We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Fabulous Find!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bear Paw Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Park Rapids
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bear Paw Resort
Certificate of Excellence
New Brighton, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A Fabulous Find!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

For 27 years our family stayed at a resort/campground by Park Rapids. When the resort closed, we didn't think we'd find one to accommodate 35 of us. We couldn't believe our luck when we found Bear Paw! This was our 3rd year there so the tradition continues..for many, many years we hope! The grounds are beautiful, the beach and park areas are great, especially with all the new amenities ..something for all ages! The cabins are immaculate, nicely decorated and comfy. Yes, Joel and Tracey visit with us and sometimes join us at a campfire, but..in my opinion, good hosts want to get to know their guests and vice versa. They'll bandage wounds, fix the squeaks and anything else they can do to make your stay enjoyable. Bear Paw is a fabulous place to vacation!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
24 Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BearPawResort, Owner at Bear Paw Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are thrilled that your tradition continues on here at Bear Paw. We are happy that you find all of your accommodations clean, comfy, beautiful and immaculate. We are always updating and maintaining the resort to provide a spectacular getaway for our guests to relax and enjoy. Yes we love campfires! When it is possible we like to relax & visit at the beachside campfires as well; roasting smores, listening to the loons and stargazing are all a bonus. Can't wait to see you all next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    8
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
92
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

We didn't realize a cabin in Northern MN without AC would be a mistake (we were sure wrong) it was nearly 95-100 degrees all week and barely cooled down to 75 degrees overnight. It was miserably hot!! Much too hot to fish, bike, hike or play. Sucker fish were dying in all the lakes due to the heat. Old timers in the area all told us they all have AC since they often get 90+ temps in July and August. The owners of Bear Paw must know this but have not invested in AC for all of their guests. I would NOT recommend staying in one of their NON-AC cabins in July or August. If you go in July or August, be sure to book a cabin with AC. Or, go in the fall or stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Honestevalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BearPawResort, Owner at Bear Paw Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Sorry your stay was not what you had hoped. We do have three units with A/C and have box fans and ceiling fans throughout all the non-A/C units. We may not be able to control the weather but we always check with our guests to see if their needs are being met. July was one of the hottest summers on record for this area and not the norm. We were fortunate that our natural deep cold spring lake did not suffer fish kill like some other lakes did and the 80 degree lake was still enjoyable for swimming when it was too hot for other activities. We took the hot summer seriously and after 6 weeks of research we are installing high-efficient thermostat controlled A/C's in all the units. 2013 will be a fully air-conditioned Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lester Prairie, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

We just completed our 4th year at Bear Paw Resort and it was another wonderful week.
There is something to do for all clean beach with toys for all ages, great fishing, or just relaxing by lake. We had vacationed for years in the Nisswa area and BEAR PAW RULES. Joel and Tracy take pride in all they do and should. We see new things happening every year. My kids are aleady talking about next year.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
28 Thank Bobbi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BearPawResort, Owner at Bear Paw Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. We are so happy that you found everything from relaxing to fun here at Bear Paw. Our goal is to provide a beautiful family resort for all ages with plenty to do or just take in the gorgeous views and rest. We were the kids once that got excited every year for our family trip so we are thrilled to hear that (in this day and age) children still get excited about that vacation at the lake in the northwoods. Precious family time. We will continue to do something new every year to provide the best accommodations we can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Small town North Dakota
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

We stayed for the first time last fall at Pear Paw Resort. First, the owners are the key to this being such a wonderful place to stay. They make you feel right to home, and work hard to maintain the cabins and grounds. The resort is located in a nice little hollow on one of Minnesota's best kept secrets--Two Inlets Lake. Our cabin was neat, clean, fully stocked, and very modern. The pineboard interior makes you feel truly "up north." The bed was comfortable, the sheets were crisp and clean. Joel was out every morning grooming the lake shore. The Two Inlets Lake was pretty with wonderful sunsets across the water from our picture window. What a wonderful experience hearing and watching the loons while having your morning coffee! We loved sitting on the bench at the end of the dock and taking in the beauty of Northern Minnesota. You don't have to be a fisherman or hunter to truly appreciate this place! We hope to make this resort one of our yearly vacation stays!

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad cabin in the place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
26 Thank Dustbunny247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BearPawResort, Owner at Bear Paw Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We couldn't have said it better ourself. After living here 7 years we still feel like tourists ourselves taking it all in. We are happy to hear that you found your stay wonderful including your accommodations and grounds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mound, Minnesota
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

We are looking forward to our 4th consecutive vacation at Bear Paw Resort. We first vacationed here with our daughters family and have returned to share this great resort each year. We feel as if the owners work very hard to cater to each and every guest.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
25 Thank Krkam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BearPawResort, Owner at Bear Paw Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you very much for your review and staying with us 4 years. We love sharing our "home" with guests as it is so beautiful here and provides the opportunity for many generations to enjoy precious family time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Palestine, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

My wife and I went to Bear Paw in June. We had a very wonderful vacation experience. The owners were very accomodating and took great care in attending to our needs as well as all the guest. It was very peaceful and relaxing. We even got to see the space shuttle as it passed by one night. It is clear that Joel,Tracey, Joshua, Jacob and Becca and have put alot of hard work into making sure this resort is the best in the area (and it is) I know we will return again and we consider this to be a vacation experience we will always cherish. oh yea, the fishing was really good too.
Mike & Brenda Goughenour

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
24 Thank MGBG5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BearPawResort, Owner at Bear Paw Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. We are very happy to hear that all of your needs were met to enjoy a wonderful vacation at the lake. Stargazing and watching the Space Station/Shuttle is incredible when you get away from the city lights. Two Inlets Lake does have great tasting fish! Can enjoy Walleye, Northern Pike, LargeMouth Bass, Crappie and Bluegill. Nothing like a fresh fish fry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lester Prairie, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

Our family used to vacation at a family resort in Nisswa, MN for years and we decided to try something new. Bear Paw is perfect. The owners are wonderful and truly care about every family having a remarkable stay. Our family has stayed there now for three years, and we plan to continue to vacation at Bear Paw yearly. I would recommend it for anyone. It is relaxing and fun. The cabins are beautiful and clean. We have no complaints!

Room Tip: All of the cabins are beautiful! There is not a bad choice on the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
27 Thank kadriefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BearPawResort, Owner at Bear Paw Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thanks so much for your review. We are happy that when you found something new it turned out "perfect" for your family. The package of relaxing, fun, and clean is exactly what we want our guests to find staying here at Bear Paw. Look forward to seeing you yearly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Park Rapids
4.0 mi away
Eagle Bay Lodge
Eagle Bay Lodge
#6 of 16 in Park Rapids
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
10.7 mi away
Super 8 Park Rapids
Super 8 Park Rapids
#2 of 8 in Park Rapids
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
7.5 mi away
Mississippi Headwaters Hostel
Mississippi Headwaters Hostel
#2 of 2 in Lake Itasca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Red Bridge Inn
Red Bridge Inn
#3 of 7 in Park Rapids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
11.0 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Park Rapids
10.6 mi away
C'mon Inn Park Rapids
C'mon Inn Park Rapids
#3 of 8 in Park Rapids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear Paw Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Paw Resort

Property: Bear Paw Resort
Address: 31926 County Hwy 50, (Becker County), Park Rapids, MN 56470
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Park Rapids
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Park Rapids
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family owned resort with immaculate air conditioned lakeside cabins and a fleet of quality rental boats located in the Northwoods providing the opportunity for your family to reconnect and make priceless memories that will last a lifetime. We have many fun FREE activities available for all ages here at Bear Paw Resort such as: exciting water toys, huge playground, shuffleboard, horseshoes and tetherball. Step into Bear Paw Lodge and enjoy our Restaurant with our made-to-order menu including Bear Paw's delicious signature-crust Pizza and mouthwatering Wings served with specialty sauces, just to name a few. Savor a Latté, Mocha or Cappuccino at our Coffee Den created with quality espresso paired with freshly-baked Cinnamon or Caramel rolls. To complete your dining experience, we have a full line of scrumptious Premium Blue Bunny sundaes, cones, malts and shakes at the Ice Cream Cave. Also at the Lodge, you will find indoor games, souvenir shopping, bait, ice, pop and a Fitness Center. After going fishing for that first fish fry, you can unwind at a cozy campfire while being serenaded by loons as the gorgeous sunset melts into the pristine water. There is something for EVERYONE at our laid-back "Mom-and-Pop" Resort providing an "all-inclusive" relaxing vacation at the lake. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing