We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“THE place to stay when biking!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trailhead Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Preston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Trailhead Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Preston B&B and Inns
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
93 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“THE place to stay when biking!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We bike the Root River trails every summer, and always choose The Trailhead Inn in Preston as our base. Located directly on the trail in Preston, this motel is made for bicyclists. Rooms are large enough to pull bikes in overnight, keeping them safe from the elements. There is a large deck with tables/chairs/ umbrellas and porch swings running the full length of the motel, making it a prime spot to sit out and enjoy breakfast or a happy hour on a nice day. Town is two blocks away. The inn is about 10 years old, built of cheap materials, and is starting to show its age--the paper thin walls allow TV sound through; the door to Room 8 does not fit squarely, which will be a problem in mosquito season; the caulk on the bathroom sink is coming off; the tub has blemishes. The convenient location and very reasonable room rates trump these things, which don't matter much when you're biking. Still, I hope management invests in maintenance and upgrades to keep this the #1 inn for bicyclists.

Room Tip: Room numbers don't make sense. Choose room 6 to be on the end, or room 3 to be next to the servi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    19
    9
    6
    0
See reviews for
20
19
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Located right on the Root River bike trail in the heart of Bluff Country and on the edge of Preston, the inn offers year round accommodation for visitors to the area. Less expensive than the fancier and possibly more popular B&B's over in Lanesboro (8 miles away), I don't think any of them could compete with the spacious king bed jacuzzi room at the Trailhead. Although it was February, we enjoyed hanging out on the deck right outside the room, taking in the fresh air and drinking a toast to a weekend get away only 2 hours from Minneapolis (thanks to a surprise bottle of champagne from my sister which was picked up and delivered by Traci, the owner, in between her kid's sporting activities). We had some great walks and many Amish buggy spottings on the road to Harmony, enjoyed the supper club on the bluff overlooking Preston, and the wi fi in the room works great, so we didn't even turn on the tv, and caught up on a few more episodes of that zombie tv show that I said I'd never watch....

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eberle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn Center, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

We arrived on the off season for a caving trip, they responded right away to my reservation request, were very accommodating and friendly. Upon arrival we were anticipating a small town hotel room with little to no updates. The room left us speachless, new carpet, beautiful spacious rooms and what looked like a brand new jacuzzi tub. The bed was super comfortable and there were more than enough pillows with an extra blanket that looked brand new.
I have been in the hospitality industry for over 12 years and have been a consultant for many small town properties so I have seen some hotel nightmares as well as some properties that blow the competition out of the water. The Trailhead Inn has my 5 stars for the accommodations, amenities, customer service and surroundings. If we should return to play above ground vs. below in the area caves we will be sure to enjoy the bike trail within walking distance from the property.
Many thanks to Traci and her staff for impressing two people who have been in the industry for years!
The added bonus was the jacuzzi room was still $20 less than the queen room at the competition!

Room Tip: The jacuzzi room was beautiful and spacious and from what I was told the hot tub and sauna were grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Have stayed here several times for work retreats and loved it. Spacious rooms in an historic setting. This is an ideal location for get-together a or quiet get-always. Every room is unique, and the recently added hot tub is a wonderful treat.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoldFishy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

I just needed a clean, affordable place for an overnight and this place was perfect! The carpeting looked new and so did the bathroom floor. The only minor complaint was that the coffee maker was old and the alarm clock was dirty. There isn't much in Preston, but it's close to many other towns, including Lanesboro, and it's right off the bike trail.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CorpLibrarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

Having visited this area several times before to ride the Root River/Harmony-Preston trail, we decided to give this little hotel a chance. We chose one of the Biker's Cabins as we wanted a kitchenette and a little more privacy than the motel rooms afford.

Pros: The cabins are still very new, clean and comfortable. Location, location, location! If you are riding the trail they could not be more conveniently located. Cabins are clean and quiet. The adjacent fire pit was a welcome amenity (get firewood at the BP station in town.) Friendly staff with relaxed family atmosphere. Preston is a cute little town with adequate amenities, and is only a 10 minute drive to the much more touristy Harmony. (More and varied restaurants in Harmony.)

Cons: The cabins are quite small, and though they fit two queen beds in the bedroom this cabin would be a tight fit for more than 2 people. With two small suitcases, two bikes and the two of us there was very little room left to move around. A few little things were in need of attention, e.g. one of the burners on the range didn't work, a few of the remotes had dead batteries. The staff were quick to address any concerns. I think the rate for the cabin is a little high for the size/amenities, but you can't blame the family for trying to make a little extra in this economy.

Neutral: The weekend breakfast has drawn some negative reviews. For us it was adequate. Coffee, juice, cereals, yogurt, fruit, bagels/bread/english muffins and a waffle maker.

We had a lovely time and are already talking about returning in a few months.

Room Tip: The two cabins are adjacent, with the left cabin next to the parking lot of the converted schoolhous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bikemn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

We recently spent a long weekend at the Trailhead Inn in Preston during an annual family reunion. There were 24 people spread out between four suites in the former schoolhouse and the two cabins located behind the building. It meant all our needs as families took turns cooking, visiting and doing activities. The meeting room used one evening for planning and a jigsaw puzzle and other games.

It is located right on the Root River Bike Trail and the Root River. We all took advantage of the biking with a trip to Lanesboro and back, as well as other shorter trips on the bike trail. Other activities included trips to the Lanesboro Fish Hatchery, the Niagara Cave, a trout fishing seminar at the National Trout Center in Preston and the Amish sales.

The Root River also came into play with rainbow trout fishing in Preston and a tubing experience in Lanesboro.

Those staying the cabins said the beds were the best. And, despite some 90-degree temps, everyone seemed comfortable.

The Trailhead Inn suites were comfortable with plenty of room for people and bikes (for those who forgot their locks).

There was even a continental breakfast on Saturday and Sunday with waffles and the typical cereals, rolls, fruit, yogurt and drinks. But it was a good start to the day.

And all the people - staff and other guests - were friendly. It was our first experience in southeastern Minnesota, and we hope to return.

It was an enjoyable trip and eveyone got their time together.

Room Tip: Although a bit cramped, I'd like to try the cabins next time. There was talk that they are addin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saintpaul17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Preston
13.3 mi away
Oakenwald Terrace
Oakenwald Terrace
#1 of 1 in Chatfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
16.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites- Spring Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trailhead Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trailhead Inn

Property: Trailhead Inn
Address: 112 Center St., Preston, MN 55965
Location: United States > Minnesota > Preston
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Preston
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing