We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I loved climbing the bluff”
Review of Barn Bluff

Barn Bluff
Ranked #2 of 28 things to do in Red Wing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A 350-foot cliff that was so named because of its resemblance to a barn.
Byron, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I loved climbing the bluff”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I used to live in Red Wing and spent many hours climbing and walking on the bluff. What a beautiful view over Red Wing and the river.

Helpful?
2 Thank Loren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    47
    6
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grey Eagle, Minnesota
Level Contributor
586 reviews
211 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 608 helpful votes
“HUGH BLUFF”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This is a hugh bluff right in downtown Red Wing, Mn. If we were more adventurous we might have tried to climb to the top. We were told that it is not impossible and I am sure every senior at the local high school has done it.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank minneapol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Wing, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great View of the River”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Great place to see Red Wing, and Wisconsin's Great Bluff Country. Come and get some exercise, you'll like the feeling and the view.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tilton D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Made it to the top”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

A hike definitely worth taking. The trail is well marked. A little steep at times and on the south trail there is a segment that contains almost 100 steps, but once you reach the top it is definitely worth it. On the west side you have wonderful views of Red Wing and the Mississippi River northward as well as views of the Wisconsin side of the river. Once on top, I would certainly recommend taking the Prairie trail to the east end of the bluff. From there you can see several miles south along the river and you can actually the north end of Lake Pepin. I would love to go back and hike this again in the fall as I can imagine the colors would be beautiful from the top.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Level Contributor
123 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great hike, amazing view”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Bring your camera and hiking boots, this is worth the exercise for an afternoon out. The view at the top is scenic and unique - you'll have a front row seat for watching not only eagles soar above the river valley, but also an unmatched view of the colorful fall canopy, if you make the trek at the peak of fall leaf color.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank A Marie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barn Bluff also viewed

 

Been to Barn Bluff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing