We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No-Show Owner” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Pratt-Taber Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Red Wing
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pratt-Taber Inn
Save
You added Pratt-Taber Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 6 Red Wing B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“No-Show Owner”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We had an agreement with the owner that if she was not home home when we arrived, the key would be left in a certain spot so that we could let ourselves in until she got home. We arrived at 4 PM to a locked door and no key! The porch was dirty and we went back to the car and called the owner only to get a message. Waited till 6 and called again to no answer. Forced to get a hotel downtown. About 8 PM, I get a call from the owner asking if I got inside. I said the door was locked and the key was not in the prescribed place. The answer was that the girl that comes in to water the flowers must have locked the door on the way out.....What about the plan to leave the key out? Not a good way to run a B&B.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChuckWagon893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    10
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
120
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This was my first B&B experience and I loved it! Deb was so gracious and hospitable. The king size bed was very comfortable and the homemade cooking was delicious! (gourmet breakfast in the morning and brownies waiting for us when we returned home!) This was our first but will not be our last trip to the Pratt-Taber Inn. This was a delightful experience and anyone that has a chance to stay here should.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quito
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

My fiance and I just returned from a road trip to the Twin Cities and the night we spent at the Pratt-Taber was one of the highlights of our vacation. Upon arrival, we were greeted with a warm hello and a glass of wine. Our room was thoughtfully decorated and beautiful. We stayed in the Spring room but saw most of the others as well and would have been equally happy in any of them.

When we woke up in the morning, there was hot coffee waiting outside our room. By the time we came down for breakfast, delicious smells were wafting out from the kitchen. I took a few minutes to pet Deb's adorable cat and enjoy the screen porch while my fiance chatted with a friend of Deb's. Breakfast was just as great as the other reviews have claimed.

Deb could not have been a better hostess - it felt more like we were visiting a friend than staying at a B&B. We highly recommend the Pratt-Taber Inn and hope to pass through again on a future trip!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sprite124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed for two nights and loved Deb's cooking (yummy breakfasts!) and gracious hospitality. The screened-in porch is icing on the cake. Deb's recommendations for a dinner spot and river tour made our stay in charming Red Wing so enjoyable.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My husband blindly booked this online, and luckily for both of us, the B & B gods were smiling on us. Deb shares her beautiful, painstakingly restored home with gracious aplomb. We were greeted warmly and immediately found ourselves unwinding with a glass of wine on the porch. Our room was formerly the maid's quarters, probably a bit smaller than the other rooms, but plenty of space, and beautifully appointed. The bathroom was huge, with a soaking tub option. Breakfast was a treat for foodies, but non-threatening to people who just like the basics. Delicious. Easy walking distance to the river and downtown. I would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CHRISTINE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Level Contributor
124 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

It is difficult to find new descriptors for the Pratt Taber or for the owner/hostess. We found our overnigiht to be extremely relaxing. Deb has a dresser in the upstairs hallway with trail mix and that evening some brownies. In the fridge she keeps bottled water on hand for guests. Mornings a pot of coffee will appear at 8 am with a scrumptious breakfast downstairs at 9 am. That evening we had planned that upon return from our dinner we would go back out for drinks. One look at the front screened in porch had us out buying wine to enjoy while people watching and enjoying the summer's evening. Out came Deb with a plate of brownies for us to enjoy with the wine. In the morning we took our coffee out to the porch where fellow guests eventually joined us. Max, the adopted Rag Doll cat, is a bonus with his mellow demeanor and large frame. Within fifteen minutes there is hiking/walking at Frontenac State Park, wandering in downtown Red Wing or crossing the river and driving the Wisconsin River Road through eclectic small towns.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MnDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I've stayed in a few B&Bs-and I'm always a little hesitant in what to expect. This was an unforgettable experience! I stayed in the Spring room which was very delightful and complete with a claw foot tub/shower! The owner was so pleasant and helpful and even served fresh, hot brownies before bed. The breakfast was first rate-a true gourmet experience! I highly recommend a trip to Red Wing with a stay at Pratt-Taber Inn!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Red Wing
0.2 mi away
St. James Hotel
St. James Hotel
#2 of 9 in Red Wing
4.0 of 5 stars 259 reviews
3.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rivertown Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Super 8 Red Wing
Super 8 Red Wing
#6 of 9 in Red Wing
3.5 of 5 stars 244 reviews
0.8 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Red Wing
0.8 mi away
Nichols Inn Red Wing
Nichols Inn Red Wing
#5 of 9 in Red Wing
4.0 of 5 stars 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pratt-Taber Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pratt-Taber Inn

Property: Pratt-Taber Inn
Address: 706 W Fourth St, Red Wing, MN 55066
Location: United States > Minnesota > Red Wing
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Red Wing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing