We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Forestville/Mystery Cave State Park
Review Highlights
Nice State Park

Let me start by saying that there is no cell service anywhere in the park and within about 3 miles... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
MandJcarter
via mobile
This was a great find.

I had the pleasure to visit Mystery Cave with my family and loved every second. I have been... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
M1546ABjohnb
,
New York City, New York
via mobile
Read all 128 reviews
  
Reviews (128)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveler rating
82
44
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
82
44
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scenic tour mystery cave gravel road hiking trails are well worth the trip visitor center camper cabins bats formations geology jacket tours mn minnesota ranger sweatshirt camping
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 128 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2018

We tent camped on the coldest weekend of MEA weekend! With frost covering everything, that didn't stop us from exploring the great trails or enjoying our cave tour! Trails were well maintained but signage was difficult in some places. Park staff said they are working on that. Camp sites were well maintained and park staff was very friendly and informative. Loved our hiking and time down by the river/streams! We heard owls at night and some other creatures I have yet to identify which made it all the more fun to camp there! Great family friendly park! Lots of campers with dogs and kids around. We did a quick stop at the historic site but bypassed it (fee based) and headed up to the old cemetery on top of the hill. Amazing little place that was established before MN even became a state! So many things to see and places to explore! I highly recommend camping here. We took the "scenic" cave tour and it was awesome! Only a couple of stairs, well lighted in all the right places, and it's a stunning cave! I can't wait to go back and do the flashlight and other more die-hard tour!

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank safechrisLaurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2018 via mobile

This is a very nice state park. We stayed in one of the camper cabins and it was super nice! Hiking, a tour of Mystery Cave, and viewing the historic buildings are just a few things you can do here. I certainly recommended a stay at Forestville Park.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Curiosity569956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2018

The tour was wonderful! It was informative & the guide encouraged questions. We were able to get some good pictures.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank TrailRidingCowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2018

We camped at Forestville with two children aged 3 and 8. There is a primitive loop with pit toilets, a tent loop with no electricity but access to showers and flush toilets, and a trailer loop with all accommodations. We were tenting.
The site has some great cold water trout streams that are shallow enough to wade in and play in when the weather gets warm. Hiking trails are many and of varied difficulty but all through wooded spaces. The Forestville town site is closed during the week but you can wander around the outside of the buildings and the site. No gates or posted restrictions.
Overall a very nice way to spend a couple days with kids. The site was reasonably quiet and each space was secluded enough for a state park.
Staff was great and very helpful. The Bridgeman's ice cream in Preston is close enough to be a nice break from the woods, if needed.

Date of experience: August 2018
3  Thank Brad J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2018 via mobile

This cave is in a state park and internet doesn't work so make sure you know where you are headed although it truly isn't hard to find. You will travel on a gravel road to get there for the last leg of the drive.The cave is $15 for adults plus a $7 daily park pass fee unless you have the seasonal/yearly pass for state parks. There is ample parking in the park even for big groups. The park building where you buy cave tickets has bathrooms and water fountains. They run several tours a day with staggered times. A guide will take you through the cave in groups. The cave tour we did was a 3/4 mile walk over level well made paths or metal grates. There aren't as many formations on this cave but it's still lovely and a fabulous 47 degrees. No food, gum, drinks, pets or bags allowed. There are a few bats and springtails, some cephalopod fossils.
They recommend a jacket. Our guide, Lydia, was knowledgeable and friendly. She knew the geology of the cave. Great job Lydia! Have a good time at this cave and then see Niagara cave in Harmony for an awesome cave weekend!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank tawnyasojourn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews