We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adorable B&B”
Review of Moondance Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Red Wing
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Moondance Inn
Ranked #4 of 7 Red Wing B&B and Inns
Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Adorable B&B”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Our visit was great. This B&B was charming and peaceful. The wine that was put out at 5pm was still out when we returned from dinner at 9 or so (the white still chilled), and we were able to grab another glass! The breakfast was delightful and they easily provided veggie sausages (better than we've ever made them, and we love to cook!) for us (we told them veggie the night before). The front porch is awesome and we loved sitting out there with our wine before leaving for dinner and our coffee the next morning. I can imagine the upstairs (attic) common space would be awesome with hot tea on a snowy winter afternoon! We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    13
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
7
96
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fergus Falls, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We had a wonderful time during our stay at the Moondance Inn Thursday afternoon and evening on Aug. 2, and Friday morning, Aug. 3......a wonderful lodging facility and an easy walk to the many places to see in downtown Red Wing....we look forward to a return trip.....Tom and Sharon Hintgen, Fergus Falls, Minn.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas_H43066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Mike and Chris run a wonderful B&B in a beautifully crafted 150 year old home. the wood work and ceilings are old world charming. Beds were comfortable, rooms were decorated according to the time period but in bright colors so fresh feel to them...not drab. The owners just purchased brand new big towels, and coffee mugs while we were there. Gardener was trimming plants. Lots of details, from antique serving dishes, owners own blend of coffee, to purple moon shaped soap.

Iced coffee or wine with hor derves served at five on time each day. One of a kind scrumptious breakfasts were served on time each morning at nine. You can sip on coffee or tea if you arrive for breakfast a little early.

I enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere of check in and check out. Housekeeper gave us a quick tour and a key. She was very friendly. I enjoyed visiting with the owners Mike and chris during our stay. We even enjoyed playing ball with your dog. Made us feel like home.
I would come back again and recommend it to anyone thinking about a B&B experience.

Lori

Room Tip: take a boat tour on Rusty's on the River. Great for eagle watching.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

This was our second stay at Moondance, and we were just as thrilled this time as we were the first time three years ago. Chris and Mike are welcoming, attentive and very friendly hosts--they take great care to create a warm and relaxing atmosphere at Moondance--it really is a home away from home. The rooms are beautiful, nicely-appointed and very clean. The Inn is quiet, even when full (as it was last weekend when we were there). The breakfast is outstanding--they were gracious about accomodating our gluten-free dietary requirements, and created delicious options that left us more than satisfied and fortified to take on our days. The location is convenient to downtown Red Wing and Chris and Mike are very knowledgeable about events/attractions...we always take them up on their suggestions. We highly recommend Moondance and are already looking forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: The Bluffview is on the smaller side, but perfect for a couple. We chose this room again because it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkdurbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

This place will forever have a place in our hearts, both for it's charm and that we got engaged during our stay!

I wasn't impressed with the initial arrival and welcome process. The shrubs were being groomed out front, and the holiday garland was still up during our summer stay, and our tour was very casually given by a young girl who was also in charge of cleaning the rooms; it wasn't a polished performance.

However, our room was beautiful, clean and had interested antiques. The bathroom was spacious in the King Room and the deep soaking tub was delightful. Make sure you bring your own shampoo and conditioner; they only provide body soap. We slept comfortably on the luxurious 4-poster king sized bed. Their wine hour was a nice touch to start our evening.

Breakfast with the other couples was relaxing the next day with coffee, juice, and homemade breakfast. Our reservation didn't include my food allergy, but they quickly customized my meal and brought out an omelette featuring fresh herbs from the garden.

Charming little place. I wouldn't spend a lot on your room rate and expect a top of the line B & B, but it was a comfortable and perfect getaway that ended in the best way possible.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BunnyMpls33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We have stayed at many very nice B&B's during our 30 years of marriage and this one was immediately disappointing. The grounds aren't kept up, there isn't a lot of charm anywhere, the towels are worn out, there are no nice touches anywhere, and if you get a peek in the kitchen area, you might even wonder if anyone works there. Teenagers in gym shorts showed us around and breakfast was below average. I wondered what was going on until I saw the 'for sale' flyer on the brochure. I think the owners have already 'checked out.' We won't be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 123CasualTraveler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

While the old historic home was very cool, the service and details were lacking. The bedding was not fresh looking, and the blanket was old and stained. The pillows were old and flat.
We awoke Sunday morning, came down for breakfast to discover the coffee had still not been put out (30 minutes late). They did have nice fast WIFI, and two friendly dogs. Overall it was"fine", but not a memorable stay

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurelbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Red Wing hotels
0.5 mi away
St. James Hotel
St. James Hotel
#1 of 9 in Red Wing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
3.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing
0.9 mi away
Best Western Rivertown Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Red Wing
1.0 mi away
Super 8 Red Wing
Super 8 Red Wing
#6 of 9 in Red Wing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nichols Inn Red Wing
Nichols Inn Red Wing
#5 of 9 in Red Wing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moondance Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moondance Inn

Property: Moondance Inn
Address: 1105 W 4th St, Red Wing, MN 55066-2423
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Red Wing
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Red Wing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only an hour's drive from Minneapolis and St. Paul the Moondance Inn is a magnificent five bed room bed & breakfast. Located with in walking distance to downtown dining and shopping makes our location perfect for exploring Red Wing Minnesota. Prices range from $125 to $199 a night and there are numerous walking trails along the Mississippi river. Downhill skiing, cross-country skiing, and golf are all within a 15-minute drive. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing