We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fall getaway!”
Review of Candlelight Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Red Wing
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Candlelight Inn
Ranked #5 of 7 Red Wing B&B and Inns
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great fall getaway!”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

My wife and I had an excellent time when we spent the night at the Candlelight Inn this past weekend. Red Wing was a fun town to spend a day wandering around, and we enjoyed having everything easily within walking distance of the inn. The Inn itself was cozy, well maintained and clean. The Innkeepers were friendly, and breakfast was outstanding. We enjoyed hearing about the history of the Inn, especially after the delicious breakfast, which was very filling. This was actually our first time visiting a B&B, and we would not hesitiate to return to the Candlelight Inn again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DEEGEE21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    21
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
4
93
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brainerd, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We had a great overnight at The Candlelight Inn. We did a Sunday night stay in the Rose Garden Room. The gas fireplace was cozy, we loved the small Japanese style soaker tub, and we were blown away with our multi-course breakfast. Luckily, we decided to skip dinner downtown (not many places open on a Sunday night) and we're glad we did. The only negatives of our stay were the somewhat uncomfortable mattress and the fact that the old house ran out of hot water when I wanted to take an evening bath. By morning the hot water was in ample supply. We loved the cheese and crackers in the cozy library upon arrival.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TyAnneGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilton, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Upon arriving at the Candlelight Inn, my husband and I immediately felt enthralled by the beautiful woodwork of the Inn. Breakfast was a wonderful 3 course meal. We thoroughly enjoyed exploring Red Wing, the bluffs, historic district with the world's largest boot, Cannon Valley bike trail, Mexican meal...the Mississippi River area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gottago1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed here for two nights, mid-week, right after this Labor Day. We were the only guests so it was very quiet and relaxing. The B & B is on a quiet street about 3 blocks from the downtown area so we did walk to some of the sites. Lynette and Zig greeted us and after showing us our room, told us they would have wine and snacks waiting for us on the first floor. They left a carafe of red wine, two kinds of cheeses and sausage. We drank and ate on the veranda, which was lovely. This was available to us both days. I took pictures of all the rooms as no one else was staying and she encouraged us to do so. Each room had its own bathroom and was well appointed. The suite on the first floor was really lovely and large. Our room, Margaret, was nice. We had a queen bed, fireplace, dresser, night stand, small table with two chairs, small couch and another stand. The bathroom was tiny but very clean and had everything we needed. In the hallway outside our room was a small refrigerator stocked with free ice, coke and diet coke. Glasses and a wine opener were also available. She had hair dryers too if you asked and plenty of towels. Also, downstairs in the foyer was a steady supply of nuts, chocolate covered raisins and mints. We helped ourselves. At 8:15 AM, they ring a bell and outside your room is a lovely stand with coffee or tea (we had both) and some fresh tiny muffins. We took the stand downstairs both times and drank and ate it in the sitting room. Breakfast is at 9 AM. It was so good. Breakfast each day was delicious. Over two days we had fresh fruit, fruit compote type starter, eggs, a potatoe and sausage casserole, blueberry french toast like casserole, sausage, cake and ice cream and cherry pie and ice cream plus coffee, tea, water and oj. We loved it. She was also very cognizant of our privacy and joined us to talk at dessert after asking us. Lynette has a blog and also will do cooking classes. I think it is the perfect spot for a group of women who want to get away and learn some new dishes OR for a romantic getaway. There was plenty to do in town for a couple of days.

Room Tip: I think any room is a good choice. There is one that has a whirlpool in the bedroom. There is also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank plan2gosoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We had a wonderful weekend at the Candlelight Inn! We are young-ish (24 and 29) and unmarried, and I wasn't sure if we would be welcomed at a B&B, but Lynette and Zig couldn't have been any more gracious and welcoming to us. No one questioned when we came and went and all the other guests were genuinely nice people as well! The 3 course breakfasts were amazing and the house is beautiful!! We stayed in the Rose Garden Room and the Victoria Room, both were very nice! Coffee and muffins at your door at 8:15 every morning -- just wonderful! Nice location close to downtown, perfect for taking the train into town as it is just a 4 block walk from the depot!

Room Tip: The tub in the Victoria room was larger than the tub in the Rose Garden room, but the fireplace in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed in the Butternut suite with its heart-shaped whirlpool. Our stay started with a personal welcome and orientation by the owner. It was apparent that she loves welcoming her guests. The small details make this place a stand-out. There were snacks, wine, water and pop available all the time. The decorating was homey and made us feel like family. There was a coin search in the suite that was tracked in a journal. Each visitor noted how many coins were found and hid them again for the next guest. Coffee was delivered outside our door and announced with a tinkling bell. The breakfast followed and was full of delicious treats served with charm. Added to all the things we loved was the fact that downtown Red Wing was within walking distance. What a wonderful way to spend a romantic overnight.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pbogorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Nice relaxing atmosphere...lot's of attention to detail.. Comfy bed. Wonderful breakfast! Certainly didn't go away hungry. It was all homemade....(you could tell)The wine & cheese on arrival were a nice touch. Located near shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chicfrenchweaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Red Wing hotels
0.3 mi away
St. James Hotel
St. James Hotel
#1 of 9 in Red Wing
327 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Rivertown Inn & Suites
3.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Super 8 Red Wing
Super 8 Red Wing
#6 of 9 in Red Wing
350 reviews
0.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Red Wing
0.7 mi away
Nichols Inn Red Wing
Nichols Inn Red Wing
#4 of 9 in Red Wing
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlelight Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlelight Inn

Property: Candlelight Inn
Address: 818 W 3rd St, Red Wing, MN 55066-2205
Location: United States > Minnesota > Red Wing
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Red Wing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five enchanting bedrooms, all with private baths and fireplaces, some with whirlpools. Victorian antiques, stained glass windows and Quezal light fixtures complete the authentic look of the home. Minnesota Register of Historic places. Charming river town with shopping, golf, skiing, bike trail, Sheldon Theatre. Mid-week discounts. Full breakfast. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing