We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Okay”
Review of Falconer Vineyards

Falconer Vineyards
Ranked #8 of 28 things to do in Red Wing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We invite you to visit Falconer Vineyards at our picturesque location in Red Wing, Minnesota. Relax on our new deck and enjoy a glass of award winning wine while enjoying the view of our vineyard and surrounding bluffs. Also for your enjoyment are our delicious wood fired pizzas which are available during our tasting room hours. Visit our website for current hours and upcoming events. Cheers!
eau claire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just Okay”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We did not engage in the wine-tasting because there were too many people waiting at the counter with empty wine glasses. Perhaps a bit I'll-prepared for customers? Great view, though, and a fun little blues combo playing on the patio.,had we been able to enjoy the tasting, we wouldn't have ended up with a full glass of wine that we did not like but had to pay for anyway.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank EauClaireSophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    21
    6
    9
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Level Contributor
123 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“It's Time For Wine”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Falconer Vineyards & Winery has come a long way! In just two short years, they've transformed from a newbie vineyard with unrefined wines to a smooth operation that also features wood-fire grilled pizza, a spacious new patio overlooking the scenic vineyard, and a full range of red and white wines that are simply wonderful. Wine-tastings are professional and well-worth the $5 fee, discounts for half-case and full-case purchases are now offered. Beware the price-sheet you receive during your tasting, however; these per-bottle prices do not include tax. Glasses of wine are also sold for $5.50/glass, and you will get a nice size glass of wine for the price, that you can take with you to stroll about the beautiful property. This winery is family-friendly, too!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank A Marie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoffman Estates, Illinois
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wine tasting staff great. Pizza/deck staff horrible”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We went to try the wines and have the wood fired pizzas that we read on the reviews. The staff in the tasting area was great. We told her we preferred dry reds and she tailored our tasting to be closer to our preferences. After we purchased our wines we went in back to the deck. First, the view is beautiful, but that's where the positive review of the deck ends. We waited 15 minutes for the wait staff to greet us. We finally called to her as she was walking by to get her to acknowledge us. She took our order, brought our glasses of wine & disappeared. Twenty minutes later we called her back to our table and asked her how long until our pizzas would arrive. She came back a minute later and said 20 more minutes. We thought this was ridiculous and told her to cancel our order and bring us our bill. That took another 10 minutes. I am not a complainer (see all my other reviews) but this service was horrrible.

Helpful?
Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very nice winery”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

First of all ... don't trust your GPS - we were a good 10 miles away on the other side of town! Once we found the winery, we were glad we stuck to it. Very friendly young lady told us all about the wines and grapes while tasting. We enjoyed Chambourcin (sweeter red) the most. Highly recommend visiting during mealtime and getting a little pizza from the wood fired oven, they were excellent. Nice variety of gift items. Beautiful view from the deck. Even though it was extremely hot - with a big fan going it was pleasant.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Farmerswife658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful deck”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Three staff members standing behind the counter when we arrived did not bother to greet us and continued to talk among themselves. That did not start our visit very well, but a bottle of wine on the deck on a beautiful summer day helped to change the tone.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank pbogorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Falconer Vineyards also viewed

 

Been to Falconer Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing