, Est. 1875, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2019

Hi traveler - thank you for the review! We are happy to hear that you were able to try out our Victorian package and enjoyed the perks of it. We appreciate the compliments! Best, Celina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews