We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful”
Review of Moondance Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Red Wing
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Moondance Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Red Wing B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 29, 2012

This was our second time back to the Moondance and each time it truly is a treat! The house is fantastic. Gorgeous and intimate, yet comfortable and casual . Chris & Mike are wonderful hosts and instantly make you feel at home. Each room has a very distinct character, with unique appointments and lots of nice little touches. Be sure to make some time to enjoy the large whirlpool tubs in each room, and then relax on the porch with a glass of wine afterwards. With great food, a stellar staff, and an atmosphere that just says "relax", it is a wonderful getaway, especially being so close to the Twin Cities. Highly recommended!!

Room Tip: The King's Room has the largest bed, but the Garden room is the most secluded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ross R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbmmcw2008, Owner at Moondance Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2012

Thank you for staying with us. It is always nice for Chris and I to see familiar faces and it means alot to our business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 132 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2012

I probably wouldn't enjoy staying at any B&B if it meant sharing the house and a sit-down breakfast with strangers, but our group of friends like to rent all the Moondance Inn rooms together for a night and it is one of the most fabulous experiences we have together each year. The house is amazingly beautiful and getting to spend a long evening having drinks, dinner, playing games, chatting by the fire, etc. and then also getting to retreat with your loved one to a beautiful and romantic room at the end of the night is a fantastic getaway. I strongly recommend this house as a retreat for friends (or family) who want to spend some quality time together in an amazing atmosphere. You get the added benefit of delicious food, friendly and accommodating hosts, and learning some rich history about the house and time period it is from.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MS B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbmmcw2008, Owner at Moondance Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2012

Thank you for your kind review. Chris and I are glad you had a chance to share a good time with your friends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We loved staying at the Moondance Inn. It was fun roaming through the public areas of the house. There is so much too look at and so many cool chairs to sit in. Our room was remarkably quiet, the bed surprisingly comfortable, the room temperature comfortable, and the whirlpool tub delightful. Amenities like thick towels and robes are a plus for us.

Breakfast was excellent, and it's a treat to have any meal served. I was delighted to hear that we could request recipe's via email.

For the Garden Suite, I would recommend softer lighting in the whirlpool room such as a lamp on the dresser. It would also have been more functional to have a reading lamp and side table in the bedroom by the two chairs to read or play cards. It would also have been nice to have one more bar of soap so we had one by bathroom sink and one to use in the whirlpool; although, I must say I really liked the glycerine soap you provided.

Thank you for a delightful stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

My wife and I wanted a quick get-away and decided on Red Wing. Mike at Moondance convinced me he could accommodate a vegan diet and he really came through. Our room was great, the whirlpool excellent, and an uncommon touch for a classic B&B was a large t
TV tucked away in the huge attic great room hat allowed us to keep up with our favorite TV show.

Mike recommended Memorial Park for a great view of Red Wing and the Barn Bluff and we were certainly not disappointed.

Great value and a great time!.

Room Tip: we toured the house and would have been very pleased with any of the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chuck m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

We had a 5 Star experience at the Moondance. The home itself is lovely, impeccably clean, and beautifully appointed. The guest rooms are equally attractive, and we all got a great night's sleep. Our hosts were perfectly charming, and Mike, in addition to holding a wealth of information about the history of the home, is a fantastic cook! They catered to our every need, and made us feel like royalty. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Recently the management team of our company had it's annual business planning retreat at the Moondance Inn. The facilities were excellent. We had 5 people stay in the main house and 2 others stayed at the guest house. Everyone enjoyed the accomodations and the food was great. During our 2 day stay we were served breakfast and lunch. The staff also provided pastries during the morning break and cookies and snacks during the afternoon. As a company we have tried several other sites to have this retreat but until now did not that was able to meet all our requirements. When we plan our next retreat we will be staying at the Moondance again.

Peter J Rohde
CFO
Howry Residential Services

Room Tip: All the rooms were uniques and had a jacuzzi tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We were so excited to stay at the Moon Dance Inn's House next door but were sorely disappointed when we saw the condition of the house. Large cob webs hung from the ceilings and there was an enormous amount of dust and dead bugs under the beds upstairs visible when you come up the steps. The floors were not clean but sticky in the kitchen and upstairs bathroom and we had problems with a water leak on the bathroom floor. We also do a lot of cooking and the pots and pans were in bad shape with the Teflon pealing. We used the grill and tried to clean it but there was nothing to scrape the grime off and were accused of smoking in the house because they could smell smoke. When I lit the grill the smell of lighter fluid came into our upstairs bedroom heavily as well at the smoke from the grill as the window air conditioner was not put in the window to fit properly. They air conditioning consisted of each upstairs bedroom having a small air conditioner and having to leave it on high so the air could go down the stairs to cool the downstairs part of the house. The furniture was terrible and very uncomfortable for any one to sit on, we all had back aches and neck problems when we left. There was no WIFI available nor was there any cable or local T.V. only DVD. The railing on the back was very loose and the steps steep and any one with a handicap condition would never be able to make the stairs.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Carolyn60352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbmmcw2008, Owner at Moondance Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2011

The property in this review is not the Moondance Inn Bed and Breakfast. It is also not the Moondance Inn's House Next Door. It is a vaction rental property called the Guesthouse Next Door. Customers at the Guesthouse do not have access to the Moondance Inn and vice versa. The vacation rental property is a low cost, clean, house that is at a different physical address from the Moondance Inn which is an elegant B&B.

The 4 upstairs window air conditioners have kept the entire Guesthouse comfortable for 7 years. Nothing has changed with the AC units including the installation. Smoke from the grill, wrapping around the home from the back deck to a second floor window and infiltrating the entire home has never happened before or since and yet the house smelled of smoke. Coincidence?

This review of the Guesthouse Next Door should appear with reviews for Vacation Rental Properties and not for Bed and Breakfasts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Red Wing hotels
0.5 mi away
St. James Hotel, Est. 1875
0.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Red Wing
3.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Red Wing, MN
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Nichols Inn Red Wing
Nichols Inn Red Wing
#5 of 9 in Red Wing
98 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Rivertown Inn & Suites
1 mi away
Super 8 Red Wing
Super 8 Red Wing
#6 of 9 in Red Wing
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moondance Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moondance Inn

Address: 1105 W 4th St, Red Wing, MN 55066-2423
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Red Wing
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Red Wing
Price Range: $125 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only an hour's drive from Minneapolis and St. Paul the Moondance Inn is a magnificent five bed room bed & breakfast. Located with in walking distance to downtown dining and shopping makes our location perfect for exploring Red Wing Minnesota. Prices range from $125 to $199 a night and there are numerous walking trails along the Mississippi river. Downhill skiing, cross-country skiing, and golf are all within a 15-minute drive. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing