We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax and get in touch with nature.”
Review of Bear Paw Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Park Rapids
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bear Paw Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Had a wonderful stay at Bear Paw, cabins were very, very clean, furnished very well. Loved the peace and quite. Fish went into seclusion the week we were there, but hope to have better luck next time. Enjoyed Joel and Tracey, very accommodating.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Dar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BearPawResort, Manager at Bear Paw Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and sorry the fish took a vacation at the same time. We are happy that you found everything here at Bear Paw clean and accommodating and enjoyed the peacefulness and beauty of this area in the Northwoods. Thanks again for taking the time to review we really appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 150 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2013

My extended family (30+) has been vacationing in the Park Rapids area for over 30 years. We found Bear Paw when the other resort closed…what an awesome find! We have been at Bear Paw for 4 years and appreciate the friendly and helpful Hays family. They listen to their guests and we have seen improvements and updates every year. The cabins are very clean and well kept. Joel and Tracey are very accommodating and do everything they can do ensure their guests have a wonderful experience at Bear Paw. My family appreciates the fact that Bear Paw is safe and super fun place to vacation. The grandchildren and great-grandchildren start talking about Bear Paw right after Christmas…can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BearPawResort, Owner at Bear Paw Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We are thrilled that we have fulfilled all your expectations in a family vacation. Love hearing about the children's excitement as we were also a resort guest that had the countdown calendar started right after Christmas. We totally understand the excitement looking forward to "your" next vacation to Bear Paw. Thanks again for taking the time to review; we really appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The cabins and grounds are very clean. We liked that part. We had placed our grandson's birthday present on the deck and the owners were immediately there with their rule book assuming we were having a birthday party for him. We had no intentions of that. We were taking it to a wedding we were attending that afternoon. On our way back from the wedding some friends who live in the area recognize our car on the highway and followed us back to the cabin and the owners were there with rule book within 1 minute telling us we couldn't have visitors without a charge. We did not know our friends followed us until they knocked on the door.
Our friends also thought the cabins and grounds were beautiful but they did spread the word of the watchful eye and rudeness of the owners. We knew the rules and we followed them. We had no control of what happened. We will not be going back to this resort.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
5  Thank Dorothy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BearPawResort, Owner at Bear Paw Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

You took advantage of our "Couples Getaway" package which is a discounted rate for maximum of 2 people during your stay and "no visitors" and this was confirmed on the phone when the reservation was placed, via email, and confirmed in writing along with your signed copy. We do make sure that our visitors policy is communicated thoroughly through our website and again through the literature packet along with your registration confirmation that is mailed to you prior to your stay to avoid any misunderstandings. When people/vehicles show up at our cabins that we don't recognize without prior notice and weren't registered then we have the right as responsible owners to approach. Once it was mentioned that you were having 2 family members coming over after the wedding for the gift, (no mention of a party), then we had a polite discussion explaining the "no visitors" with your package and then agreed to allow your daughter and grandson for only 1 visitors fee when the Couples Getaway states "no visitors". The visitors policy was explained completely at that time. We have an entrance sign that asks all visitors to register at the store upon arrival and this wasn't respected. When your unexpected guests showed without stopping at the office, nor did you inform us that they were here, then we as owners have every right to follow up based on the earlier conversation of your family possibly visiting to find that 2 guys were already drinking at your deck when we approached. You asked for just a 5 minute visit which we okayed. When the time frame was not respected we returned to discuss this with your signed registration in hand as we did not and do not carry a rule book around. Sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused you but we do provide a safe family oriented resort and are aware if any unregistered vehicles show up. The guests appreciate this awareness and the safe environment for their vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed here Sept 2012 and immediately booked for this year. We will be going again this coming weekend. Great owners and perfect location. Our cabin, Ladyslipper, was just 34 feet from the water's edge. Plenty of water toys to use, with life vestes provided. Given that it was a couples only weekend, no children, so it was very quiet. We enjoyed wine by the fire each night. Highly recommend Bear Paw.

Room Tip: Bring your own towels and charcoal. Kitchens are well equipped, but do not have blenders.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank agwelchkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BearPawResort, Owner at Bear Paw Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

We love having the opportunity to offer 1 bedroom Couples Getaway along with our Family Vacations during September. The changing season provides beautiful sunsets with crisp air and the smell of fall leaves. September does tend to be quieter with school in session although sometimes we have those families stay with their little ones. Thank you very much for your review and choosing Bear Paw Resort for your getaway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We have spent a week at different resorts in the Park Rapids area for over 10 years and have been to several different ones over those years. We have found the Bear Paw resort to be one of the best if not the best so far. Our family will rent 3 to four cabins each year depending on how many families show up. We found the Bear Paw cabins to be well appointed (even with a dish washer) and extremely spacious, the grounds groomed and the buildings top notch. The young children never ran out of things to do and keep themselves busy, the adults that fished found the fishing pretty good and those that just wanted a down week were never disappointed with the atmosphere. We highly recommend the Bear Paw Resort!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Rushmidwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BearPawResort, Owner at Bear Paw Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We are so excited that your first vacation with us was everything you had hoped for and that your family enjoyed and appreciated everything we had to offer. Thrilled that your family of all ages found something fun to do, fish or just relax. Thanks again. We look forward to seeing your family again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We wanted a family resort trip to the Park Rapids area and were overwhelmed by the numerous options. How fortunate we were to end up at Bear Paw. The Hays family are so friendly, accommodating and helpful. Very clean, comfortable and spacious cabins. Nice and quiet with enough going on but not so overdeveloped that you no longer feel like you are in Northern Minnesota either. Close to Itasca State Park was a real plus for us too. We could not have been more pleased with our choice, definitely will go back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Bryon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BearPawResort, Owner at Bear Paw Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. We are thrilled that you chose Bear Paw for your vacation and experienced "our" beautiful peaceful northwoods surroundings :) We really enjoyed your family and will be wonderful to see you all again and visit more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We spent a week at this resort in August 2012. The accommodations were clean and well furnished, the grounds were extremely well kept. The activities that were listed as "amenities" were awesome with things for all ages. It is very evident that the owners take pride in their property and care about customer service. My grandchild could not get enough of all the beach and water toys, the adults loved the volleyball court and shuffle board, the canoe, kayak, water bikes, ping pong, games to borrow kept our group on the go enjoying family activities. We would definitely recommend this resort!

Room Tip: If you have a large group using multiple cabins, try to reserve cabins next to each other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
29  Thank Olivia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BearPawResort, Owner at Bear Paw Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Thank you very much for your review and recognizing that we do take great pride in our Resort. We are thrilled that your grandchild never got bored. We strive to have something for all ages as we are a laid back "Mom-n-Pop" resort providing our guests with the option to just "rest & relax" or "play".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Park Rapids hotels
10.7 mi away
Super 8 Park Rapids
Super 8 Park Rapids
#4 of 8 in Park Rapids
227 reviews
11 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Park Rapids
10.5 mi away
C'mon Inn Park Rapids
C'mon Inn Park Rapids
#2 of 8 in Park Rapids
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Red Bridge Inn
Red Bridge Inn
#1 of 7 in Park Rapids
15 reviews
4 mi away
Eagle Bay Lodge
Eagle Bay Lodge
#6 of 17 in Park Rapids
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear Paw Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Paw Resort

Address: 31926 County Highway 50, (Becker County), Park Rapids, MN 56470-4063
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Park Rapids
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Park Rapids
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family owned resort with immaculate air conditioned lakeside cabins and a fleet of quality rental boats located in the Northwoods providing the opportunity for your family to reconnect and make priceless memories that will last a lifetime. We have many fun FREE activities available for all ages here at Bear Paw Resort such as: water toys, playground, shuffleboard, horseshoes and tetherball. Step into Bear Paw Lodge and enjoy our made-to-order menu including Bear Paw's delicious signature-crust Pizza and mouthwatering Wings served with specialty sauces, just to name a few. Savor a quality espresso Latté, Mocha or Cappuccino paired with freshly-baked Cinnamon rolls or enjoy a full line of scrumptious sundaes, cones, malts and shakes. You will also find indoor games, souvenir shopping, bait, ice, pop and a Fitness Center. After going fishing for that first fish fry, you can unwind at a cozy campfire while being serenaded by loons as the gorgeous sunset melts into the water. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing