We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Large varity of good dishes and desserts”

The Buffet at Mystic Lake
Ranked #12 of 31 Restaurants in Prior Lake
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Parking Available, Seating, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: A free shuttle bus is available from multiple locations across the Twin Cities, directly to Mystic Lake Casino Hotel. Visit mysticlake.com for more information.
Description: Let's go fresh. From the moment you walk in you realize this is a whole new way to do buffet. With a nod to cuisine from around the globe, the flavors are fresh and authentic. And it's a visual feast too, with quality and detail in every presentation. In addition to the regular lunch and dinner offerings, bring your friends and your appetite to Friday Fish Fry & Steak night, Sunday Champagne Brunch featuring a build-your-own Bloody Mary bar, or the legendary Wednesday Seafood night. Who knew dining could be so much fun.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Large varity of good dishes and desserts”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

I love the buffet,when you are hungry, that is the place to go. You can't go wrong, something wonderful for everyone. Especially at night. Many choices of meats, veggies desserts and everything between. I like dinner a lot more the lunch, they tend to serve many of the same things daily during the week. Higher end pricing for a buffet and long lines, but like I said the food is worth the wait to me. They have a great seafood night also, but costly and usually a very long wait in line. Also they tend to have many kids on seafood nights and the parents let the kids get their own food, which I do not like to see.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sonja K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    47
    24
    17
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
117 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good variety, great value”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Mystic's buffet may not provide the best meal you've ever eaten, but it consistently delivers pretty tasty food, a lot of variety, and a very good value. We usually go for weekend brunch, but weekday lunch is probably the best deal of all. Even if you don't gamble, get a Club Mystic card. You'll get 5% off the buffet.

The salad bar always has fresh lettuce and a good variety of toppings plus delicious dressing. The wild rice soup is probably the best I've ever had anywhere.

The buffet always has a wide variety of entree options. Some is fantastic, some not so much. It all depends on what you choose and the day you choose it.

The fish is surprisingly good - especially the grouper in sauce and the fried catfish (which doesn't taste like catfish). My boyfriend always gets the broasted chicken. The mashed potatoes are yummy. The mini corn dogs are perfect (how can you mess up mini corn dogs?). I really like Asian food but usually stay away from that part of the buffet.

Weekend brunch includes carved prime rib and ham. Sometime the prime rib is very good, but it's usually rather tough. If you want it more well done, ask the carver to put it on the grill for you. Either way, you may want to get some of the brown sauce and treat it more like roast beef than prime rib.

Desserts are plentiful but can lack flavor. I frequently opt for the frozen yogurt and fruit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carib0906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
586 reviews
424 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Interesting Buffet”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This is an interesting buffet. you have a really great choice of meal from around the world and a lot of temptation. It is amazing by the quantity but the food quality is not here... this could be easily understand as you can't have a hudge quantity of fresh and "top" food.... a example, chicken pesto is tasteless, beef is far from top quality, etc...i don't think i will come and try the seafood buffet as it might be the easy way to get sick....

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bambooly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverbank, California
Level Contributor
142 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Amazing buffet”
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Amazing buffet! Worth the 25 minute drive from Minneapolis. Get your players club card to save % on the buffet. Great food choices, salad & soup bars and dessert. Easy parking and skywalk.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vicetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miinnesota
Level Contributor
212 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Lunch on 4th of July.”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We had lunch. Not much different from dinner, but a lot cheaper. Everything was good, good selection. There are two salad bars, mostly the same , each had three soups, and each three were different at each side, so you had six different soups. I really liked the chocolate frozen yogurt and calico beans. The mashed potato's were very good, real.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Corvair65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Buffet at Mystic Lake also viewed

 

Been to The Buffet at Mystic Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing