We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A complete nightmare!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Moondance Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Red Wing
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Moondance Inn
Ranked #4 of 6 Red Wing B&B and Inns
Hopkins, MInnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A complete nightmare!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2006

What started out as a romantic getaway turned into a nightmare away from home. The atmosphere was fine - nice old house. When we went to our room, we found long hairs in the bathroom. Ok...fine we ignored it and just cleaned it up. After having dinner out, we went back to our room and it wasn't until bedtime that we realized we weren't going to get a good nights sleep. The bed had a large dip in the middle, so my husband and I kept rolling into the dip(it was like falling into a hole), the pillows were flat(not plush at all) and then there constant noise from trains all night. For $200.00 a night, you would expect something more than what we got. We decided to get up and leave to drive home at 1:15 am after it was clear we would not get any sleep. In all the years of traveling, we have never left in the middle of the night. That's how awful it was for us.

The worse was yet to come! When I called to see if there could be any resolution with the owners. I was accused of being rude to the staff(I had hardly talked to the staff other than to get restaurant suggestions) and one of them hung up on me before I could tell her about our experience. It was the strangest encounter I have ever had. There was zero interest in learning more and/or providing customer service to unhappy customers. We were told that it was us and nothing they had done. They were going to refund even a portion of our stay and if we called again (we had called and only left 1 message), they would call the police. Again, the strangest experience we have ever had in all our travels. I would NOT suggest THE MOONDANCE INN, RED WING, MINNESOTA.

Helpful?
8 Thank poptarts1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbmmcw2, owners at Moondance Inn, responded to this review, August 16, 2006
Statements made in this review simply are not true. In 7 years of business we have never encountered this level of hostility.

Upon check-in, these guests, like all guests, were shown the house telephone with our number posted on it (also posted in every guest room), told to call at any time, even the middle of the night. This customer made no attempt to contact us at any time during their stay. We were not allowed an opportunity to respond to their issues; they left in the middle of the night, leaving only a note.

We called in an attempt to communicate; the customer was hostile and used extensive profanity. We asked them to stop swearing at us, they would not, and we hung up. They immediately called back; we did not answer. They called again and left a voice mail in which they swore at us. (We saved this voice mail.) The Better Business Bureau of Minnesota tried to mediate this situation. We offered a 50% refund; they did not accept our offer. We then offered a 100% refund, they did not even respond.

Thousands of guests have stayed at our B&B and thoroughly enjoyed themselves; we have also won numerous (non-solicited) awards. Guests have complimented us on the cleanliness of our inn, the quality of our beds, the quality of our pillows, and the quality of our customer service. Many guests are return customers who year after year choose the exact room these folks stayed in. The Moondance is located over ½ mile from the train line. No guest has ever left due to train noise in 7 years.

We are attentive to our guests. If there is an issue we resolve it, on the spot, to our customer’s satisfaction. Fortunately there have been few issues and in each instance our customer has let us know about their needs while still staying with us so that we could take care of them.

Mikel Waulk & Chris Brown Mahoney
Owners of the Moondance Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    13
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
7
96
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2006

The host/hostess are very friendly but never hovering. Their Puli dogs love to show off how cute they are. The rooms are romantic - a reviewer listed no tv as a con. If you're staying in a place like this, you shouldn't be in the mood for tv! And there is one available in the library. Very tasty breakfast using locally grown, organic foods - wonderful flavors . Close to downtown Red Wing. Lots to do in town, shopping, biking, hiking, boating, music, plays. Great restaurant, Norton's, nearby. Only a very minor negative: Early in the morning, a very loud (inebriated?) guest couple was taking a long time trying to get to their room and the noise woke us up. My very shy husband did not like the community breakfast table - eating with strangers. But, I being a social butterfly, loved it!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4familytime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2004

Great Bed & Breakfast! Beautifully restored old (1874) house with lots of antiques and comfortable rooms and beds. Excellent gourmet breakfast with delicious alternatives for those with special dietary needs

Helpful?
2 Thank Bob_and_Pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Red Wing hotels
0.5 mi away
St. James Hotel
St. James Hotel
#1 of 9 in Red Wing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
3.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rivertown Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Red Wing
1.0 mi away
Super 8 Red Wing
Super 8 Red Wing
#6 of 9 in Red Wing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nichols Inn Red Wing
Nichols Inn Red Wing
#5 of 9 in Red Wing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moondance Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moondance Inn

Property: Moondance Inn
Address: 1105 W 4th St, Red Wing, MN 55066-2423
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Red Wing
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Red Wing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only an hour's drive from Minneapolis and St. Paul the Moondance Inn is a magnificent five bed room bed & breakfast. Located with in walking distance to downtown dining and shopping makes our location perfect for exploring Red Wing Minnesota. Prices range from $125 to $199 a night and there are numerous walking trails along the Mississippi river. Downhill skiing, cross-country skiing, and golf are all within a 15-minute drive. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing