We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Our first stay at the Wenneson Was Great!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Andor Wenneson Inn

Andor Wenneson Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Peterson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Andor Wenneson Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Peterson B&B and Inns
DUNCOMBE
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our first stay at the Wenneson Was Great!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Barry and Pam have the personalities and fine craftsman and decorating skills needed to turn an old building with lots of character into an inviting and comfortable place to stay. We came to ride the trails and were very impressed with this establishment and its owners. They keep on raising the bar for themselves with every improvement they make. We enjoyed an awesome breakfast with them this AM. Highly recommend! Kevin and Jan NW Iowa

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KEVIN A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    2
    1
    4
    4
See reviews for
9
27
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

The historic Wenneson has been marvelously renovated while preserving its historic, periodic character. Pam and Barry Erickson were congenial hosts and were very informative of the history of the hotel and of the items of interest of Peterson. We were given a tour of the whole hotel, including every guest room. We had our choice from among several of them. The breakfast was more than a basic continental. An added bonus at the Wenneson was a bike rack inside a locked garage where we parked our bikes overnight. We highly recommend the Wenneson, with the Ericksons as owners and innkeepers, and we look forward to our next visit there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HVincent Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shakopee, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

We will definitely stay at the Wenneson again! The inn is furnished with beautiful antiques and has a very homey feeling. Our room was the Coachman - a large, tastefully decorated room with a whirlpool tub to relax in after our rides. They serve a nice continental breakfast (pastries, bagels, fruit, waffles, yogurt, juice, coffee) that is just the right amount of food before heading out for a ride. Pam and Barry, the innkeepers, were very friendly and helpful. Being able to keep our bikes in their garage was great as we were able to go out to dinner, etc without having to bring them along. At night the inn and town is very peaceful which was just what we were looking for. I selected the Wenneson in Peterson for our 2 night stay because it is centrally located on the trail which makes it perfect for taking 25-30 mile rides in either direction right from the inn - Rushford/Houston to the east and Whalan/Lanesboro to the west. If you crave the hustle & bustle of Lanesboro (we did not) it is an easy ride there and you can park your bikes at the Visitor Center, shop and sightsee for as long as you wish (two hours was enough for us), and then ride back to quiet, peaceful Peterson.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lois D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mpls
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

This wonderful place was close to the Root River trail and extremely peaceful, relaxing and comfortable. We felt like guests staying with family. Pam and Barry were gracious, caring hosts who offered privacy but helpful tips fora out the area. Highly recommended for a nice weekend. We will be back, beautiful home!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanna7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

The Wenneson Inn is a great place to stay while biking the Root River Trail. The village of Peterson is quiet and quaint. The innkeepers Pam and Barry are very friendly. Our room was nicely decorated and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was good and not too heavy before a long day of riding. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankeny
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

We've absolutely loved our times at The Wenneson! This was our second stay and we found it equally as charming as the first time. We stayed the weekend of August 4th, celebrating our 33rd Anniversary. We were the first guests at the Penger Vault which made our stay extra memorable! Our room was beautiful, bright, and spotless! Pam and Barry could not have been more accommodating and friendly! On Saturday it was raining "cat and dogs" and Pam offered us the use of an umbrella and rain ponchos which we gladly accepted. Breakfast was great with waffles hot off the griddle, pastries, fresh fruit, cereal, juices and coffee. We also loved having our bikes safely tucked away in storage for the night. We highly recommend BOTH The Wenneson and The Penger Vault! We cannot wait to come back! Thank you, Pam and Barry!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ribAnkeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

My wife & I just returned from a very pleasant stay at this beautifully restored historic Inn. Very tastefully decorated rooms, all with private baths, were very comfortable. And the Inn was remarkably quiet at night – even with the full house.
Pam & Barry were very cordial and accommodating throughout our stay and were most helpful with directions and recommendations for dining.
We appreciated the garage for storing bikes at night (locked) and the spacious porch for relaxing and visiting with other travelers.
We both look forward to visiting with the innkeepers again. I’m anxious to see what Barry & Pam are able to do when they direct their talents to the Old Bank Building.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peterson
18.1 mi away
Oakenwald Terrace
Oakenwald Terrace
#1 of 1 in Chatfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
20.8 mi away
Alexander Mansion Bed & Breakfast
20.5 mi away
Carriage House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andor Wenneson Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andor Wenneson Inn

Property: Andor Wenneson Inn
Address: 425 Prospect St, Peterson, MN 55962-9502
Location: United States > Minnesota > Peterson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Peterson
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Andor Wenneson Inn was built in 1904 along the tracks of the Southern Minnesota Railroad, now the beautiful Root River State Trail. Built by businessman W. Andor Wenneson, the hotel served rail travelers coming through Peterson for many years. The building changed hands several times, also serving as a boarding house and eventually as apartments. It then sat empty for about ten years. In 1994, it was completely restored and renovated to its historical beauty and charm. In 2001, the carriage house was built into four more rooms, making a total of nine rooms in the Inn. Each room is complete with a private bath available for guests, including two with whirlpool tubs. The third-floor suite has two bedrooms and a sitting room; with elegant dormers and window seats overlooking the courtyard and bluffs. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing