We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Perfect!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Andor Wenneson Inn

Andor Wenneson Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Peterson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Andor Wenneson Inn
Save
You added Andor Wenneson Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 2 Peterson B&B and Inns
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Perfect!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Not many people venture to Peterson, but choose to stay in Lanesboro instead. I didn't even know there was a B&B in Peterson until now. We stayed at the Wenneson for one night. Pam, the owner, was very accomodating and very friendly. We were in the Coachman Room, which was beautifully decorated, very clean and very roomy. The B&B is literally 50 feet from the bike trail and you can keep your bikes in their locked garage. This is away from the hubbub of Lanesboro. I would HIGHLY recommend this B&B to anyone who wants to get away from it all.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dibella32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    2
    1
    4
    4
See reviews for
9
26
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

We took a long weekend for biking and sightseeing. Peterson is located ideally in the middle of the Root River State Trail. The Wenneson was bought by the owners about 17 years ago, I believe, rebuilt by the owners and operated as a B&B until about seven years ago when it was sold on a contract for deed. The deed reverted a few years ago and they have been running it ever since. The husband is a builder and did much of the renovation which thoroughly modern in quality, but very tastefully decorated without excess fru-fru. Our room was bigger than the web site photo would lead one to believe. The breakfast was a buffet of fruit, pastries, coffee, yogurt, waffles. Plenty of hot water for the shower. Very quiet, lots of stars. We had a three day weekend and the got a great discount on the Sunday. We could keep our bicycles in the garage (locked at night) so we didn't have to shlep them around. Breakfast can also be had Judy's a block away and there is a Friday night Fish Fry there. While the fried fish is good, the boiled (yes) fish dipped in butter was supprisingly good as well (good price, huge portions). 5 miles away is Rushford where the Creamery has has good food for lunch or dinner (burgers, sandwiches, pizza) and 36 flavers of good ice cream. The 2 scoop cup can feed 4 people but most people seem to finish it off themselves (I couldn't). Pick up a couple of county road maps in Houston or Lanesboro at the info centers at the ends of the trail. Go south from Peterson or Rushford on any county road (especially the gravel ones which are well kept up) and drive into and above the valleys that make up the bluff country. Easily spend a couple of hours in the fall and see quaint farms, even an old mill, and more corn and soy beans than you knew existed. You'll have the roads mostly to yourself, and if you see a big farm dog eyeballing you as you stop for a photo, don't get out of the car. Have a healthy and delightful breakfast or lunch at the Country Store in Highland on Co Rd 10 just 10 min south of Peterson. See a play in Laneboro. The Wenneson is a wonderful well situated. Don't miss it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RSOMAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Monday was a great day for staying at the Wenneson Inn in Peterson, MN. We could check in early enough to enjoy a 14 mile bike ride to Lanesboro where we bought tickets to that night's performance at the Commonweal Theater. Back at the Inn we enjoyed the friendly hospitality of Pam and Barry. Up early on Tuesday for a quick 5 mile ride to Rushford for a giant breakfast as the Norse Kitchen, a must stop, just a couple blocks off the bike trail. We will be back at the Wenneson Inn soon, it's like going home to grandma's house but even better.

Room Tip: Betty's Room [the blue room] on the north side has west and north windows for great light and cr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

I was in the area for business and was a little hesitant to stay at a bed and breakfast because I wasn't sure what to expect. I stayed in the treehouse room...very comfortable bed and very nice, thick towels. Great waffles, fruit & coffee for breakfast. The current owners have only been operating the inn since July 2009, but were very friendly and knowledgeable of the area.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VikingfanfromWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champlin, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

I was dissapointed, as I had booked the room off of a website, and because they are new owners they did not honor the pricing or the M-Th special. The breakfast was fine, as we had waffles, fruit, yogurt, juice and coffee etc. The owners seemed really nice and knowledgable of what is in the area. Next time I book any bed and breakfast I will definetely confirm pricing and any specials they have.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maddy029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wenneson, Owner at Andor Wenneson Inn, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
At this time the Kelly's were running the Inn. We are the original owners (The Erickson's) and do honor the special prices for Sunday thru Thursday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biglake
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

My oldest son and I dropped in for a weekend of site seeing and relaxing, I was amazed how much the new owners new of the area, they haven't owned it for a long time, they were so helpful and kind. We cant waite to go in the fall for the colors..Thank you for the great weekend.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank walley35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

We had a great mid-week, two-nite stay in this lovely hotel right on the Root River bike trail. Charming hosts, clean attractive rooms. Everything we wanted in a romantic get-a-way! Highly recommend for privacy, comfort and convenience to the bike trail.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Excelsiorbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peterson
20.0 mi away
Riverport Inn Express Suites
18.1 mi away
Oakenwald Terrace
Oakenwald Terrace
#1 of 1 in Chatfield
4.5 of 5 stars 6 reviews
20.8 mi away
Alexander Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andor Wenneson Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andor Wenneson Inn

Property: Andor Wenneson Inn
Address: 425 Prospect Street, Peterson, MN 55962
Location: United States > Minnesota > Peterson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Peterson
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Andor Wenneson Inn was built in 1904 along the tracks of the Southern Minnesota Railroad, now the beautiful Root River State Trail. Built by businessman W. Andor Wenneson, the hotel served rail travelers coming through Peterson for many years. The building changed hands several times, also serving as a boarding house and eventually as apartments. It then sat empty for about ten years. In 1994, it was completely restored and renovated to its historical beauty and charm. In 2001, the carriage house was built into four more rooms, making a total of nine rooms in the Inn. Each room is complete with a private bath available for guests, including two with whirlpool tubs. The third-floor suite has two bedrooms and a sitting room; with elegant dormers and window seats overlooking the courtyard and bluffs. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing