We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated but Comfortable Historic Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of St. James Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added St. James Hotel to your Saves list
St. James Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   406 Main Street, Red Wing, MN 55066   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Red Wing
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Dated but Comfortable Historic Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This is a decent historic hotel that was renovated in the 1980's and has not been touched since - the overriding impression was that this was probably the height of chic about 30 years ago. While our stay was not unpleasant (our room was spacious and comfortable), it was not remarkable in any way other than having the notion reinforced that the 1980's were a bad time for historic renovation and popular style decisions at the time were inclined to disguise, rather than showcase, historic features. It is unfortunate that the historic lobby is not used as a lobby and is something of a museum-type afterthought rather than a feature proudly displayed to arriving guests. The parking garage is quite tight with tight curves and low ceilings and would be rather frightening if it weren't in Red Wing. On a good note, the service was nice and we enjoyed our room service in the morning. The location is good as far as walking around the downtown and looking at the shops. However, the room rates are rather high and I feel that the value isn't there for what we were hoping to be a much more charming property. Perhaps a more sensitive renovation with a fresh crop of room updates would make this a more romantic and elegant destination worthy of the prices asked.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IllinoisCentral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    81
    28
    14
    7
See reviews for
33
144
5
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, Florida
Level Contributor
91 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

The St. James Hotel is all a historic hotel should be - beautiful, elegant and hospitable. We couldn't get reservations here (they were booked solid) but we visited a couple of times for drinks and dinner in the basement pub, with stone walls - a great ambience. Not your traditional "pub" food. This place has a chef that makes some extraordinary dishes - something you'd find in a 5 star restaurant. I had pasta and my husband had lamb - it was truly magnificent - made from very fresh ingredients and vegetables. Lots of locals come to the pub. The main dining room was inviting with a view of the river. The hotel staff were so accomodating - although we were just passing through everyone wanted to make our experience a good one - and they knew we weren't staying there. Some very nice boutique shops with fine quality clothing and home accessories. If I ever visit Red Wing again, I'll be sure to make reservations at the St. James well in advance.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gatormom33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Good: My wife and I wanted a night away from the twin cities. We ended up getting a wonderful corner room overlooking the main street of Red Wing. The room was awesome and having read the reviews, we knew this was a historic structure without all the modern sound proofing technology and prepared accordingly for any street or train noise.
The not so good: we arrived at 2:00 and were aware of the 4:00 check-in, but we were tired and decided to try checking in anyway. At 2:00, all 3 of the couples that were in front of us got their room keys, we were told our room was not ready yet. At 4:00, all those in line before us got their room keys, we were told our room was still not ready. After finally getting our room key, we decided to go to Jimmy's on the 5th floor to relax and unwind. Wonderful bar and atmosphere... but service was beyond horrible!!! There were at least a half dozen of us in line for drinks and after standing in line for 15 minutes, I pulled out my cell phone, called the front desk, and told them to send some help up here... the bar tender was overwhelmed and the patrons were most unhappy. 25 minutes after arriving at Jimmy's, I was finally served. Horrible, horrible, service... inexcusable to have only a bartender and no wait staff scheduled on a Saturday evening... so much for our relaxing and unwinding time at Jimmy's.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prior Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

matresses are horrible. had to get up and go to target to get icy cold patches. trains run by every few minutes- no sleep.room was dirty, no bath salts e.g. as advertised, 100$ diner in room had to be eaten on a 12 by 16 coffee table. prices advertised for food and the real prices were completly different.so was the menu. thanks for a nice weekend which was my engagement weekend. now i am back with pain in my back, sleep deprieved and many hundreds off dollars out for something that i could have gotten at a motel 6. this hotel is not worth going there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Dean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stjamesrw, Manager at St. James Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
It is unfortunate your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We are puzzled by your review - as you know, we had attempted to accommodate your many needs on multiple occasions throughout your two night stay.

We were shocked to receive a complaint about our mattresses. Our mattresses and sheets are one of the best combinations available in the industry and are better than what is found in many 5 Star properties.

The mattresses are the best hotel mattresses made by Sealy – the Posturepedic Monogram 800 Ultra Plush Euro Pillowtop and are less than one year old. Our entire hotel has been upgraded to Sealy Monogram mattresses within the last 12 months and we have had many compliments on this very expensive change.

Our top of the line mattresses are fitted with one of the best sheet sets in the industry - Comphy Sheets. These are high end sheets found at many 5-Star properties. They provide the feel of 600 thread count cotton while also being eco friendly and saving energy in the laundry process. We are consistently fielding inquires from previous guests wanting to purchase both our sheets and our mattresses.

Regarding the trains, only a small number of our rooms face the river (and the trains). You were given the option of changing rooms before your second night but declined this option.

You were hand delivered a current menu with accurate pricing prior to placing your order for room service so we do not understand how there could be confusion with any of the pricing.

Unfortunately due to events during and since your stay it has become apparent that it would be in the best interest of all parties involved if you did not return to the St. James Hotel. We do not come to this decision easily and do wish you well in future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayzata
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

For our anniversary I surprised my wife with a night at the historic St James Hotel. We had a jacuzzi suite and at my request they had a chilled bottle of champagne waiting in our room upon arrival. We had dinner on the outdoor terrace overlooking the Mississippi and Red Wing harbor and the historic train depot. After a walk along the river we returned to Jimmy's Pub on the fifth floor of the hotel and enjoyed a night cap. Before checking out we returned to the outdoor terrace for breakfast. Throughout our stay we had excellent and friendly service. We would highly recommend the St James for a romantic get away. In fact I am writing this review during our return trip to the hotel the following month.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GumpWayzata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk River
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This was our first time we stayed at the St. James, we were celebrating our 38th wedding anniversary. We had a Sweet Jack coupon deal for $99 a night plus free breakfast. The room was nice, not real fancy, but comfortable and very quiet. Never heard the trains. Nice location for shopping and walking to see the sites. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peggy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada City, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

This is an historic hotel which is fully modern and comfortable yet still retains the splendor of an old magnificent mansion. They have retained the original lobby, dining room and library as an exhibit or quiet place to sit and reflect while the current modern adjacent facility functions quite well. The room we stayed in was spacious and comfortable, the internet worked well and easily, and the services were fine. A choice of restaurants and shops is available. For bikers using the beautiful Cannon Falls Trail, the hotel provides a secure storage area for the bikes.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank don s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Red Wing
3.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rivertown Inn & Suites
0.9 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Red Wing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Nichols Inn Red Wing
Nichols Inn Red Wing
#5 of 9 in Red Wing
4.0 of 5 stars 82 reviews
1.3 mi away
Super 8 Red Wing
Super 8 Red Wing
#6 of 9 in Red Wing
3.5 of 5 stars 239 reviews
14.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Lake City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. James Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James Hotel

Property: St. James Hotel
Address: 406 Main Street, Red Wing, MN 55066
Location: United States > Minnesota > Red Wing
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Red Wing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. James Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are few places as gratifying as the St. James Hotel in Red Wing. From eagle watching to skiing, there’s plenty to do outside. Or if you prefer, there’s really no need to leave the building once you arrive. Fabulous restaurants, an intimate lounge, luxurious rooms and a pampering spa all await you. Book today and let us create a memorable experience for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your St. James Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St James Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing