We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“There must be someplace better.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Veranda Restaurant

Veranda Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 53 Restaurants in Red Wing
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Andover, Minnesota
Level Contributor
102 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“There must be someplace better.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Dined here on a Sunday evening because most other places were closed. Even so the place was almost deserted. The service was good. The server was knowledgeable. It was clean. The food was good but not great. However the salad greens were incredibly fresh, the homemade salad dressings were terrific and the asparagus was done to perfection. I ordered the pork and it was very tender but I didn't like the way it was seasoned. Also the pasta it came with had an off garlic flavored and there was way too much pasta for the dish. My husband ordered the steak. It too had odd seasoning and the blue cheese potatoes were way too strong. If another restaurant were open we'd chose to go there rather than return here. Too bad because the salad was really good. You can see the river but the view of it is a distant one and over buildings.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2Finediners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    35
    17
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fulda
Level Contributor
163 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Wonderful view, beautful hotel but just average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

They were not very busy the day we were there but they sure were not very speedy either. No big deal as we had all afternoon anyway but had I been just passing through or whatever I would have been crabby about it. Part of it is the poor waitresses have to walk a long way to the kitchen. We had just basic sandwich and salad and it was OK but no wow. The view is wonderful though. Watching the river traffic on a summer afternoon with a cold one is very relaxing! For the food they are over priced but for the package it's fair. I'm glad we went and would recommend it but I doubt we would go back.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay City, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fishing...not!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

Hey if you like walleye but don't like to fish? Try the walleye at the Veranda. It is the best!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Deanna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Awful!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

We were the only ones on the patio on a beautiful Saturday night, which is indicative of how this place has fallen. My gyro sandwich was tasteless ; the French fries came pre salted and were very greasy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HappytoSail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Wing, Minnesota
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely Cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2012

Very nice Sunday brunches. Pleasant surroundings with porch seating having views of the Mississippi. Excellent salads, good sandwiches and adequate service.

Helpful?
Thank Peggy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Veranda Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Veranda Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing