We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Friendly staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of AmericInn Lodge & Suites Red Wing

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Red Wing
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Red Wing
Frederick, South Dakota, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Even though this is a typical chain motel, we were really impressed by the desk staff; Helpful, informative, friendly and thorough. The beds and pillows are excellent!
The location is near the old Red Wing Pottery factory and about a 5 minute drive to the downtown area. Breakfast was adequate. Pool was indoor and nice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    32
    18
    4
    7
See reviews for
38
40
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, MN
Level Contributor
145 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

My family (wife, 2 yr old, baby, and I) spent one night recently at this property. Price was $94 + tax which was a bit high for this motel. Hotel looks a little run down from the outside, but was clean on the inside, both our room, the lobby area, and the pool area. Staff was friendly at check in and out. Rooms are a tad dated and the bathroom is really small (toilet couple inches from the tub AND the bathroom door). Light over the sink did not work well. Beds were average, worked for one night. Flat screen TV a plus. Breakfast the next morning was pretty good with the usual cont. selection. Nothing special, just a solid breakfast.

So overall, have to rate as average as this property was right down the middle. Nothing wrong with the stay, was quiet and clean, but the price was a little high for what you get.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdvoChampion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

Nice big room with a jacuzzi tub in the bedroom. Very comfortable bed. Two windows to get fresh air. Not far from a river park and an access point to the Cannon River Bike Trail. We have always had a good experience at AmericInns.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KerryNess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coon Rapids, Minnesota
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

This hotel was just average. Some of the rooms were being updated which is good and they looked nice, but not all were. Would have been nice to have updated room. Lobby needs updating. We were able to sit in lobby later in evening without any major problems as long as we were not too loud. The evening desk clerk was very accomadating and had wonderful customer service!!!! No prolems for us with reservations and check-in. Really Liked that they email and give you a reminder call with you reservation details and reminder of 48 hour cancelation policy. Friends had a room that was no smoking but had smoke coming into their room from another, not sure from vents or what. Overall it was an "okay" hotel. We were at the hotel for a baseball tourney.

Room Tip: ask for an updated room that faces the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2011

I stayed here one night during a recent stay in Red Wing . I drove into town with no reservations and while this motel was a little hard to find(off Highway 61 north /but no clear access point) it was a pleasant place to stay. They advertise their"quiet" rooms and they lived up that reputation.In addition, the room was spacious, clean and comfortable. They gave me a room at the back of the unit- away from the highway. They had a nice pool which I used-ample towels on site.

In the morning, the free breakfast was very nice; fresh fruit, cereal, waffles(although you had to go to a seperate room to cook them) bagels, English muffins, yogurt, juice. The breakfast area was clean and nicely furnished and it was one of the better "free breakfasts" I have encountered.

Upon checkout, I asked the desk clerk for some directions and she was very helpful and as I was doing some family geneological research, shared with me some of her Red Wing history. She was "small-town friendly" and gracious and this always helps.

The motel is located right next to two or three others(all chains) and I am sure they are similar. But the breakfast and the friendly help made this a nice place to stay.

Red Wing is a charming Mississippi river town- historic and quaint. Ate lunch at the St James Hotel and it was very nice. Toured the Red Wing Shoe museum and store and walked along the riverfront plaza.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from Highway 61- toward the back of the unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank booster1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2010

We had reserved a non smoking room, but were told on arrival that none were available. We thought a smoking room might be okay, but the smoke smell in the room was so strong we did not even go into the room. Location was also right on highway 61. The staff was courteous and let us cancel the rooms on the spot. They did attempt to book us into their sister hotel next door, but were unsuccessful. We found another hotel that was much better for us. If you are a non smoker, you should call in advance to confirm you have a non smoking room. Just because you requested it does not mean you have it.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SLPTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2007

We are from town, but wanted something for the kids to do during a recent snow storm. The staff was wonderful! The kids spent all day in the pool and just had a blast. In the morning we had a great complimentary breakfast that included waffles! What a great plus! We will definately recommend the AmericInn to our friends and family when they come to town! Thanks for a wonderful stay :)

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank rwgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Red Wing
2.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rivertown Inn & Suites
0.9 mi away
St. James Hotel
St. James Hotel
#1 of 9 in Red Wing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Nichols Inn Red Wing
Nichols Inn Red Wing
#5 of 9 in Red Wing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.5 mi away
Super 8 Red Wing
Super 8 Red Wing
#6 of 9 in Red Wing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
15.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Lake City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Lodge & Suites Red Wing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Lodge & Suites Red Wing

Property: AmericInn Lodge & Suites Red Wing
Address: 1819 Old West Main St, Red Wing, MN 55066-2092
Location: United States > Minnesota > Red Wing
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Red Wing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmericInn Lodge & Suites Red Wing 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your AmericInn Lodge & Suites Red Wing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing