We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Outdoor Dining”
Review of Veranda Restaurant

Veranda Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Veranda Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 53 Restaurants in Red Wing
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
154 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Nice Outdoor Dining”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We ate here outside the first evening of our stay in town. Both of us had a salad which was good. We enjoyed a couple of glasses of wine too. Overall it was a nice experience but I can't speak to the rest of the food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank plan2gosoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    35
    17
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chanhassen, Minnesota
Level Contributor
194 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Nice lunch on patio”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

On a Sunday, we biked to Red Wing on a nice trail that follows the Cannon River - a very popular activity..
We pedalled into town and had lunch at the St. James Hotel Veranda Restaurant - on the patio on a beautiful afternoon. There doesn't seem to be a lot of competition that we found for outside lunch in Red Wing.
Had to wait maybe 20 minutes for a table, as it was pretty busy on such a nice day. They seemed to be only sitting people at tables that had umbrellas, which meant they weren't using all the 2-person tables along the railing for some reason - maybe they lacked staff to service all tables?
There was a mix of people there - some staying at the hotel that were dressed up, others like us who had biked into town. A wedding couple was having their photos taken on the balcony overlooking the patio.
Service was just fine, got needed water right away, then our ice tea shortly after, which got refilled as needed.
I had a very good Reuben, my wife had the Turkey brie sandwitch which was fine. We both had the sweet potato fries, which I think were some of the tastiest I've had, even though they were just barely luke warm when we got them (I think the kitchen is a fair distance away from the patio). They had been pre-salted with large salt crystals - maybe sea salt? They were very good that way. Both sandwitches were around $10 each, and probably 2.50 for the ice teas - pretty typical.

We'd go there again on our next bike trip - was a nice experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank frozen-in-MN-US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk River
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Anniversary date”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

The food was good, service was kinda slow considering we were there on a Thursday night. The chocolate cake dessert was delicious!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Peggy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
74 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice patio”
Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

Had late lunch on the patio in late August. Salad and sandwiches were good but not gourmet by any means However neither were the prices! Limited view of the river but best in town.
Not much competition for resturants downtown

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank azls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottage Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Stopped for lunch recently and I must say the Turkey Brie sandwhich was one of the best sandwhiches I have ever had. Can't wait to go back and order it again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 40plus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Veranda Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Veranda Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing