We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We felt so welcomed”
Review of Candlelight Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Red Wing
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Candlelight Inn
Ranked #5 of 7 Red Wing B&B and Inns
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We felt so welcomed”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed in the Butternut suite with its heart-shaped whirlpool. Our stay started with a personal welcome and orientation by the owner. It was apparent that she loves welcoming her guests. The small details make this place a stand-out. There were snacks, wine, water and pop available all the time. The decorating was homey and made us feel like family. There was a coin search in the suite that was tracked in a journal. Each visitor noted how many coins were found and hid them again for the next guest. Coffee was delivered outside our door and announced with a tinkling bell. The breakfast followed and was full of delicious treats served with charm. Added to all the things we loved was the fact that downtown Red Wing was within walking distance. What a wonderful way to spend a romantic overnight.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pbogorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    20
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
4
91
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
92 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Nice relaxing atmosphere...lot's of attention to detail.. Comfy bed. Wonderful breakfast! Certainly didn't go away hungry. It was all homemade....(you could tell)The wine & cheese on arrival were a nice touch. Located near shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chicfrenchweaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
205 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Went to this B & B, stayed at the Rose Garden Room with fireplace and jacuzzi tub. There were 5 different suites in this B & B. The host and hostess were charming and had evening snacks, cheese and meat, with wines. Morning coffee or tea were brought up to your door an hour before the three-star breakfast. Tables were all assigned and set up for the 10 people-our first course was strawberry and cream soup, as well as the coffee, tea, juice, water. Our second course was wild rice, bacon quiche,with fruit and homemade cinnamon roll. Our third course was chocolate souffle. The hostess also came and advised all of us about the story of this B &B, and there was also hidden coins in every room. Very relaxful for us.

Room Tip: Some suites have jacuzzi and others have showers
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rose913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Wonderfully kept up and decorated old building. The owners really appear to love what they are doing and they do it so well. Nice little amenities like mints, peanuts and chocolate covered raisins set downstairs and a fridge with complimentary water and soda Get there at 4pm to check in and have wine, crackers, sausage and cheese and enjoy the ambiance inside or out on the spacious screened porch. No TV but there are plenty of things to do in town. Tour Red Wing Stoneware, taste at Falconer Winery, shop for antiques, hit restaurants and bars and, if you are there on the right night, hear music in the park. Fantastic breakfast lovingly made by the owner. Wi Fi in the rooms but not a good high speed everywhere. We stayed in the Margaret room and computer ran slow. All in all a wonderful time though and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: If you really need to use internet ask for a room where it is the fastest or maybe have them reboot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Minnesota
Level Contributor
102 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We've stayed in lots of B+B's. This one is not the worst we've stayed in but it's also not the best. It's a Victorian home that has original features which are interesting to see. However, it does need work both outside and inside. The front porch and gardens were a bit shabby. The wallpaper inside was coming loose at the edges in many places. The mattress was a little hard for our liking. The window air conditioner was loud. The blinds were not room darkening so the room was very light in the morning. The sofa was lumpy. The innkeepers did provide some nice extras: wine, crackers, cheese upon arrival; coke and water in a fridge; tea and coffee brought to the room in the morning before breakfast. We stayed Sunday night so got a reduced rate. We are glad we didn't pay more. We'll stay some where else should we return to this area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Finediners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
105 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We love to stay in Bed and Breakfasts. Victorian isn't my favorite "style", but his inn is very nice. It is very clean. We stayed in the Butternut Suite. The Inn Keeper greeted us and told us everything we needed to know. There was wine, cheese, and crackers. We spent the evening going to the Red Wing pottery and the Red Wing boot museum. It was lovely sitting down by the water near the visitor center. In the morning, a bell rang outside our door and there was coffee and mini muffins. The breakfast was made and served by a visiting "helper" since the lady of the house was away. She did a fantastic job. I wish we could have met the "lady of the house." The breakfast was a three course meal. Very delicous and generous portions.

Room Tip: Butternut Suite only one with TV. THe whirlpool was very powerful! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kidsarefun2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
197 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

My husband and I arrived at check-in time (4:00 p.m.) and were promptly greeted
at the front door and brought into the parlor. Guests are invited to use the porch or parlor area as they enjoy cheese, meat, crackers, and wine. Since it was a beautiful afternoon we sat on the white wicker porch chairs and rested before getting ready to go out. Our room (Queen Victoria) was beautifully furnished-not too many antique touches-just enough for my taste. The inn itself was built in 1877 and is located on a block with other striking examples of well-kept Victorian homes.
We decided to drive around the area of Red Wing (the bluffs) and saw some beautiful views of the city and river from the various parks and lookouts around town. Then we went to near-by Falconer Vineyard which has a covered outdoor area looking over the vineyard. After the wine sampling, we wanted to stay and have something to eat. They serve only pizza (whole wheat crust) from a wood fired oven and had live music the night we were there. It was a fun experience to be outside and with other small and large groups enjoying a nice evening.
Back at the Candlelight Inn we used the whirlpool (3 of the 5 rooms have a whirlpool), while listening to the soft music from the CD player in the room, The bed was very comfortable.
Each room has a journal to write your impressions, and, to let others know how many coins you have found during your stay-Yes, there are coins hidden around in various places-a curiously fun touch! Actually, there were many special touches at this inn from the candies and nuts placed at the entry to the inn to the morning coffee/tea and muffins delivered to your door before breakfast. (There is no door knocking either-just the pretty sounds of a music box letting you know that the morning treat has arrived.)
The breakfast table was beautifully arranged with name cards at each place. We enjoyed getting to meet fellow travelers and the delicious courses served that day-a chilled strawberry soup, freshly baked cinnamon roll, a sausage cheese egg scramble and a panne cotta with fresh blackberries-everything lovingly prepared and served.
We were so impressed with the service and special attention to details that we left with gift certificates for our two adult children's wedding anniversaries so they could enjoy a restful and fun stay at the Candlelight Inn.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Red Wing hotels
0.3 mi away
St. James Hotel
St. James Hotel
#1 of 9 in Red Wing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Red Wing
3.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Rivertown Inn & Suites
1.1 mi away
Super 8 Red Wing
Super 8 Red Wing
#6 of 9 in Red Wing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nichols Inn Red Wing
Nichols Inn Red Wing
#5 of 9 in Red Wing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlelight Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlelight Inn

Property: Candlelight Inn
Address: 818 W 3rd St, Red Wing, MN 55066-2205
Location: United States > Minnesota > Red Wing
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Red Wing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five enchanting bedrooms, all with private baths and fireplaces, some with whirlpools. Victorian antiques, stained glass windows and Quezal light fixtures complete the authentic look of the home. Minnesota Register of Historic places. Charming river town with shopping, golf, skiing, bike trail, Sheldon Theatre. Mid-week discounts. Full breakfast. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing