We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lynette and Zig Gudrais are professional innkeepers: they do things right.”
Review of Candlelight Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Red Wing
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Candlelight Inn
Ranked #5 of 7 Red Wing B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 9, 2010

The mansion has been well adapted and well maintained. The innkeepers make each guest feel welcome. Food preparation and presentation were superb. Suggestions for activities in the local area were well thought out and delivered with knowledge. Building and grounds were under construction but presented minimal disruption. The innkeepers share their knowledge with others in the profession, helping them run good lodging and avoid burnout.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lschind36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 116 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2010

The breakfast was WONDERFUL, home very pretty and location perfect.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjporten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2010

I was a bit worried initially because the kitchen was being renovated and the owners seemed distracted, but all was well by the time we left because of the lovely breakfast we had and the really nice chat we had with Lynette. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2010

This B & B is accurately described at its website. It is located on a quiet residential street. My bedroom, which is at the side of the house, was perfectly quiet. The historic house is very well preserved and tastefully decorated. The breakfasts were culinary treats. The owners were pleasant and helpful. Very strongly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mountainvalleyview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2010

Great place - we'd stay again. The morning coffee and muffins in our room before breakfast was a very nice extra treat. The house itself is gorgeous with a great history. Very close in and convenient to downtown.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenBloomington_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2010

We planned a weekend in Red Wing months in advance and were looking so forward to our stay at the Candlelight Inn. From the moment we stepped in the place, we felt a chill. The place itself was charming with nice decor. The problem was the people who ran and worked at the Candlelight. After taking our money, they basically disappeared until the next day when a very late breakfast was served at 9:30 to 10 (we weren't asked when we wanted breakfast, but told). I had special dietary considerations which I told them ahead of time and when I asked for instant oatmeal instead of what was being served, I received a very cold response. I did get my oatmeal, but after the response, it was hard to eat it. And we skipped breakfast the next day at the Inn because it wasn't worth the hassle. When we got back in the afternoon at 3:30, our rooms were not completely cleaned (my cousin's and her husband's wasn't cleaned at all). When you go to a B & B you expect some warmth and service. We have stayed at many B & B's throughout the US and Europe and we generally love them. The Candlelight despite its name had no warmth, they just wanted your money.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MarScott_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2010

This was our first time staying at a B&B and we were glad we decided to try the Candlelight Inn. Our hosts were gracious, the inn was amazing and the food delicious. Our next trip to Red Wing will definitely include staying at the Candlelight Inn.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cidx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Red Wing hotels
1.0 mi away
Best Western Rivertown Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
St. James Hotel
St. James Hotel
#1 of 9 in Red Wing
352 reviews
3.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Red Wing
0.7 mi away
Nichols Inn Red Wing
Nichols Inn Red Wing
#4 of 9 in Red Wing
98 reviews
1.1 mi away
Super 8 Red Wing
Super 8 Red Wing
#7 of 9 in Red Wing
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlelight Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlelight Inn

Address: 818 W 3rd St, Red Wing, MN 55066-2205
Location: United States > Minnesota > Red Wing
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Red Wing
Price Range: $109 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five enchanting bedrooms, all with private baths and fireplaces, some with whirlpools. Victorian antiques, stained glass windows and Quezal light fixtures complete the authentic look of the home. Minnesota Register of Historic places. Charming river town with shopping, golf, skiing, bike trail, Sheldon Theatre. Mid-week discounts. Full breakfast. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing