We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay, Poor Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Minneapolis West
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Plymouth
Overland Park, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good Stay, Poor Breakfast”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We chose this hotel for the Labor Day weekend away with the kids (ages 12, 10 & 9). We used a set of coupons which made this hotel cheaper than any of the "secret" hotels available for Labor Day weekend in Minneapolis. We decided to give it a shot given we had all three kids and it was a suite.

The hotel is nice enough, on the low end of the three star category. We have been trying to decide if this is because it has a more country feel than the hotels we have been staying at or because it is just in great need of refreshing. I think it is a little of both.

The first suite we were given (101) smelled horribly of animal urine. Thankfully, they were not fully booked for the night and the front desk staff was awesome and we were quickly moved to a room with the exact same finishings but which smelled clean and fresh!

The suite has two rooms with a door on the bedroom which is nice when traveling with so many people to have separate spaces. Two separate flat screen TVs were great (even though we wound up not using them because we were out exploring). Two pools were nice because we never were in them with more than two other people. The hot tub would have been great but the water wasn't much hotter than the pool water and that was a disappointment for us grown-ups.

As for breakfast, it was pitiful! The so called "hot breakfast" was never even warm, let alone hot. We spent three nights here so we feel we got a pretty good assessment of the breakfast. All the pastries were COLD like straight out of the refrigerator. Biscuits, eggs and sausage were so cold they were inedible. The best options were the fresh waffles because you made them yourself and the cereals because those just can't be messed up. It was adequate to keep us from starving until we found lunch each day but it was not really something we were excited to return to the next morning either. The biggest downside to it all was the wasted food we threw away because we would get it to the table and it just wasn't edible.

On a very positive note, the staff here was amazingly helpful! We would stay again, but if we had another option within the same price range we would give that option a try first. Just a truly honest assessment.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjrek11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi O, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Minneapolis West, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am truly sorry that you were disappointed with the breakfast experience at the hotel. I will address your concerns with the team so that we can improve the breakfast items and the guest room smell. I hope that you will return to the hotel so we can recoup your confidence in us. We are committed to improving our guest experience and again thank you for taking the time to review us.

All the best,
Heidi Olson
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    137
    58
    25
    11
See reviews for
174
64
25
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holmen, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Had what would have been a negative experience turn positive thanks to customer service by staff that went above and beyond. Ian at the front dest was very helpful and understanding and we were very impressed with him.

Our room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast was great. We ate within the last 30 minutes of the breakfast time and all of the food was still being replenished.

The location right off of 494 was really convenient as well. It was an easy drive into Minneapolis and so much more reasonably priced than downtown hotels.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JS2940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi O, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Minneapolis West, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for specifically mentioning Ian. I showed him your comment and you made his day. Thanks again for taking the time to review our hotel.

All the best,

Heidi Olson
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Ulm, MN
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This hotel was the perfect place for our family's weekend trip to the Twin Cities. The two pools were clean, comfortable, and inviting...maybe slightly too warm. The breakfast was superior to most with sausage, pancakes, egg sandwiches, oatmeal, waffles, etc. The entire place was very clean and well maintained.
The location near the intersection of 394 and 494 offered extremely easy access to the expressways and we were able to make it downtown for a Twins game in about 15 minutes. The hotel is also adjacent to the Carlson Business center and there are probably 3-4 miles of paved trails around ponds with nicely landscaped lawns. Just watch out for the goose poop.
The only problem we experienced with the room was some highway noise, but it was not noticeable when the ac unit was on. We also prefer when the sink is outside the bathroom but that was not the case here. The beds were very comfortable, the TV was a good-quality flat screen, and the wifi worked well.
We found the staff to be both friendly and efficient. They went out of their way to help us when we left an item in the room. Don't hesitate to book a room at this Country Inn...you'll enjoy it.

Room Tip: Ask for something facing the parking lot and not the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlumniGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi O, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Minneapolis West, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review! We really appreciate all the details you shared and are glad you enjoyed your stay. I will be sure to share your feedback with the team.

All the best,

Heidi Olson
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, MB
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed at the Country Inns & Suites while on a recent trip to the Twin Cities. Their on-line booking system offered better rates than any of the other travel sites!

The hotel is located near the interstate, but even though our room faced this major route, noise was very low! Our suite was clean and well kept. Our only issue with the room (125) was that the exterior lights that illuminate the side of the building kept our room bright through the night. There are two pool and hot tub rooms at the hotel, both open till midnight. Most evenings we had them to ourselves. Very clean facilities! There are three floors to the building, and at least one elevator if you need it. We were lucky enough to get a first floor room.

The breakfast offerings are pretty good, but go early. Even though they state that breakfast runs till 9:30, about the only thing that's still available at 9:30 are fresh fruit, waffles, and coffee/juice. The waffle makers work great when you use ample "conditioner" that's provided. Works like PAM spray. If you don't use it, good luck getting your waffle out!

The Plymouth neighborhood where the hotel is located is a upscale, white-collar office environment. Not much is happening there after 6pm, and lots of good walking paths, all of which felt VERY safe.
The hotel is located about 15 mins from the Mall of America, and about 5 minutes from the Ridgedale Center Mall. Lots of great places to eat nearby. We used the trip advisor rankings to choose two restaurants, and were VERY impressed that the ratings were bang on! Ketsana's Thai restaurant is AMAZING, and Bacio was very good, but pricey. There's a restaurant connected to the hotel called "Grizzly's", which is a bbq/steak place. Heard it was good, but didn't actually eat there this trip.

Would definitely stay at this hotel again on a future visit!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StewieYWG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi O, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Minneapolis West, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for your review of the hotel. I am thrilled that you had a great stay and I am glad you found our website to have the best rates! I hope we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel soon and then you can fit Grizzly's into your next stay.

Cheers,

Heidi Olson
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Paid $94 plus taxes for a regular room. This hotel is just like the name, very country. Rooms were very outdated but clean. Poor bathroom fixtures.

The hot breakfast was fun. They have waffles, eggs, etc. Also some healthy options. It is always included. Breakfast staff was great at keeping it stocked. Good coffee and cookies all the time. Friendly staff. Pool is warm as advertised. Spa needs repair work.

If you don't mind the outdated decor it's fine. Holiday inn express is the same type of hotel...I would probably stay there next time because I do prefer an updates look, if only for the nicer bathroom.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maguerite J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi O, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Minneapolis West, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you back next year for the USA cup!

Best regards,
Heidi Olson
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The hot breakfast is wonderful, the staff are friendly and helpful, rooms are very clean and well sound proofed (don't expect anything luxurious but then the reasonable price reflects this). The pool is small however there is a nice area out back to sit on the picnic tables and just relax or socialize with the other parents.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor (not near the elevator) and all was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShopperyShopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi O, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Minneapolis West, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments! I could not be happier that you had such a great experience at the hotel. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon!

Best regards,

Heidi Olson
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We upgraded to the Jacuzzi Suite for the extra $12 and it was well worth it. The room was large, and the Jacuzzi was nice to have in the room. We stayed here for attending a wedding. Breakfast was excellent, lots of choices. We would definitely stay here again if looking for a place in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi O, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Minneapolis West, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your upgrade, our breakfast and the amenities the hotel has to offer. We look forward to seeing you again when your travels take you back to our area!

Best regards,
Heidi Olson
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plymouth
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Plymouth
Comfort Inn Plymouth
#4 of 8 in Plymouth
115 reviews
2.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Minneapolis West
1.9 mi away
Ramada Plymouth Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Minneapolis-Minnetonka
2.1 mi away
Residence Inn Minneapolis Plymouth
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis / West-Minnetonka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Minneapolis West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Minneapolis West

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Minneapolis West
Address: 210 Carlson Parkway, Plymouth, MN 55447-4444 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites Plymouth)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Plymouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Minneapolis West 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Carlson, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Minneapolis West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Plymouth
Country Inn & Suites Plymouth Hotel Plymouth
Country Inn Plymouth
Plymouth Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing