We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Moondance Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Red Wing
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Moondance Inn
Ranked #4 of 6 Red Wing B&B and Inns
Burnsville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

My wife and celebrated out anniversary here. Our room was perfect and the breakfast was excellent. I would recommend staying here you will not be disappointed!! The Inn keepers were very nice and many great stories about the history of the house and how they came to be the owners of such a beautiful house.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbmmcw2008, Owner at Moondance Inn, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    13
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
7
96
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dassel, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

VERY disappointed. Reception room/first floor is pretty but the decor of our room was tacky; garage sale quality furnishings and art. Garden Suite; bed is NOT a Queen (as stated on website) by todays standards. Full at best. Struggled to get comfortable; not enough room for a size 7 woman of 5'5 height and man of 5'11 height; size 40 R. (We are NOT big people.) We both attempted to sleep on our sides. Garden suite overlooks courtyard. Unpleasantly awakened at six am by the proprietors dog yapping in the courtyard below. Dog did not desist in barking; continued to bark for two hours. Could hear the dog despite running window ac.

Breakfast: made the unfortunate decision to sit at a small side table. Discovered after sitting that it was a rickety vintage tv tray covered disguised by a table cloth! I had to sit at it sideways as I could not sit forward; no room for my legs as the folding metal supports did not allow for leg room unless by straddling the criss crossed metal legs which I could not do as I was wearing a skirt. As it was rickety and wobbled with any slight movement our coffee and juice kept spilling. Things went from bad to worse when food was served. Husband literally found glass sliver in his first course fruit cup! At this point we picked at the food which small in portions and unusual fare: steamed vegetables and ham slice topped with banana. Coffee, juice, blueberry muffin and strawberry shortcake were good.

We left tired,hungry and very annoyed that we wasted our money.

Room Tip: Inquire about exact size of bed before booking room. Avoid garden suite unless you plan to arise bef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbmmcw2008, Owner at Moondance Inn, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
We are sorry your stay was disappointing. Our beds are, in fact, queen size. The mattress, box springs, and memory foam top are all queen size. We do have a new puppy that lives with us in the carriage house. We will ensure that his barking is kept to a minimum (we do not allow our dog to bark for two hours or even 15 minutes at a time). We are not in the habit of serving broken glass in our food. I apologize for this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Each year we stay at a Bed and Breakfast for our Anniversary, this year was in Red Wing and came across the Moondance Inn with great reviews on bedandbreakfast.com. The reviews proved to be true. The Home is beautiful, the Plum painted front porch was brighter in person than the pictures showed. The willow porch furniture was comfortable and relaxing to lounge with the morning coffee. The home furnishings were beautiful, had a nice wine and appetizer hour. The Garden Suite room was beautiful and comfortable. The breakfast was definately a highlight - started with fresh fruit, than warm chocolate chip banana break, a "fancy pancake" w/ brown sugar sauteed peaches and glazed ham steak, followed by a fresh strawberry shortcake with heavy whipping cream! The dining room plastic table clothes with bright flowers was not in line with the decor of the B&B. The garden had a large portion "under construction" so didn't have the full impact. Coffee wasn't served until 8:00 am. I would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbmmcw2008, Owner at Moondance Inn, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We had a strange schedule to be using a B&B but wanted something more memorable than just a motel. An early morning appointment kept us from the Breakfast part of the stay, but the Bed portion was wonderful. The decorating of the home was exactly as it should have been for this house, the amenities in the room were perfect, and we enjoyed our abbreviated stay. What will bring us back to this home however, was the graciousness of the hosting couple who took the time out of their day to chat with us regarding the home and their unusual Puli dogs. Those minutes alone were worth the price of admission and have guaranteed our return. Our sincere thanks to Mike and his wife for their consideration.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vtxdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coon Rapids, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

On our visit to Red wing we stayed at two different B&B's both Victorian homes and décor. The Moondance Inn had more of a modem twist to it's décor and it's ambiance without leaving it's Victorian roots . This B&B has nice rooms. I noticed that they fill fast. We had the last room available. Would've like to have seen the other rooms. Owner was very accommodating. Very comfortable bed, nice tub in the room. I can not say the same for the other B&B we stayed at. The bed was ROCK HARD. Cd collection available for use in rooms. I do recommend this B&B while staying in the Red Wing area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is a lovingly preserved and beautiful house. The front porch is fabulous. Downtown with its several quaint shops and good restaurants is only a few blocks away, and in nice weather it is a pleasant stroll through a lovely old neighborhood fill with charming homes. If you're a cyclist, the Cannon River Trail ends/starts in Red Wing. It is quite scenic.

Room Tip: Consider eating at one of the restaurants in the historic St. James Hotel downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ftmeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waconia, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed at the Moondance Inn for my husband's birthday. We really enjoyed our stay. The room was lovely and very clean. Our host Mike was very congenial, answering our many questions about their house, their Puli dogs, as well as giving us tips on good restaurants, and things to do in Red Wing. Offered garage storage for our bikes, too. Plus, he made a delicious breakfast for us on Sun. a.m. We also enjoyed the wine and cheese set out for us Sat. afternoon. Nice touch! We spent a lot of time on their comfy front porch visiting. The upstairs community room would be a super place for a family reunion, etc. Definitely check out this B&B for a wonderful place to stay in Red Wing!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbmmcw2008, Owner at Moondance Inn, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you. It was very nice meeting both of you. We're glad that you stay met your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Red Wing hotels
0.5 mi away
St. James Hotel
St. James Hotel
#1 of 9 in Red Wing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
3.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rivertown Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Red Wing
1.0 mi away
Super 8 Red Wing
Super 8 Red Wing
#6 of 9 in Red Wing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nichols Inn Red Wing
Nichols Inn Red Wing
#5 of 9 in Red Wing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moondance Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moondance Inn

Property: Moondance Inn
Address: 1105 W 4th St, Red Wing, MN 55066-2423
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Red Wing
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Red Wing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only an hour's drive from Minneapolis and St. Paul the Moondance Inn is a magnificent five bed room bed & breakfast. Located with in walking distance to downtown dining and shopping makes our location perfect for exploring Red Wing Minnesota. Prices range from $125 to $199 a night and there are numerous walking trails along the Mississippi river. Downhill skiing, cross-country skiing, and golf are all within a 15-minute drive. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing