We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fall Weekend Get Away”
Review of Golden Lantern Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Red Wing
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Golden Lantern Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Red Wing B&B and Inns
Minneapolis
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fall Weekend Get Away”
Reviewed October 25, 2011

We had a very nice time at the Golden Lantern Inn. The house was beautiful and our room, Helen's Room, was great. It was a two room suite that had a bed and bathroom in one area and the other room was a sitting room with couch, chair, fireplace and tv. We spent the majority of our time in the sitting room and even enjoyed both of our breakfasts, which were very thought out and delicious, in there with the fire place on keeping us warm and cozy. The room also had a nice balcony to use if it would have been a little warmer out. They also had a great big backyard which also would have been great it we would have been there during a warmer time to use. It was nice to have a key to our room and the inn so we could come and go as we please. The library was also very helpful as we looked through some menus before deciding where to eat and borrowed some magazines to browse. We visited both the Falconer and Cannon River Wineries during our trip, both which were fun places to go. We got engaged during our weekend get away so this trip will always remain a special place in our hearts.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Budn0011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    35
    15
    6
    3
See reviews for
16
187
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2011

The Golden Lantern was wonderful! My wife and I chose the Golden Lantern as the first stop on hour weeklong honeymoon. After the stress of wedding planning this place was the perfect escape!

We stayed in the Hideaway suite. It was spacious and cozy. We arrived late in the evening and in our room we found fresh homemade cookies and champagne on ice (this was a wonderful unexpected touch). The bed was very big, inviting, and extremely comfortable. The next morning breakfast was amazing. We enjoyed our breakfast in the room on the table next to the window which opened up to the front yard. It was a Beautiful fall morning and a picturesque day outside.

The food was excellent. We stayed two nights and breakfast both mornings was delicious and satisfying.

The common areas were nice and there was a lot of room in the house to explore. The library has a large collection of menus from restaurants the area which was a nice touch since we had no idea where to eat. Our stay was short so we did not make much use of the common areas. We spent most of our time in our room. It was quiet and very enjoyable.

The grounds are Beautiful. The back yard was large and there was a patio with chairs around a large fire pit and a swinging bench to relax on. Sioux had the fire pre-built so we could start it when we wanted, we had already made other plans that evening, but it was nice to know we had that option.

The staff is very friendly and helpful.


I only have two complaints, but they are rather small issues.

The shower in our room was small so it felt a bit cramped when taking a shower. This room does have a very large jacuzzi, so I wasn't too surprised that the seperate shower was small. Most of the other rooms had quite spacious showers.

The wireless internet was very slow. It worked well enough to check email, but most websites with lots of content loaded very slowly. This didn't really have much of an impact on my opinion of the place overall, but I thought it was worth mentioning.


This was our first Bed and Breakfast experience and it was absolutley wonderful. We will be coming back again. We highly recommend the Golden Lantern! We want to thank Sioux for making our stay so fun and enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

This town is extremely boring. I feel that the B&B was over priced for the town of Red Wing. The room was nice, but had it's downfalls like the bedding needed updating and the bath towels were terribly worn. Since the town lacked entertainment, sitting and watching the little tv added to the list of negatives. Although we heard the microwave working non-stop, some of the food on our plates were cold. There are 3 large dogs on the grounds and I didn't think they ventured into the common area until I noticed dried doggy do do on the carpet. I'm heading to Duluth next time. Rooms cost less and you get a bigger breakfast and wine and cheese in the evening. Not to mention things to do all day and night!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LauraB13356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie, MN
1 review
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Twelve cousins got together in Red Wing for a Bike Trip on the Cannon Valley Trail. We stayed at the Golden Lantern Inn and everyone loved it and want to go back next September.
Sioux is a wonderful host and the accomodations are perfect. Our first night we made use of the outdoor fireplace and everyone also loved the Sun Porch.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We really enjoyed our 2 room suite and the outdoor patio. We had a fire and Sioux brought out the fixings for smores It was a perfect evening!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

This beautiful bed and breakfast was our home for, unfortunately, only one night. The house is absolutely beautiful and the owner, Sioux, is very hospitable and cordial. There is a fireplace out back, and as we enjoyed the evening by the fire, Sioux provided all the ingrediants for smores! Breakfast was delicious-we will be back!

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sharmaryes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2011

Historical home built in 1930's by owner of Red Wing Shoes. We stayed in JR'S Suite on second level. Double jacuzzi tub. Large room and bath. Comfortable bed and linens. Sioux, the owner was very kind and offered us lawn chairs to use if we wanted to go to the concert in the park. She prepared a wonderful breakfast which was served in the sunroom. It was fabulous! You could tell she loves what she has! The yard was beautiful and great for photos. Location of this B&B is good because it is within walking distance of a lovely, picturesque downtown. I plan to return in the fall.

Room Tip: If rooms are available she offers a same day discount booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plan2explore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Red Wing hotels
0.4 mi away
St. James Hotel
St. James Hotel
#1 of 9 in Red Wing
323 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Rivertown Inn & Suites
4.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Red Wing
1.6 mi away
Super 8 Red Wing
Super 8 Red Wing
#6 of 9 in Red Wing
344 reviews
1.1 mi away
Nichols Inn Red Wing
Nichols Inn Red Wing
#4 of 9 in Red Wing
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Lantern Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Lantern Inn

Property: Golden Lantern Inn
Address: 721 East Ave, Red Wing, MN 55066-3435
Location: United States > Minnesota > Red Wing
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Red Wing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 4 blocks from downtown, this Inn was built by the founders of Red Wing Shoes. House is adorn with great woodwork and features charm, elegance, serenity, and comfort. Spectacular gardens and grounds. Many packages, specials and choices of venues for breakfast. Highest rated Inn in Red Wing. Four of the five rooms are suites. Four have fireplaces, four have Jacuzzis all have private baths. Breakfast available in your room--the only Inn in Red Wing offering this feature. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing