We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, Interesting, Delicious, Wonderful!”
Review of Moondance Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Red Wing
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Moondance Inn
Ranked #4 of 7 Red Wing B&B and Inns
Hudson, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing, Interesting, Delicious, Wonderful!”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

My husband and I celebrating our 1 year wedding anniversary here this past weekend. We stayed at the Moondance Inn, in the gypsy room. The decor in the house as a whole was awesome, interesting and one of a kind. The atmosphere of the entire place was also so relaxing. We had wine and appetizers with another couple staying there on Saturday night, and great front porch conversations with another on Monday morning. The beds were comfortable...extremely comfortable. The food was delicious...absolutely breathtaking, seriously. This is definitely the place to stay in Red Wing!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaye J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    14
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
7
98
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

My hubby and I had a wonderful time. Stayed in the King room and it was beautiful. Red Wing is charming. We planned on drinking too much at dinner downtown to drive home and the B&B was close enough to walk to from the restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dlgerber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2013

My wife and celebrated out anniversary here. Our room was perfect and the breakfast was excellent. I would recommend staying here you will not be disappointed!! The Inn keepers were very nice and many great stories about the history of the house and how they came to be the owners of such a beautiful house.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbmmcw2008, Owner at Moondance Inn, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dassel, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

VERY disappointed. Reception room/first floor is pretty but the decor of our room was tacky; garage sale quality furnishings and art. Garden Suite; bed is NOT a Queen (as stated on website) by todays standards. Full at best. Struggled to get comfortable; not enough room for a size 7 woman of 5'5 height and man of 5'11 height; size 40 R. (We are NOT big people.) We both attempted to sleep on our sides. Garden suite overlooks courtyard. Unpleasantly awakened at six am by the proprietors dog yapping in the courtyard below. Dog did not desist in barking; continued to bark for two hours. Could hear the dog despite running window ac.

Breakfast: made the unfortunate decision to sit at a small side table. Discovered after sitting that it was a rickety vintage tv tray covered disguised by a table cloth! I had to sit at it sideways as I could not sit forward; no room for my legs as the folding metal supports did not allow for leg room unless by straddling the criss crossed metal legs which I could not do as I was wearing a skirt. As it was rickety and wobbled with any slight movement our coffee and juice kept spilling. Things went from bad to worse when food was served. Husband literally found glass sliver in his first course fruit cup! At this point we picked at the food which small in portions and unusual fare: steamed vegetables and ham slice topped with banana. Coffee, juice, blueberry muffin and strawberry shortcake were good.

We left tired,hungry and very annoyed that we wasted our money.

Room Tip: Inquire about exact size of bed before booking room. Avoid garden suite unless you plan to arise bef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbmmcw2008, Owner at Moondance Inn, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
We are sorry your stay was disappointing. Our beds are, in fact, queen size. The mattress, box springs, and memory foam top are all queen size. We do have a new puppy that lives with us in the carriage house. We will ensure that his barking is kept to a minimum (we do not allow our dog to bark for two hours or even 15 minutes at a time). We are not in the habit of serving broken glass in our food. I apologize for this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Each year we stay at a Bed and Breakfast for our Anniversary, this year was in Red Wing and came across the Moondance Inn with great reviews on bedandbreakfast.com. The reviews proved to be true. The Home is beautiful, the Plum painted front porch was brighter in person than the pictures showed. The willow porch furniture was comfortable and relaxing to lounge with the morning coffee. The home furnishings were beautiful, had a nice wine and appetizer hour. The Garden Suite room was beautiful and comfortable. The breakfast was definately a highlight - started with fresh fruit, than warm chocolate chip banana break, a "fancy pancake" w/ brown sugar sauteed peaches and glazed ham steak, followed by a fresh strawberry shortcake with heavy whipping cream! The dining room plastic table clothes with bright flowers was not in line with the decor of the B&B. The garden had a large portion "under construction" so didn't have the full impact. Coffee wasn't served until 8:00 am. I would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbmmcw2008, Owner at Moondance Inn, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Lake, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We had a strange schedule to be using a B&B but wanted something more memorable than just a motel. An early morning appointment kept us from the Breakfast part of the stay, but the Bed portion was wonderful. The decorating of the home was exactly as it should have been for this house, the amenities in the room were perfect, and we enjoyed our abbreviated stay. What will bring us back to this home however, was the graciousness of the hosting couple who took the time out of their day to chat with us regarding the home and their unusual Puli dogs. Those minutes alone were worth the price of admission and have guaranteed our return. Our sincere thanks to Mike and his wife for their consideration.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vtxdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coon Rapids, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2013

On our visit to Red wing we stayed at two different B&B's both Victorian homes and décor. The Moondance Inn had more of a modem twist to it's décor and it's ambiance without leaving it's Victorian roots . This B&B has nice rooms. I noticed that they fill fast. We had the last room available. Would've like to have seen the other rooms. Owner was very accommodating. Very comfortable bed, nice tub in the room. I can not say the same for the other B&B we stayed at. The bed was ROCK HARD. Cd collection available for use in rooms. I do recommend this B&B while staying in the Red Wing area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Red Wing hotels
0.5 mi away
St. James Hotel
St. James Hotel
#1 of 9 in Red Wing
323 reviews
0.9 mi away
No photo provided
3.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
No photo provided
1.0 mi away
Super 8 Red Wing
Super 8 Red Wing
#6 of 9 in Red Wing
344 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nichols Inn Red Wing
Nichols Inn Red Wing
#4 of 9 in Red Wing
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moondance Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moondance Inn

Property: Moondance Inn
Address: 1105 W 4th St, Red Wing, MN 55066-2423
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Red Wing
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Red Wing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only an hour's drive from Minneapolis and St. Paul the Moondance Inn is a magnificent five bed room bed & breakfast. Located with in walking distance to downtown dining and shopping makes our location perfect for exploring Red Wing Minnesota. Prices range from $125 to $199 a night and there are numerous walking trails along the Mississippi river. Downhill skiing, cross-country skiing, and golf are all within a 15-minute drive. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing