We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Duluth South — Black Woods Convention Center
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Proctor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 19, 2014

The hotel is on Highway 2, so travel to downtown Duluth is quick. The rooms appear to be updated; we had no complaints (the coffeemaker needed cleaning, so the desk clerk immediately replaced it with a new one). Breakfast was typical hotel fare and care was taken to refill servings and clean the area. Black Woods is an asset; the food there is very good. I recommend the caesar salmon salad.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Mishmaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (282)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 282 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2014

This hotel was great. The staff was kind and classy. The room was perfect. The beds and bedding were comfortable. The alarm clock was an iPod radio/clock. The fixtures in the room were modern, the TVs were modern, everything was good. The hotels about 15 minutes of freeway/highway driving from the Miller Hill Mall. It's in a quiet little area that worked great for me. It was also very quiet in the hotel. I would've never known anyone else was staying there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Recent remodeling has updated this hotel to meet the standards of newer properties. Staff very helpful and friendly. Hotel was full with wedding guests, but did not experience any extreme noises or disruptive behavior.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We had a son graduating from the college of St. Scholastica and with the ceremony at the DECC, transportation to and from hotel to the canal park area is very easy. We were greeted at the front desk with a smile and friendly front desk staff. Our room was clean with a walk in shower that had recently been re-tiled and looks great. We had a king bed and a sofa which was great for watching the hockey game. Breakfast in the morning had hot delicious scrambled eggs with onion and green peppers, lots of pastries, fresh fruit choices, sausage, make your own waffles and fresh sliced lemon water. The lobby is spacious with lots of places to sit. We have stayed at this Americinn in the past and always come back. Duluth is such a beautiful place to visit.

Room Tip: We had a king bed with a sofa sleeper for two kids. One child was sick so we asked for a rollaway an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luv2travelBemidji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

I would highly recommend this hotel! It was very clean and the staff was very friendly. It also had a great complimentary breakfast and is a great value. We stayed in the suite with the fireplace and whirlpool tub and will stay in that room again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
Thank Erin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Hotel let us check in early. Lovely lobby. Quality rooms. Comfortable beds. Great location. Attached restaurant was excellent. Staff was very professional and friendly. Will recommend to others. No problems.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Excellent hotel! The rooms were very clean, beds comfortable. Staff was wonderful! I would stay at this hotel again, and most likely will! The pool area was really nice we had a group which included children and they loved the pool. Had a really good hot breakfast in the morning!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony B, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Duluth South — Black Woods Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post your thoughts about your stay.

I am very glad that you had a good time with us!

We are very proud of our newly renovated guest rooms. They've just finished all the new showers with marble walls - they're very pretty.

I'm glad the children got to take advantage of our warm pool and pool area - with the winter we've had this year - a lot of guests have really enjoyed themselves inside this year.

I hope you got to try some of our new hot breakfast items while you were here - we have multi-grain and flavored waffles now, eggs Benedict, biscuits and gravy and of course we still have fresh bakery items from a local bakery.

Hopefully you'll be able to come back soon and check out the Adventure Park over at Spirit Mountain (the Timber Twister is very fun).

Thanks again-

Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Proctor
1 mi away
Best Western Plus Spirit Mountain Duluth
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#4 of 31 in Duluth
447 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Duluth North/ Mall Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth-Downtown
5.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North
5.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Duluth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Hotel & Suites Duluth South — Black Woods Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Hotel & Suites Duluth South — Black Woods Convention Center

Address: 185 Highway 2, Proctor, MN 55810-2317
Location: United States > Minnesota > Proctor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Proctor
Price Range: $95 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — AmericInn Hotel & Suites Duluth South — Black Woods Convention Center 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AmericInn Duluth South is located in Proctor Minnesota, on the South end of Duluth. Just a quick 10 minute drive from the Downtown/Canal Park area and 1 mile from Spirit Mountain. 67 Newly renovated and updated rooms and suites. Conveniently attached to Black Woods Grill & Bar and Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your AmericInn Hotel & Suites Duluth South — Black Woods Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Hotel & Suites Duluth South _ Black Woods Proctor
Americinn Hotel And Suites Duluth South _ Black Woods Convention Center
Americinn Hotel Proctor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing