We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to eat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Great Northern Cafe

Great Northern Cafe
Ranked #3 of 41 Restaurants in Park Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
McIntosh, Minnesota
Level Contributor
50 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Place to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stopped here after a DR. appointment i must say for a little restaurant it has awesome food!! I recommend the taco salad great food and prices the service was great overall good place recommend to allp

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank joesgirl21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    22
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kent, Washington
Level Contributor
279 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in Park Rapids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

It's an annual trek - my brothers and I head for Many Point lake and our annual weekend fishing trip. And we always finish with a breakfast at the Great Northern Cafe in Park Rapids. Great waitstaff, delicious food - and can be crowded. This place is no secret in town!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
103 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Pancake just meh”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Breakfast on a Sunday morning while just passing through Park Rapids was just adequate. Prices seemed like big city range (perhaps entirely justifiable). The place was quite busy with people who sounded like locals. I ordered pancakes. They were large, but a bit heavy. One companion had hash browns - not the great crispy ones that make a breakfast outstanding. Since there only seem to be 3 or 4 places to get breakfast, and since we'd missed the one on the west edge of town, this served the purpose of fueling our drive north and east toward Ely. Not a destination cafe, in my opinion - but few are.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BinColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not clean”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We have tried this place twice and will not be returning. It is dirty and the food is ordinary. Don't understand the good reviews, because there are better places like Schwartzwald for a great breakfast and Sunday buffet.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kay E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“great home cooking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Some of the best breakfast food and menu you can find at a very reasonable price. I go there as often as I can when in town. They serve large portions to the point you can not eat it all

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank maudie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Northern Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Great Northern Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing