We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Family Time!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bear Paw Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Park Rapids
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bear Paw Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Watertown, South Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Family Time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We wanted a family resort trip to the Park Rapids area and were overwhelmed by the numerous options. How fortunate we were to end up at Bear Paw. The Hays family are so friendly, accommodating and helpful. Very clean, comfortable and spacious cabins. Nice and quiet with enough going on but not so overdeveloped that you no longer feel like you are in Northern Minnesota either. Close to Itasca State Park was a real plus for us too. We could not have been more pleased with our choice, definitely will go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Bryon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BearPawResort, Owner at Bear Paw Resort, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are thrilled that you chose Bear Paw for your vacation and experienced "our" beautiful peaceful northwoods surroundings :) We really enjoyed your family and will be wonderful to see you all again and visit more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    8
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
92
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

We spent a week at this resort in August 2012. The accommodations were clean and well furnished, the grounds were extremely well kept. The activities that were listed as "amenities" were awesome with things for all ages. It is very evident that the owners take pride in their property and care about customer service. My grandchild could not get enough of all the beach and water toys, the adults loved the volleyball court and shuffle board, the canoe, kayak, water bikes, ping pong, games to borrow kept our group on the go enjoying family activities. We would definitely recommend this resort!

Room Tip: If you have a large group using multiple cabins, try to reserve cabins next to each other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
27 Thank Olivia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BearPawResort, Owner at Bear Paw Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you very much for your review and recognizing that we do take great pride in our Resort. We are thrilled that your grandchild never got bored. We strive to have something for all ages as we are a laid back "Mom-n-Pop" resort providing our guests with the option to just "rest & relax" or "play".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Forks, North Dakota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

This was our first year at Bear Paw Resort. We have been taking our whole family on vacation for several years. After 1/2 day, our 10 year old grandson said "we should come here again next year". Now, that's a compliment!! There was lots to do for everyone!! The cabins were clean,( and I'm considered anal when it comes to clean), well supplied and comfortable. The owners, take pride in their investment, and it shows!! We did not hesitate to rebook for next year.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
28 Thank LuAnn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BearPawResort, Owner at Bear Paw Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you very much for your compliment and we are happy that you all had plenty of fun things to do. Yes we take great pride in our Resort and we do work very hard to provide very clean accommodations, grounds and beaches. We look forward to seeing you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

We have been going to Bear Paw for the past 3 years and it is the best lake resort you will find and we really researched before booking! The Hays family is amazing and they are very friendly and helpful! I enjoy seeing them each year as well as vacationing at their resort! We have a large family that varies in ages and there is something for EVERYONE at Bear Paw. The bongo, the slide and all the water toys are great! The cabins are so nice and are always super clean! The whole resort is neat, clean, beautiful and very safe! It is family friendly and Joel and Tracey and their children go above and beyond - Sundaes on Sunday, Tracey shows her Monarch butterflies, they are ALWAYS around if you happen to need anything and are so accomodating! Our son fell while skiing and the ski cut his forehead. Tracey looked at it and bandaged him up - like I said, they go "above and beyond" expectations! Bear Paw will remain an annual tradition for our family!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
28 Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BearPawResort, Owner at Bear Paw Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are so happy that your group found Bear Paw for your family vacation. Even though this is our Resort we feel as though "you" are company visiting our "home" and we want everything to be just right! Safety is our priority along with very clean everything. It is fun seeing the children enjoy the "dirt-n-worm" sundaes along with learning about butterflies and getting to hold them to set free. And yes you can always count on one of us owners being here at all times. Looking forward to seeing you all next summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brighton, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

For 27 years our family stayed at a resort/campground by Park Rapids. When the resort closed, we didn't think we'd find one to accommodate 35 of us. We couldn't believe our luck when we found Bear Paw! This was our 3rd year there so the tradition continues..for many, many years we hope! The grounds are beautiful, the beach and park areas are great, especially with all the new amenities ..something for all ages! The cabins are immaculate, nicely decorated and comfy. Yes, Joel and Tracey visit with us and sometimes join us at a campfire, but..in my opinion, good hosts want to get to know their guests and vice versa. They'll bandage wounds, fix the squeaks and anything else they can do to make your stay enjoyable. Bear Paw is a fabulous place to vacation!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
24 Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BearPawResort, Owner at Bear Paw Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are thrilled that your tradition continues on here at Bear Paw. We are happy that you find all of your accommodations clean, comfy, beautiful and immaculate. We are always updating and maintaining the resort to provide a spectacular getaway for our guests to relax and enjoy. Yes we love campfires! When it is possible we like to relax & visit at the beachside campfires as well; roasting smores, listening to the loons and stargazing are all a bonus. Can't wait to see you all next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

We didn't realize a cabin in Northern MN without AC would be a mistake (we were sure wrong) it was nearly 95-100 degrees all week and barely cooled down to 75 degrees overnight. It was miserably hot!! Much too hot to fish, bike, hike or play. Sucker fish were dying in all the lakes due to the heat. Old timers in the area all told us they all have AC since they often get 90+ temps in July and August. The owners of Bear Paw must know this but have not invested in AC for all of their guests. I would NOT recommend staying in one of their NON-AC cabins in July or August. If you go in July or August, be sure to book a cabin with AC. Or, go in the fall or stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Honestevalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BearPawResort, Owner at Bear Paw Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Sorry your stay was not what you had hoped. We do have three units with A/C and have box fans and ceiling fans throughout all the non-A/C units. We may not be able to control the weather but we always check with our guests to see if their needs are being met. July was one of the hottest summers on record for this area and not the norm. We were fortunate that our natural deep cold spring lake did not suffer fish kill like some other lakes did and the 80 degree lake was still enjoyable for swimming when it was too hot for other activities. We took the hot summer seriously and after 6 weeks of research we are installing high-efficient thermostat controlled A/C's in all the units. 2013 will be a fully air-conditioned Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lester Prairie, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

We just completed our 4th year at Bear Paw Resort and it was another wonderful week.
There is something to do for all clean beach with toys for all ages, great fishing, or just relaxing by lake. We had vacationed for years in the Nisswa area and BEAR PAW RULES. Joel and Tracy take pride in all they do and should. We see new things happening every year. My kids are aleady talking about next year.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
28 Thank Bobbi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BearPawResort, Owner at Bear Paw Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. We are so happy that you found everything from relaxing to fun here at Bear Paw. Our goal is to provide a beautiful family resort for all ages with plenty to do or just take in the gorgeous views and rest. We were the kids once that got excited every year for our family trip so we are thrilled to hear that (in this day and age) children still get excited about that vacation at the lake in the northwoods. Precious family time. We will continue to do something new every year to provide the best accommodations we can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Park Rapids hotels
10.7 mi away
Super 8 Park Rapids
Super 8 Park Rapids
#2 of 8 in Park Rapids
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
11.0 mi away
No photo provided
10.6 mi away
C'mon Inn Park Rapids
C'mon Inn Park Rapids
#3 of 8 in Park Rapids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Red Bridge Inn
Red Bridge Inn
#2 of 7 in Park Rapids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Bear Paw Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Paw Resort

Property: Bear Paw Resort
Address: 31926 County Hwy 50, (Becker County), Park Rapids, MN 56470
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Park Rapids
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Park Rapids
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family owned resort with immaculate air conditioned lakeside cabins and a fleet of quality rental boats located in the Northwoods providing the opportunity for your family to reconnect and make priceless memories that will last a lifetime. We have many fun FREE activities available for all ages here at Bear Paw Resort such as: exciting water toys, huge playground, shuffleboard, horseshoes and tetherball. Step into Bear Paw Lodge and enjoy our Restaurant with our made-to-order menu including Bear Paw's delicious signature-crust Pizza and mouthwatering Wings served with specialty sauces, just to name a few. Savor a Latté, Mocha or Cappuccino at our Coffee Den created with quality espresso paired with freshly-baked Cinnamon or Caramel rolls. To complete your dining experience, we have a full line of scrumptious Premium Blue Bunny sundaes, cones, malts and shakes at the Ice Cream Cave. Also at the Lodge, you will find indoor games, souvenir shopping, bait, ice, pop and a Fitness Center. After going fishing for that first fish fry, you can unwind at a cozy campfire while being serenaded by loons as the gorgeous sunset melts into the pristine water. There is something for EVERYONE at our laid-back "Mom-and-Pop" Resort providing an "all-inclusive" relaxing vacation at the lake. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing