We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Must Read Before You Go” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mystic Lake Casino Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mystic Lake Casino Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Prior Lake
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Must Read Before You Go”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2006

We just returned from Mystic Lake and had to share our experience. The hotel is lovely, the grounds are filled with beautiful flowers, the staff was nice and vey friendly, the restaurant food was good and the room was clean and everything we expected.
BUT- It has to be the smokiest and smelliest casino I have ever been to. You can smell the stale smoke as soon as you enter the hotel lobby which is a distance away. When you enter the actual casino it is hard to see thru the smoke cloud, it is so bad my eyes started burning. I asked a dealer if the ventilation system was broken and she said it is always like that..It was so bad that my clothes smelled of smoke after I returned home and unpacked. I have been to many casinos and never experienced such terrible conditions. It is such a shame because the rest of the resort is so nice..

  • Liked — staff
  • Disliked — casino
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
20 Thank meshe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    112
    62
    28
    37
See reviews for
70
115
29
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2006

Mystic lake is a crooked casino.they stack all odds in there favor.like setting up the slot machine to take 3 out of 4 weeks and sometimes months at a time..
see every slot machine has a pay out percentage dial in the machine.when holidays are due mystic lake turns the dials down to 1 to 3 percent on ALL MACHINES. more in the high stakes so there will be almost no pay outs now when your there you will see a jackpot or too just remember that that machine hasnt payed out in 3 months so dont get excited..as for black jack mystic lake pit bosses are paid by a bonus system as well as a hourly wage.the more money they take in at the end of there shift determans how much bonus they will get.so when playing black jack beware cause if you start to win and i mean win they will waste no time in changing dealers 3 to 4 times in a hour or they will change cards and if they can close the table to stop your play.you will recieve NO COMPS AT ALL NOT EVEN VALET.so dont bother asking.in 2002 they took all comp points away from people that accumilated too many because they were spending too much money on comps them selfs.(by the way these people have earned these comps over years of play)so they will do what ever it takes to screw the player and get your money so beware of this when you play there watch what happends on the table as well as the slots too and you WILL SEE FOR YOUR SELF THAT IT IS TRUE..oh and here is a true event that happend at mystic in 2001 mystic lake had a promotion going on to win a milloin dollars called (THE VAULT)you swipe your players club card and enter 5 or 10 numbers to crack the code and win the money..so a woman comes in and swips her card puts in the numbers req and opens the door(SHE REALLY WON THE MONEY)WICH MEANS YOU HAVE WON NOW THE MACHINE IS RUN OFF ELECTICITY ITS PLUGED IN THE GROUND..the lady is very excited that she won.(MYSTIC NEVER PAID HER)THEY CLAIMED AND STILL DO THAT. THE BATTERYS IN THE DOOR WAS FLAT WICH CAUSED A SHORT CURCIT AND OPENED THE DOOR.her entry is now void.but anyways good luck this placed should be shut down for fraud..

Stayed August 2002
Helpful?
41 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Prior Lake hotels

rock valley, iowa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2006

I can't complain about the check in time as previously read, I thought the hotel was very nice. Very clean...The casino was bigger than I thought with tons of slots, but no roulette table which my husband was disappointed in. Also no poker table, just blackjack which he also missed, unless of course we didn't see them. We had lots of fun though, broke even. We ate at the Ribbons steakhouse which had very good food. The whole premises is alcohol free which we did know that before going, not before booked which is kinda disappointing but is understandable. Very fun place to go, would go again.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank gjrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omaha, ne
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2005

We visited Mystic Lake for a weekend and were pleased with the quality of the hotel. The rooms were spacious and clean and we were able to get adjoining rooms by calling in advance (twice) and reminding them at the desk. That's something we are used to doing. Check-in is slow, which the clerk kept apologizing for, but she said they are upgrading their computer system. There is no alcohol allowed in the hotel and security is tight going up to the rooms, which we appreciated. The food at the buffet was just okay, but the price was reasonable (half price with the rooms).
The casino is another story. First, the layout is simply confusing. You can't get from one point to the other without going through a maze. The slots are all video - that's all Minnesota allows - and most still dispense coins rather than coupons, which is a nuissance. They are dated and the payouts are low. The casino offers low-minimums at the tables, which is nice if you aren't a high roller. All in all, we won't be back.

Stayed October 2005
Helpful?
8 Thank clokpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOWA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2005

This is truely the best hotel and casino in the midwest. I've had very good luck with their blackjack tables. The hotel rooms are really nice and roomy.

Don't trust the bad reviews! Compared to other midwest casinos this by far the best! The recreation center is really great too, if you can get out of the casino!

The buffet is AWESOME! The best in the world-- and I've been to lots. Gourmet food. Worth the $17 per person by far!

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2honeymooners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond VA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2005

If I could rate this place less than one I would...There are no highway directions, the slot machines on my 1980 atari had better graphics. I have been to dozens of casinos all over the world and this is the worst. Save your money, there is no entertainment value here.

Helpful?
6 Thank JJRICHMOND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2004

Mystic Lake Casino really does cater to the high rollers, and I can support that statement based on what happened to me. I spent oogles of money in the casino (over 15 grand), and in the high stakes area in a 24 hour period. When I attempted to use the restroom in the high stakes area, a security guard blocked the entrance, and rudely instructed me to "use the other restrooms in the casino." I told him that I played in high stakes, and he again repeated the same statement while still blocking the entrance. I guess spending $15,000 isn't enough to gain access to the high stakes pristine privey. How ludicrous!

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prior Lake
3.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Shakopee - Canterbury Park
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Minneapolis/Shakopee
3.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Minneapolis/Shakopee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Minneapolis SW - Shakopee
7.2 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Chaska
5.2 mi away
Valley Inn Shakopee
Valley Inn Shakopee
#6 of 12 in Shakopee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mystic Lake Casino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mystic Lake Casino Hotel

Property: Mystic Lake Casino Hotel
Address: 2400 Mystic Lake Blvd, Prior Lake, MN 55372
Location: United States > Minnesota > Prior Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Prior Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mystic Lake Casino Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 586
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let's go for comfort. With so much fun and excitement at Mystic Lake(R) it's nice to know you can recharge in one of 600 spacious rooms. But the luxury and pampering don't stop when your head hits the pillow. Enjoy free Wi-Fi and valet parking, an indoor pool, whirlpool and sauna, an on-site spa and complimentary access to Dakotah! Sport and Fitness. It's the perfect way to stay and play. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Mystic Lake Casino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mystic Lake Hotel Prior Lake
Mystic Lake Prior
Mystic Lake Casino Mn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing